Fiction logo

My Dragon Blue

Dragons of the Valley

By Kelvin DavisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

There weren’t always dragons in the Valley. That all changed on the day the mine exploded and the mountains blew apart. My father, Manfred, and Uncle Samson had worked in the mine for years and never had the mine had an explosion. This was something new and deadly. But only if we knew how deadly.

Uncle Samson came running in and shouted to my mother to get the bandages and hot water as much as she could carry, and for me to bring as much wood and blankets as I could to help make crutches and litters to carry the wounded and dead.

“Should I call the dwarfs and halflings to help? And where is my father?” I asked, but he ran off not answering. The dwarfs were very good at mining, and I had not realized that their mine was also damaged in the explosion. Once I reached the mined I could see all the rocks and boulders that lay on top of the fallen miners.

As I was looking around helping those I could and asking for my father, I hear a loud crash, a huge rock had came falling down and there popped out my father. Looking ever the hero that he is. Standing tall and covered in dust, carrying two miners.

“Jaxith! Look, come help me with these men.” I will go back down and look for more that are hurt.” I helped the men over to my mother and the other ladies to help nurse them.

“Where is Manfred?” Samson shouts looking around for his brother.

“He went back in to look for more survivors.”

“Why would he do that? Always playing the Hero, hahahaha.” Samson bellows while puffing his chest out.

Just then another rumble shakes the mountain, but thankfully no one is injured, and a big hole opens up. A large cave has been exposed and the light shines on some very large eggs that no one had seen before. What kind of creature could have produced such huge boulder like eggs.

One villager asked, “should we move them to a safer place?” Another wanted to know “How old are these things and will the monster that laid them come back?” Yet another still wondered, “What would happen if they hatched?”

Minutes later Manfred appears from the mine and is carrying a much smaller egg. But still larger than the biggest bird eggs.

“Look at what I found deep in the mine? Jaxith, Samson, Nola.”

Nola is my mother, and she wants nothing to do with the egg, “Put that back where you found it you big dufus.” She always calls my father by a rude nickname and only Manfred when she is really angry.

“Woman, it is a new pet for Jaxith, he is a boy that needs to have a real pet to help him become a man.”

I don’t know why I needed a new pet and if its going to get as big as those other eggs I would not think I would last long to become a man. Besides I am only 14 years old, and I have a dog named Lex.

Months have passed and the mine is still closed, and the giant eggs are still in the same place, no one dares to move them, not even my brave father. My egg is growing every day and is almost as large as the others. I wonder what could be inside and what would it do when it hatches.

I talk to it and keep it warm at night and hope that whatever it is does not eat me when it hatches.

Coming from the fields one day I walked into our hut and my father and Samson were talking at the table while my mother was cooking. Manfred wants to move the eggs down to the river and put them in a corral, Samson wants to move the eggs to the bottom of the mountains and let them hatch and roam free whatever they become.

Before that decision could be made, the eggs hatched, and baby dragons were roaming the valley and mine. Eating all of the crops and being a nuisance. The men decided to reign them in and moved them to a section of the valley that was uninhabitable and let them roam there, with a large, wooded fence and gate to keep to them in.

As the months went by the dragons grew and grew and finally my egg hatched. I had hidden it in secret so no one would find it and take it.

My dragon hatched with a blue skin and wide eyes and looked at me like I was its favorite thing in the world. I named him Blue Sky King. Blue for short.

Blue would grow to be to big to keep on the farm, so I hid him in the caves by the river and would train him to protect the village and the mines.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.