Fiction logo

Nanai

What we love isn't always what we want

By JD BicklePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Nanai by Midjourney

I love seeing Nana. I’m grateful her estate paid for top notch personality encoding.

I never have to wait long. The mausoleum prioritizes family in the queue, and most of her visitors are aspiring authors who can only afford 20 minutes of advice.

It’s my turn, and butterflies are churning in my stomach.

“Dolly! I’m so glad you’re here! I was afraid something had happened to you!”

She knows.

I’ve shut down my online feeds. I love her, but I just can’t stand the thought of them being constructs one day.

“Hi Nana, I’ve brought snapshots of the kids.”

MicrofictionSci Fi
1

About the Creator

JD Bickle

Half the time I'm stuck in my head, the other half I'm just being entertained by the world around me. If you look up, I'm the one who isn't glued to my phone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Pamela Williams /Perthena#247611 months ago

    Captivating.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.