Fiction logo

My Dog Is Addicted To Killing Mice

He Hunts Them In The Basement

By Axel PostmusPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
7

We were sitting in the basement, just me and my dog Rex. It was dark and spooky down there, and I was trying to summon up the courage to go explore the rest of the house. But Rex was getting restless, and I didn't want to leave him alone.

"Come on, Tom," he said. "Let's go explore. I bet there are all kinds of interesting things to see upstairs."

I hesitated for a moment, but then I realized that Rex was right. There was no point in sitting in the dark when there was so much to see.

"All right, let's go," I said, getting to my feet.

Rex bounded up the stairs ahead of me, and I followed close behind. I was half-expecting something to jump out at me, but nothing did.

We reached the top of the stairs and I looked around. There was a long hallway with doors leading off of it.

"Which way should we go?" I asked Rex.

He sniffed the air for a moment and then trotted off to the right. I followed him down the hallway until we came to a door that was slightly ajar.

Rex pushed it open with his nose and I peered into the room. It looked like it might have been a nursery at one time. There was a crib in one corner and a changing table in another.

I was about to step into the room when Rex suddenly stopped and growled. I froze, my heart pounding in my chest.

"What is it, boy?" I whispered.

Rex's growl turned into a bark, and he lunged forward into the room. I heard a shriek, and then Rex came running back out, something small and furry clutched in his mouth.

"Rex, no!" I scolded him. "You're supposed to be a good dog!"

But Rex just wagged his tail and dropped the furry thing at my feet. I bent down and picked it up, and my heart skipped a beat when I realized what it was.

It was a mouse, and it was still alive.

The next morning, I woke up to the sun shining in my face. I yawned and stretched and got out of bed. Rex was already up and waiting for me at the door.

"Come on, boy," I said. "Let's go explore some more."

Rex barked excitedly and followed me downstairs. I opened the door to the basement and we started down the stairs. But halfway down, I stopped and Rex bumped into me.

"What is it?" he asked.

I didn't answer. I was trying to listen, but I couldn't hear anything. It was like the house was completely silent.

"Hello?" I called out. "Is anyone there?"

There was no answer.

I started to feel a little uneasy, but I told myself not to be ridiculous. There was nothing to be afraid of.

I took a few more steps down, but Rex was reluctant to follow.

"Come on, boy," I said. "There's nothing down here that can hurt us."

But Rex just stood there, barking and growling.

"Fine," I said. "You can stay up here if you want. I'm going to explore the basement."

I started down the stairs again, but I was moving more slowly now. My heart was pounding in my chest, and I was starting to regret coming down here alone.

I was almost to the bottom when I heard it. A noise that sounded like something scratching at the walls.

I froze, my heart racing.

"Hello?" I called out again. "Is anyone there?"

There was no answer, but the scratching noise continued.

I was about to turn and run back up the stairs when Rex suddenly appeared at the bottom of the stairs.

"Rex, you scared me!" I exclaimed.

"I'm sorry," he said. "But I thought you might need some help."

I was about to tell him that I didn't need any help, but then I heard the scratching noise again.

"What is that?" I asked, my voice trembling.

Rex sniffed the air for a moment and then he started to growl.

"It's coming from over there," he said, nodding his head towards a door in the far corner of the basement.

My heart was pounding in my chest, but I forced myself to move forward. Rex was right behind me, his growls getting louder and more aggressive.

I reached the door and grasped the handle, but I hesitated for a moment. I was scared of what might be on the other side.

But then I took a deep breath and turned the handle.

The door opened with a creak, and I peered into the darkness.

"Hello?" I called out. "Is anyone there?"

There was no answer, but I heard the scratching noise again.

I took a step into the room, and Rex followed. As my eyes adjusted to the darkness, I saw that the room was filled with all kinds of boxes and old furniture.

And in the far corner, something was moving.

I took a few steps closer, and Rex started to growl again.

I could see now that it was a rat. A big, fat rat.

It was scratching at the wall, and it didn't seem to notice us.

I was about to turn and run when Rex lunged forward and grabbed the rat in his mouth.

"Rex, no!" I shouted.

But it was too late. Rex had already killed the rat.

I started to cry. I had never been so scared in my life.

I ran out of the building and didn't stop until I got home. I was shaking and covered in sweat, and Rex followed close behind me.

I went inside and lay down on my bed, trying to calm my nerves. Rex jumped up next to me and put his head on my chest.

"It's okay, boy," I said, stroking his fur. "You're a good dog. A really good dog."

Young Adult
7

About the Creator

Axel Postmus

- Loves writing

- Interested in literature

- Likes learning new things

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jonathan Townend2 years ago

    Entertaining fictional read! Loved it. Very suspenseful.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    I loved this story! Super entertaining compared to the generic backstories a lot of people have been putting out there for the challenge, great work!

  • This was a spooky and fun story. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.