Fiction logo

My Neighbour And I

Of Expectations And Disappointments

By Princess Jekey-GreenPublished about a year ago 4 min read
3
Picture from Google

I planned to Netflix & chill by myself but first I decided to get fuel so I don't get surprised.

I met Anita, my neighbour outside, washing. I greeted her and made a remark about the weather, she smiled and replied then I noticed she was on a call so I apologized for the intrusion and walked off.

The second I walked back in with the fuel, I noticed Anita waving frantically at me.

I quickly walked up to her, and she then made a weird request.

She pleaded with me to talk to her boyfriend on the phone.

I was confused, she saw my reaction and explained nervously that when I greeted her she was on a call with him and he's a jealous type so he just wanted reassurance that she was really in her compound and we were just neighbours.

Wtf!

Reluctantly I agreed and took the phone from her.

"Hello," I spoke on the phone

"Good morning chief, I'm Segun, Anita's boyfriend. May I meet you please?"

May I meet you please...wtf is this...I said in my mind. I looked at Anita, and her facial reaction made me feel sorry for her, not resentment. In a way I caused it, shebi na me dey form good neighbour when I should have just minded my business when I saw her.

"Good morning Segun, I'm Kingdavid, Anita's neighbour."

"Please David, don't take this the wrong way but how do you know my girlfriend?"

I paused...

"Kingdavid, not David," I replied

"Sorry, I don't understand." He said

"My name is Kingdavid, not David," I repeated.

"Oh, I'm sorry sir. Okay, Kingdavid sir how do you know my girlfriend." He asked

"Kingdavid, not sir," I repeated calmly

There was silence then he spoke

"Okay Kingdavid, please Anita said you are her neighbour, please how do you know her?"

"I don't. Like she said we're just neighbours," I maintained my composure.

"But how come I've never seen you before? I know all my girlfriend's neighbours."

"No, you don't," I told him

"Who else don't I know?" He asked

"Me," I replied

"Please, don't take this the wrong way, I am not saying you are lying but it's my baby I don't trust. Please, what's your apartment number, and can we switch to video call so I'll see the compound and your face?"

I hung up and gave the phone to Anita.

"I'm so sorry, my boyfriend is the jealous type. He's a very nice guy. Please what did he say?" She asked, smiling nervously.

I ignored her and started walking to my house. She followed me and started begging, asking me to forgive her because she didn't mean to upset me.

I actually felt pity for her so I stopped and told her to forget about it.

Then she began asking me if it's normal for a guy to love his girlfriend like that to the extent of wanting to know all her friends, especially guys, and even neighbours. Then she asked if I'm like that.

I told her it's abnormal and there's a thin line between love and obsessive need for control, and I'm afraid what her boyfriend is exhibiting isn't love but the former. I didn't hold back, I told her she was dating a psycho.

We had a very long conversation and in the end, she cried and told me she was sick and tired of him and was going to break up.

"Look at me Kings, take a good look at me." She turned around and gave me a view of her body.

I swallowed as I took my time appreciating the view.

"I'm a spec," she continued. "I'm a career woman, a graduate, first-class 4rm Unilag. I'm paying my own rent, I take care of my bills. I don't depend on a man for anything. Many guys will give anything to date me, why am I allowing one man to treat me like trash?" She asked me.

... After abt 30 minutes of heart-to-heart conversation, she promised to end things with him, raise her standards and expectations and start loving herself more, and then she hugged me and left.

I was genuinely happy for her. I walked into my room and continued from where I left off.

30 minutes later, I heard a soft knock on my door. I opened it and Anita was standing outside, looking absolutely beautiful and hot.

She had showered, wore make-up and by Jove she looked extremely beautiful in her black, short gown that highlighted all her curves. If not that I swore never to have anything to do with any woman in my neighbourhood, office or even church, I would have shot my shot instantly.

"Anita, you're back, I hope no problem?" I smiled

"Emmm, Kings, no, no problem at all. Please, don't be offended but are you alone?

"Yes, yes I'm alone. I've been alone since morning, and I'll be alone throughout today." I explained as I hoped for the best under the circumstances.

"I have a small favour to ask you." She asked shyly

My smile widened... This must be Christmas lol

I licked my lips and replied...

"Anita, go ahead and ask anything, anything at all, just ask. I'm here for you dear."

Then she leaned in seductively, smiled, avoided my eyes and said shyly, "Thank you, dear. Please my boyfriend is here, he is outside. See, I love him and I don't want to lose him, please he wants to meet with you to make sure you are my neighbour as you claimed, please come outside."

As told by Ajebo Writer.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Princess Jekey-Green

Hi there,

I am Jekey and you're welcome to my profile.

I am a creative storyteller with a wild imagination. I create Opinion Pieces on Love, Romance fiction, Life & other Trending issues curated from my everyday life experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Ohh, got his hopes up only to be dashed away again. That happens all too often. Great story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.