Fiction logo

My First Mission

HeadQaurterZ's Top Agent

By Elijah DavisPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
My First Mission
Photo by Mikel Parera on Unsplash

Getting thrust into the mind was almost as disorienting as my first day at HQ. BUT, I had it in my essence that I would become the agent ever! After I took one moment to acclimate to my new existence, I was ready to access the memories.

This is always the smartest thing to do and the sign of a top headquarterz agent. (Hopefully, during disorientation you don't forget your mission) It can be common for agents to get forgetful and all their prep work gets thrown out the window the moment they make the "jump".

You see the "Jump" is what we agents use to describe the process of leaving HQ and transitioning into a consciousness. The technical terms are inhabiting an avatar and other mumbo jumbo textbook terms, but after the "Jump", nothing from the agent textbook matters!

I seemed to be having the most difficult time remembering ANYTHING from my training, let alone boring textbook terms. It felt as if I was intoxicated, and I had been struggling to get myself together since the "jump".

I am the HQ agent, I am the top HQ agent, I continue to repeat my mantra to myself over and over. And yet, I could hardly separate myself from identifying as the client. What was the job?

Everything was becoming blurry. What am I feeling and seeing, I ask myself? I became entranced by the sensations of being an organism with a body!

HeadQuarterZ often referred to as the place without time and without space, had no training exercises remotely accurate to inhabiting a body! It had barely been an hour and I was seeing what all the hype of being an agent was REAL!

This was my first jump and I felt that even though agents had tried their best, no one adequetly prepared me for my first mission! Being an agent, and going on missions, was the end all be all at headquarterz, but only moments after my "jump", my confidence was falling.

I had studied, worked, and trained hard but my goal of making history as an agent was replaced, with hoping to complete my mission and make it back to HQ. ( For me, even completing the mission and making it back to HQ was far off. I had completely forgotten my mission!

I considered myself lucky for remembering that I was an agent at HQ. Without a mission in mind, there were still a lot of things to be careful of. I knew that if I were to die while inhabiting, my story would never be told (well rather if the avatar I am inhabiting were to die, well then I could die to and never return to HQ).

There were several dangers to worry about, but I had to focus on my mission. What is my mission? I went back to repeating my mantra of "I am an agent at HQ" to try to stay calm.

THINK!

That thought brought immense pain to my whole existence. I realized that it was time to blend in. I did not technically belong in this avatar, I was a secret agent. In training, it was mentioned that some avatars have protection systems that can guard the areas of the mind I needed access to.

I decided to lay low and lay low. My new plan was to wait. If I could stay calm and get properly acclimated then I would remember my mission! The best thing for me to would be rest. I was afraid to execute my poor plan but it was the best I had come up with!

The "jump", had been harder on me than I could have ever imagined. At HQ everyone sold me the dream of being an agent, and now that I was on my first mission, I was discovering it truly is a nightmare.

I actually thought that I was trained to handle the "jump" like a professional, and it only made things worse to assume that I was indeed handling the "jump" professionally. Since the "jump" was so difficult for me, I became concerned with how hard it was going to be for me to accomplish my mission!

Everything was already so different, I was all alone, and I no longer felt prepared to handle anything. My mission had just started and I already felt that I was not handling myself very well.

I knew I had to get rest to keep from getting overwhelmed. As an agent rest was the only thing I could focus on for the time being. Things had spiraled since the "jump" and to get back in control, I had to keep it simple.

All that matters, for now, is that I calm down, blend in, and keep the avatar unaware of my existence! To be a great agent, I had to keep it simple, and I could handle that. Before I dozed off I thought about going back to HQ.

There was no way of knowing how long it would take me to be ready for extraction (The official term for my exit back to HQ). The extraction or the exit, the transition from the avatar back to HQ was all I thought about as I dozed off.

The extraction process is initiated after a successful mission. I could imagine myself being successful and seeing the signal of a very vibrant green glow. The glow would appear to me and I would transition back to HQ, like a hero!

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.