Fiction logo

My Pink Shoes

A rainy day memory with angel friends.

By Ameer BibiPublished about a month ago 2 min read
10
My Pink Shoes
Photo by Dário Gomes on Unsplash

As heavy rain fell, turning the street into a muddy mess, I played outdoors with the other kids. I was 7 years old and wearing my new expensive fancy open shoes and was excited to show them off. However, as I rushed, my foot slipped in the rainy water, and the surging current carried away my shoe.

I tried to capture it and fell into muddy water. Instead of becoming worried, I tried my best to run behind, but the speed of the rainwater became too fast, along with the rooftop draining water. There was an empty ground in the corner of our street.

All the flowing water was quickly collected and turned into a pond, and my shoe floated away like a weightless item. While trying to help, my friends yelled ideas, but the thick, wild plants growing in that empty area made it impossible to get to them.

I cried virtually when I saw my shoe disappear into the dirty, thick, muddy pond. I wanted to go further to check my shoe with a wiper in the pond, but my mother warned us not to go in deep water as there might be snakes in rainy water.

We all hesitantly returned, knowing going deeper into the dirty water wasn’t safe. We waited eagerly for the rain to stop, tracking as the ground gradually dried. We each had mud on our trousers and sleeves from our failed rescue attempt.

We looked around the pond in the safe, dried area, hoping to find my lost shoe. Unfortunately, it could not be found. The intense speed of running water probably washed it away into some other areas.

The lesson I learned that day was significant. Life can be unexpected, and certain things are beyond our control. Most significantly, I learned the value of friendship. Despite the muddy mess and failing attempts, my friends stayed by me and tried to help in every way they could.

Ultimately, I walked away with muddy clothes and bare feet, but I also realized that having friends by my side during difficult times is truly important.

5. Write about a time when you jumped in a puddle and made a big splash.

How old were you, and where were you? Why did you jump, and how did it make you feel? Is there a more complex story behind the jump? This can be literal or metaphorical.

LoveShort StoryClassicalAdventure
10

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I love to read, write, and discuss life, health, fiction, and humour. If you write anything related to these topics, subscribe to me and share your story; I would love to read it and share my opinion. You can find me on Medium.

With Thanks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Farhat Naseemabout a month ago

    Keep it up

  • Your rainy day trip with your pink sneakers emphasizes the unpredictability of life and the value of friendship during difficult times.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.