Fiction logo

My meeting with the "Ghost Wind"

The Traveler searches for......

By william u cowserPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2

On this journey as The Traveler, though i have forgotten my name, my past mirrored only by blurred images, i have been sent on a path to find the Hall of Light and Shadow to find the answers to the burning questions that lie within me. As instructed by one of the town elders, my path would first take me into the Neverending Woods.

From light grassy plains as i walk, the road began to lose its lime-colored tint to reveal the tan brown of the dirt of the path, showing the years of wear from the many travelers who had walked this road and back for years without memory, at least i felt that this road was that old. As the sun was still high, i walked the road until i reached the gateway that separated the road of the plains, and that which entered the Woods. Tall and thick, their age unknowing, and yet they stood as sentinels, guarding but welcoming as i crossed the threshold into the forest. The sun beamed through the branches in little rays of light continuing forward, even as i walked, i found myself entranced by not only how green everything was, but the expanse of the area, which was nearly hard to describe, let alone measure. After about an hour, i came to a small clearing, and inside there was something i would have never expected to see: a barn.

Old and grey, i couldn't tell if this barn was still in use, or was left behind to let nature claim its prize. The wood panels were faded on one side; crooked widows without glass around the entire structure, and though what appeared to be the front door was a type of sliding door with a black handle. The faded east side of the barn surprisingly had a side door i hadn't noticed at first glance, probably due to the discoloration. Before i could step closer to the barn to look inside one of windows, through the path of the forest came a man on a horse driven cart who greets and stops my inquiry.

"Young sir, this is my barn, what do you think you're doing?" "My apologies, Sir. I thought this barn may have been abandoned, and seeing that i have a long journey, i was wanting to look inside to see if it was safe to sleep in for the night."

"Yes, the barn's safe to all those bigger than a wagon wheel, haha. The name's Silas, i live just a little east of the forest path. And your name is?" "I'm sorry, i cannot remember my name, but those in the town where i come from have nicknamed me Ren the Traveler." "So Ren the Traveler, said Silas, i've been told the weather's gonna be bad the next three days, you're welcome to stay in the barn till then." "that old shack is a lot stronger than it looks, and there's provisions inside if you need them, stay in peace, and by the third day, leave in peace." With gratitude, "Silas, sir, i will do as you ask, with my thanks." With a light nod, Silas turned his horse cart around back the way he came, down into the forest, with me watching him as he turned slightly east, until he disappered from sight. Alone again, i walked back up to the sliding wood door, opened it, and went inside.

As i stepped in the barn, i first noticed the smell, no not the smell of animal manure, but of hay, a particular type of hay. Lavender grass, which i was familiar with, has been known to be farmed for various items for sale or trade. One of those items, when dried, lavender grass when mixed with other items, is a perfect remedy for irritable or nervous animals. Although there were two to three small square bales in the right corner of the barn, the scent was faint enough to be relaxing, but not overpowering To the left behind the entryway was a small table and chair, and behind that, a built-in ladder, which revealed possibly a small crawlspace. Before i could sit down to gather my thoughts and rest, i was greeted by a bellowing voice from within the crawlspace.

"Who are you!" answered the voice. "What the hell?!" i answered back surprised. "Who....are.....you!" the voice answered once again.

"If you can tell me who i'm addressing, i will tell you just who i am." At first nothing, then a light fluttering sound, then looking up at the far right corner of the crawlspace, i see the entity behind the voice: an owl.

With dark brown wings, and a speckled white and gray underbelly, i couldn't believe that this bellowing voice was coming from an owl! Its snow-white face hid much of what i could see of a beak, but it was its eyes that drew my attention more, both dark, and haunting.

"I am the ghost who hunts, the shadow of the nighttime sky, a guardian of the land. My name can't be pronounced in your tongue, but the farmer has named me O-wen." "Pleasure to meet you O-wen, my name is Ren, i'm a traveler." Moving its head back forth, O-wen says, "Why are you taking your journey into the Neverending Woods? Do you seek the Hall?"

Though i had not told Silas where my final destination was, this owl somehow was keen as to where i was heading. "Yes", i said. "I am searching for the Hall of Light and Shadow." O-wen replied, "Do you know of what you seek?" "No," i replied. With dark glistening eyes, O-wen replied, "I believe you will, but will you want what you find when you get there." I asked O-wen what will i find as a clue to what i may be up against, his reply resulted in a deep chuckle, then silence. "Since you'll be my guest for three days, i will provide you information that will aid you in the Woods."

For the next three days, O-wen the Owl taught me about some of helpful plants, what to avoid, and other roads that lie within the Neverending Woods. The owl also told me that the Woods, despite some of its chaotic areas, were a delicate balance, and that if you can see it clearly, the Woods would provide all that may need. I don't know why O-wen told me this, but i had a feeling that this would not be the last time i would have a conversation like this before i reached the Hall.

Adventure
2

About the Creator

william u cowser

46yr old enjoyer of reading interesting stories, sci-fi and anime watcher, and part- time gamer during my free time. plus enjoy challenging myself in obstacle course runs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.