Fiction logo

New Earth

The Beginning of Super Mankind

By Sunday GraciaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
1

Entry 20-175 - It was finally in view.  We could see it from Command.  It was so beautiful!  I have to hand it to Dr. Carla Petty, Head Engineer of SpaceCommand.  Thirty five years in space traveling at near light speed and we arrived ten years sooner than expected.  I don't remember earth. Never been there, except what I've seen from pictures and movies.  Dad always talked about the colors.  He was right.  The colors are amazing.  Much better than this grey and white tin-can that surrounds us. At least the space suits are pink! But there is a difference here that's already noticeable.  The star is red.  We still can't look at it directly without burning our eyes out.  It's brighter than expected, but it is red.

Entry 20-176 - I was born on the Cruzer twenty years ago. It's a three mile long ship. Enough to bring along plenty of resources for a 500 man crew tripling in size along the way. We would celebrate with Houston right now, but we have lost contact with Earth for the last three months. We don't know why.

Entry 20-179 - We have been orbiting for a week around this planet we've all come to know as "New Earth." We are supposed to study it for an earth year, but having lost contact and signal from Earth, we assume the worse and we will be going down with a landing party in three months. I keep my composure, but I can't WAIT!!!

Entry 20-179.1 - There are many intelligent and highly trained people on this journey, but there aren't very many cooks. No one is over or under weight. We all keep in tip-top shape. And then there is this man named Jeremy who keeps finding me, so I'm in my room hiding right now! He is so annoying! So, I chose food above science and he had the gall to argue with me how science is what will ultimately save us and not food. He is SO wrong. Besides, I love food! Although, I do use science and engineering to bring a dish together. Five years ago, I became the agricultural and nutritional department head. It didn't exist before me. The computer took care of it all, but then the outer hull was damaged knocking out the power to the processor. The engineer said it will take 10 years to repair. But even if it were still working I've discovered that since our arrival into this solar system of seven planets that the plants are not accepting the fertilizer being given. I think there is a particular invisible light radiation being given by the red dwarf that we've never known before, but maybe there is something in this world that can help. I wonder what it's doing to our bodies?

Entry 20-183 - The observation crew has detected animal life on the surface. The planet is 35,204 earth miles wide and 35,218 at the poles. Like earth, it spins on its axis. Unlike earth, it's axis also seems to spin. It's oceans are twice as deep and the trees as tall as mountains. The mountains seem to have been shaved in various places. It could be a sign of intelligence. We will be armed. Although, I always miss my targets. It could be my lack of interest.

Entry 20-190 - I am VERY angry!!! If it weren't for Antonio, I might have really hurt Jeremy! I was cooking for the entire crew. He, Antonio, and 20 others were assigned to help me, but what does Jeremy do???? He eats right from the pot! Thats like spitting in it. Then I told him to get out, and he forces me to kiss him and laughs! Antonio pulled him off me. I wanted to float him!

Entry 20-223 - We will need to go down sooner. There are many signs of intelligent life. Fire light at night is a strong indicator, but the way this world moves makes it all tropical. The sun shines for about twenty hours and is gone for twenty hours. The mornings are violet instead of orange, and many plants and animals have developed a bioluminous reflectivity. They glow pink under the violet light. There is a super gas giant close enough to look like a small moon. It causes this planet to spin it's axis once every eight days. This makes the sun rise from every direction every 8 new earth days. We've sent two probes down, but something keeps damaging them after a few days. We've managed to gather some data. The atmosphere is a greenish color rather than blue because of the sun. The water is that way as well. All the colors seem to look different. Yellow is orange and the pink suits outside the ship seem to be purple. The crew seems to be experiencing nutritional deficiencies. They have all, including me, been experiencing pain in the eyeballs. We will be going down next week.

Entry 20-230 - I wanted Antonio to come instead, but Jeremy scored above him for the mission. And he has been staring at my ass EVERY chance he gets! I took up my complaint with Captain Avery before we left, and he said he is "a well qualified asset," and until he commits a crime, he will let him be human. So I am at a disadvantage. I'm not strong or fast. All the other girls give me looks because of my red hair and dark skin. But I do not care!

Entry 20-230.1 - Ok, so I have one friend. Ada. She is the head for field medical right under the chief medical officer.

Entry 20-230.2 - The mission is a three day trip. I am tasked to identify edible plants and animals.

Entry 20-230.3 - And Jeremy is looking at me!!! If this tablet didn't have everything, I would so throw it at him!

Entry 20-230.2 - We have landed!!! The ride was spectacular The atmosphere is 2% thinner than earth, so everything seems a little lighter. We can jump two feet higher than before! The oxygen-nitrogen mixture is richer here than on earth. We landed at night so as not to be seen. It's surprisingly cold, but not too cold.

Entry 20-232 - We are all of us sick and weak. We fished at the near by lake. The water is super clear and sweet. We filtered and boiled it just in case, but someone fished a fish that looked like an underwater bird with one eye. We field dressed it. It had two hearts. Its blood ran purple. They didn't let me check it beyond the protein analyzer because they were just so hungry and the earth food was not helping. I ate a little too. It tasted so good. But we are all paying for it. Ada thinks It's protein poisoning. We have to stay a few more days.

Entry 20-235 - We've had to abandon the ship. A lot has happened, but until now, I haven't been able to stop running. First, predators showed up. They were lizard-like with six legs and no bigger than a house cat, but we lost our pilot. Its teeth were like a shark and snapped his leg right off. He killed it with a rock, but he bled out. Our bodies do not react the same here. And the question is finally answered. We are not alone in the universe. There are people in this world. They are red. They look like children. None that we saw were taller than four foot, but they were proportional. They had a sophisticated sling shot made from some sort of metal. It handled like a crossbow, but for sharp stones. They were afraid of us because of our height. We must seem like giants to them. Considering I'm only 5'2, it felt great. But then Jeremy attacked them. He had full tactical gear on. Their weapons were useless. He had to be restrained.

Entry 20-247 - I finally acquired this tablet back. Jeremy broke from his restraints and sabatoged the ship. We couldn't return to the Cruzer. We were dying from starvation, but we couldn't eat the food here. After a week, no one had strength and the locals have a language we cannot learn. The vocal cords they have form the sounds we cannot mimic. However, they can learn our language, but they sound like robots. Jeremy had ran off and began to enslave the people. He took a whole crate of canned foods. The only food we could eat at the time. He had Ada killed and he gave me the "opportunity" to be his queen. I escaped the wooden prison he placed me in. I went back to the ship. Along the way, I came across where Ada was. The trees were eating her. They had rooted through her dead corpse. Her blood was purple now. When I touched her, she was still breathing, but not alive. She was not decomposing. She was becoming a tree. Her skin felt like bark. I made it to the ship and Jeremy was already there. He had taken all the remaining food and caged the rest of the weakened crew. But he set up a small table inside to give me one last chance. He reserved a small slice of chocolate cake he found in Ada's frozen possessions. He wanted me to eat it before I die along with the rest of the crew. He said he would become god on this new earth. I figured I would just go ahead and eat the cake before I die, because I will not be with him.

I'm still trying to figure out how it happened, but as soon as I finished eating it, I felt a surge of power I have never felt before. Their rocks bounced off me. They could not move me, even a thousand of them. They built big giant hammers for world conquest as Jeremy had directed, but I tossed the hammers across the continent. I don't know what happened, but Jeremy wasn't strong anymore. He wasn't a god to these people any more. He couldn't hurt me anymore. I've put him in a dungeon. My name Red. The crew will be fine on this New Earth. We will make a whole new world. And I can FLY!!!!!

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.