Fiction logo

My Mom is a Magician

For when your little one is too afraid to sleep

By Meghan WattPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

Late one night, Rebecca raced to her parents’ bedroom and shook her mother awake.

“Mommy, Mommy, there’s a monster!” she wailed, tears streaming down her freckled cheeks.

Her mother stretched as she stifled a yawn. “Where, sweetheart?”

“In the closet,” cried Rebecca. Grabbing her mother’s hand, she pulled her from her pillow.

“Don’t worry. We’ll fix it right up,” her mother said, pecking her little girl on the temple.

Hand in hand, they walked down the hall. But when they arrived at the bedroom door, Rebecca refused to go inside.

“It’s okay,” said her mother. “You can wait here.”

Sniffling, Rebecca nodded and hid behind the door, poking her head into the room just enough to see. She watched as her mother bravely opened the closet and with a “shoo, shoo,” she banished the monster for good.

“There. All better.”

Rebecca tip-toed toward the closet and peered inside. It was true. All she could see were clothes and toys. The bedroom was safe once more. “But how?”

Her mother thought for a moment. “Well, I went to the Magic School for Guardians. It’s where all grown-ups go, so we know how best to take care of our little ones.”

“Really?”

"Really truly. It took many years, but it was worth it.”

“What was it like? Tell me! Tell me!” pleaded Rebecca.

“Here, get into bed and I’ll tell you the story.” As Rebecca snuggled beneath the sheets, her mother perched on the end and looked off into the night. “When I first approached, I have to admit I was a little nervous. You see, the school is in a dark twisted tower that stretches high into the sky. But it’s not nearly as scary as it appears. Inside, it’s actually pretty cosy. Sadly, we only had a little time to enjoy it, because we had lots to learn. The first class was Healing Magic. That’s where I learned how to give you a magical kiss that makes all the aches and pains go away.”

Rebecca gasped. “Like at the park.”

“That’s right. Like at the park, and everywhere and anytime you’re hurt. They also taught us how to sing lullabies and give enchanted back rubs that soothe our little ones to sleep. And of course, snuggles and tickles to help wash away the blues.” At that, she tickled Rebecca’s belly.

“Mooom!” her daughter giggled.

“Next we had a class in Shield Magic. That’s where I learned how to cast protective shields so I can banish nightmares and hold back storms, just by being there!”

“And scare away the monsters in the closet!” added Rebecca.

“Yup.” Then her mother took on a more serious tone. “The next lesson was pretty tough. I didn’t like learning it very much and I don’t like using it either. It’s called Trouble Magic. With trouble magic, I can detect lies and see you if you’re up to no good, even if I’m not looking.”

Rebecca folded her arms and pouted. “Not fair.”

“Well luckily I don’t have to use it that often,” her mother said with a smile. “And that brings me to the most powerful magic of all. What’s special about this magic is I never had to learn it. I just had it in me the moment I knew you were on your way. Your father too.”

“Really?”

“Really truly. This magic is called Love. So no matter where you are, I’ll always be there.”

“So you can make it better,” said Rebecca, beaming.

“So I can make it better,” her mother agreed. She kissed her little one on the forehead, and it was true. Rebecca felt even better than before.

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Meghan Watt

I'm a video game writer and former journalist who dabbles in short and long-form prose. Hope you enjoy! @words.of.megawatt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.