Fiction logo

New Worlds

Can you hear me?

By Lyn PorterPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
New Worlds
Photo by Aldebaran S on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. Our world as we know it is grander than that of which we can see or imagine. Through the lens of a telescope we can see further into the dark abyss and see light not visible to the naked eye. Is it possible that this could be the case for sound as well? Just because we can't hear the scream does that mean the sound is not there? Is it thus that we cannot hear it but does it travel to a new world that is beyond our sight and imagination? Why is it that because we cannot see or hear something we do not believe it is possible? The vast world of space is locked to our time and place but it is much greater. There is a world beyond our eyes. There is a place where our scream can be heard. That place on our time continueum is beyond our reach, but it is possible it will not be forever. In fact it exists now. How do I know? You must trust me as I take you on a little journey where no one else has gone. I am the only one who has been so priveledged to see beyond the vast divide of our time and place. I can take you with me on a great adventure if you open your mind to the possibilities and trust without fear. The moment you are afraid the adventure ends. Do you want to take the voyage with me to the darkness and beyond? We must go now. No time to waste. It is a full moon and the morning is drawing nigh. If we wait we will not make it and be lost forever in the dark abyss of our galaxy. You have no time to hesitate. What do you say? Grasp my hand and we will be on our way. NOW! Suddenly without knowing what was going on I felt my hand being grabbed. I did not know what to think but I felt a sudden lift and my eyes flew wide open and my mouth opened to scream. There was no scream only a voice inside my head saying if you are afraid you will not see the sights that are beyond us where you scream can be heard. I suddenly felt an uneasy calmness, and the darkness eclipsed me as if I was surrounded by a dark cloak. I wanted to see, I wanted to hear, and I wanted to know what lay beyond that of what any mortal could know. Wait, was that it? Was I being guided by something not mortal as we know it? How is it possible that I travel through space without more than just myself in my pajamas? It could not be real. Was this a dream? No, I was not in my room. I could see things that were only visible through a telescope. The moon with it's miles of dirt, rock and craters. It was so close I felt as though I could stand on it. I wanted to reach out but the voice in my head clearly stated, do not let go of my hand. Who's hand? This can't be real. The sense of floating past stars and planets continued as our speed accelorated. Once again I wanted to scream. The voice calmly said again if you are afraid your adventure will end and from this far out I can not garuntee your safe return if you let go. I had no choice I had to hold on. I could not scream. Although I did not know what was ahead I sure did not want to die from fear.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Lyn Porter

I am a Physical Education teacher of 30+ years. I am also an EMT. These two jobs keep me busy. My hobbies include writing and painting rocks. I also enjoy getting out on the golf course as much as possible during the warmer months.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Awesome story I, I loved reading it. It’s so creative and well written. Glad you are honing your talent on this site

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.