Fiction logo

My First Heist

200 words including the title.

By Mark GagnonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
7
My First Heist
Photo by Michelle Tsang on Unsplash

The captivating aroma of freshly baked brownies drew me and Rusty directly to the kitchen. There, resting on the countertop, were three cooling racks filled with chocolate delights. Mother was busy readying the house for company, so my window of opportunity was limited. She had baked the brownies for her guests, but I didn’t think she would miss one or two.

Five-year-old me wasn’t tall enough to reach my target. Rusty sat quietly, wagging his tail. As soon as I spied the kitchen table, my plan came together. Stealthily, I dragged one of the kitchen chairs over to the counter. With some effort, I pulled myself up and gazed at my prize.

There were so many brownies, I wasn’t sure where to start. Clumsily, I reached for the closest one and promptly knocked it to the floor. Rusty handled damage control. My next attempt was more successful. I placed my prize on the chair and was about to climb down when I spotted a problem. The missing brownies left a gaping hole. It only took seconds to rearrange the squares and fill in the gap.

Chair returned; I walked outside with my prize. Many more heists have followed.

Short Story
7

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    THat's sweet. I am so craving brownies

  • Thanks Tina! It was fun to write. Time to eat another brownie.

  • Tina D'Angelo11 months ago

    Love it- and brownies too. So fun, Mark!

  • Oooo, a brownie heist! Such an excellent take on the challenge! Now I'm craving brownies, lol!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Mark this was a great heist, sweet and sneaky but also such a wholesome story! Such a relatable story for the readers, who hasn't tried to sneak a cookie/ brownie/ treat from the counter top? Loved this! 💜

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Hi M ~ Fun Memory: My Twin Brother and I always fought over who got the Bigger-Brownie-Piece! Glad you could relate to my 'Am I Choosing UP?' And, I know our friend Heather can't bother if "It ain't Chocolate" Yum! J

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    I wholeheartedly agree with this heist!! Brownies are so hard to resist :) Loved the joy in this piece, wonderful work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.