Fiction logo

My Story

A different POV

By Mark GagnonPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Top Story - December 2021
40

If walls could talk is a common phrase, but what if a whole house had something to say? Given all this house has experienced over time, it would have a lot to share.

*********

Please excuse my unkempt appearance. I haven’t had a human visitor in many years. Of course, that wasn’t always the case. My story started in 1946.

World War II ended the year before, and many of the troops headed home into the welcoming arms of their loved ones. The war had put their lives on hold, but now it was time to pursue the American Dream of owning a home and raising a family.

Bill and Maggie Wilson were married a week after Bill returned from Germany. The couple worked multiple jobs, pooling their earnings to save for the down payment. In less than a year, they had accumulated the required $1200.00. Next, Bill and Maggie purchased some land and hired a contractor. Two days before Christmas, the keys to my front door were now theirs.

My design was typical for 1946: a living room, eat-in kitchen, three bedrooms, and a bathroom, all on the same floor. The feature that set me apart from other homes in the area was my roof extension over the front door and the two pillars supporting it.

The Wilsons settled in quickly. Bill and Margie continued working hard. Several months after moving in, Margie became pregnant and had to stop working. Their first son was born seven months later. I was pleased to provide shelter to their recent addition. Approximately a year and a half later, their second boy was born.

In September 1953, Bill lost his job. The economy slumped after the Korean war ended. Jobs and money were scarce. The Wilsons could no longer afford to pay their mortgage, so the bank claimed ownership of me, and my once-happy family moved away. The bank quickly sold me to a real estate management company. From that point on, I was a rental property.

Nothing was the same after my original family left. People constantly moved in, stayed for a few months or a couple of years, then moved on. Some renters were careful not to damage me. Others were careless and left me in disrepair. The rental company carried out a minimal number of repairs, refusing to perform the restoration necessary to keep me looking new.

My life continued like this for many years. As I grew older, fewer renters wanted me. At one time, my rural location was a positive selling point. Now, it had become undesirable for many young working families, looking for a short commute to work. I wasn’t surprised when one day a car stopped, and a man placed a for sale sign in my front yard. I’ve remained unoccupied ever since.

Another slump in the economy placed the real estate company out of business. Soon after that, the county claimed me as payment for back taxes. The sign eventually fell over, but I remained standing strong, waiting for a change of luck. My luck changed, but for the worse.

Our community needed a new cell tower, and my backyard was the ideal location. The county negotiated a deal, and once again, I became the property of a company instead of a family. During the tower’s construction, a severe windstorm caused an unsupported portion to topple into my right wall. The men removed the tower debris but never repaired my damaged wall.

I was pronounced uninhabitable, but that’s not entirely true. I now shelter several families of raccoons, field mice, spiders, and birds. They don’t damage me as some renters did, and occasionally I get to witness a mother giving birth.

I hope I haven’t bored you with my tale of woe, but I believe you will understand. It almost feels as though we’ve met before. I see you’ve brought your children with you. Hopefully, you won’t mind if I listen to your conversation.

“Kids, this is where your uncle and I were born. Back then, this house was something special. Your grandparents had it built especially for us, and I still have many fond memories of the time we spent here. I wanted to show this house to you because it’s important to know where your family started. We loved this home.”

I nostalgically watched as they walked away, wishing I could tell him, "This home loves him too."

Short Story
40

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • noor4 months ago

    well written

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    Loved how the house is telling the story. Brilliant!

  • Testabout a year ago

    OH dear, this was so sad! Wonderfully written and a nice circling back to the family that lived there happily. - Anneliese

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was really lovely! I was feeling pretty sad for the home though so I'm glad you gave it some love again at the end!

  • Tina D'Angeloabout a year ago

    Alas, my friend, we didn't win this contest either. Sigh.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I loved the way you told this, it felt sad after the original family had to leave. You made us feel the homes emotions

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was such a beautiful story and interesting narrative to tell! Well done!

  • Tina D'Angeloabout a year ago

    This is my favorite.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.