Fiction logo

~My Only One!~ 14 Day Valentine Writing challenge!

~My Only One!~ 9 page ballad/Sonnet! Or wedding vows even if you would rather it be! :-) 1 more day to go, keep coming back! TY!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 4 months ago 6 min read
~My Only One!~ 14 Day Valentine Writing challenge!
Photo by Bri Tucker on Unsplash

~My Only One!~

I can think of no other

To love me true,

To bring to the table

An offer my heart and mind,

Could not refuse.

Even as I listen

To my God’s songs of praises,

On shuffle

I can look at you,

And know

That next to him,

I’ve got you.

That you’ve been sent

Into my life,

From him

Because he remembered,

The price paid.

So we can save each other

Building on faith and unity,

Created from a bse that’s the same

Knowing that if God is Love,

And we put him first

Then through him,

Everything we’ve got

And everything we build on,

Starts’ from there!

I look at you and see

You are my Prize,

For where my love and Glory

And strength kept my,

Hearts’ eye, centered on.

Learning from this

What is important in this life!

Keeping focused on what’s right

Produces a swelling of love,

That grows and burns

With a Pride and Power,

That gives one the confidence

That this race can be won.

And when I laid my eyes on you

For the first time,

I knew all my dreams

Were about to come true,

Because of all the years

Tried and tested,

That I knew to hang on.

So I just kept on course

With my visions and aspirations,

Everything starts from knowing

Who you are, when you are young,

And what you know you want to be.

When you do the work

Fate and timing,

And the Good Lord Above

Does the Rest,

If you just keep on believing

In him, in Love, and your dreams,

No matter what may be happening

To make things hard in life,

If we write it upon the souls

Of our youth,

As we grow,

The laws of attraction

Will begin to spin its wheels,

And our steps will be guided

Whether fast or slow,

To the life we want

No matter the bumps or curve balls,

We will reach our place and time

Like today,

That tells us, we’ve found the one

And the life we’ve been looking for,

Working so hard to reach!

So now we have the rest of our lives

To grow in

Wisdom and experience, together,

To take on the world

And the rest of life,

And stay on top of it all!

It’s amazing to know

That even though,

We don’t know or see

What’s inside the deepest.

Parts of our thoughts

Feelings and desires,

That heaven knows

God can see,

Into the hearts of all!

He does not forget

When one’s,

Intentions are good.

Though time may pass

And we forget or stop,

Thinking of these dreams

We left in the past,

Our guardian Angels

Have not,

Forgotten…

It is in their hands

On when 2 paths will cross,

And the perfect timing

Comes to be.

So here we are today,

You’re looking at me

And my looking at you,

It leaves me without words

That I can speak.

Looking at the Good in you

‘Just’ leaves me breathless…

And I wonder

When you’re looking at me

What’s going on inside,

Your soul

Is there a need,

To Quench a fire

That you’ve yet to Show?

So I wait in anticipation

Through staying the course,

In the parts we are playing

What the outcome will be?

All through, and in the name

Of Love!

Just like a child

We must hold onto,

The innocence

Of the Love we hold dear,

And have treasured for so long…

As we pressed forward

To a life unknown,

That today

God has answered,

The prayers too

When he put your life in mine,

And my life in yours.

All that hard work

In the lives we lived

Without the other,

Doing our part

To meet heaven,

Half way

Allowed for today,

To now be possible!

So this I now celebrate

As we take our vows,

And a life eternal

Ahead,

That waits…

For us to experience

In the greatest adventures,

Yet still to live through

Now that we are together!

Now that we can walk

Hand in hand,

And the glorious

Sun can shine down,

On us.

And light the way

Sharing the glowing beauty

And greatness and wonder,

Of what love can do!

What excitement there is

In thinking about being,

Able to give others

This same gift…

One of joy, love and peace

And they too reach,

Their own special day

Like we have now!

So I give my heart

In testimony to you,

Here and now

In these words,

Of my enduring and unfailing

Love for you,

My dear…

You are simply

My dream come true!

And I plan to spend

The rest of my life,

Giving you this too

And so much more.

In our world to come

There will be laughter,

And song, slow dances,

Picnics, Great food,

And a life that feels

Like we’ve got Forever,

To live.

Where we can spend that time

In the wonderful outdoor world,

Of nature and celebrate

All the things we have,

In common…

And yes all life that abounds there

In Spring Fever too.

All made by the Great

Creator of these things,

God!

What a thing to rejoice in

Thinking about all that brings it,

Together

Under one roof and place,

For all of time!

When his grace is our

Guiding light,

He lets us know

That we can trust him,

With our lives

He gives us the courage,

To know we’ll find

Our way through,

Whatever comes;

Reminded so easily

In the love I see,

When you Smile at me

From ear to ear,

When you look at me

With your eyes,

So Deep…

When they shine back

At me,

With those Marvelous stars,

Within them

That Flicker and Sparkle,

Back

What you’re saying,

What you’re feeling

Without words!

It’s there I know

One thing is true,

That though it may

Have taken,

Half our lives

To reach this time,

When I look at you

Now…

I know it’s true

That You Are,

My Only One!

You wipe out every tear

I’ve ever cried,

All the pain I’ve lived through

In that lifetime,

Disappears in you;

With you by my side

I know today,

I will win this fight

Living in the great New World,

We’re now in Together.

It’s sure to be grand

Because,

Everyday the blessings

We give and feel,

Are true and real!

I’m so happy and grateful

To know,

Through your testimony

Of time,

And your gentleness

Towards me,

Knowing my life

Has been rough,

That I am your

Only One too!

Two people

May be all we are,

In this world

But brought through vows,

Spoken by each other

To a Place,

That’s even closer,

In reaching this day

We are now family!

So I’ve got to be thankful

For what this beautiful canvas,

Standing there blank

Before the rest our lives,

And what that means for us

The work of art,

That we’ll one day display there

A work of art created between us,

For the life we now make

Knowing its a gift,

The time that graces

And blesses our lives,

Today and everyday;

Taking each day 1 at a time

Nothing taken for granted,

And not a moment to waste!

May it be a work of art

A painting and picture,

That never ends in its

Changes of beauty,

Growth and Aww…

That through it all

It repeats,

The same message,

The same story

The same song,

Again and again and again

How much we care,

How we feel and what we see

When we look at one another,

And live with the other

In each moment of time,

We live through

That’s left,

Gifted to us.

That these same words

Come to mind…

‘I love you’

And are written there

In the work,

FOREVER!

Above or below

The same wonderful,

Story retold

That comes from our hearts,

And our souls

That no other words

Can say so easily,

Except these, that

‘You are my only one’

And that Victory is Sure!

Happy endings

Can come true…

As we say the words

“I do!”

The End!

Written by,

Jennifer Cooley!

familyShort StoryLoveFantasyFableClassical

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jennifer CooleyWritten by Jennifer Cooley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.