Fiction logo

My Daughter Was Expelled From School

I’m furious…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
7
My Daughter Was Expelled From School
Photo by Cash Macanaya on Unsplash

My daughter was expelled from school today. And, I’m furious!

Now.

Before I mention what she did, I’d like to argue that expulsion is an outdated and outrageous method for teaching a student a lesson. It’s not rehabilitating. It’s a form of outcasting and getting rid of problems, rather than using a community’s resources extensively to heal. If school is supposed to be substantially more advanced than it was when I was a child, then why are we still expelling students when it’s 2059!? But, since my daughter’s teacher Mr. Anderson Internet is a monotone, over analyzing, skinless, and emotionless know it all I don’t believe they were programmed to agree with my stance.

As I sat across from Mr. Internet, the entire world felt broken. In an unnatural voice, they explained that the probability of her plagiarizing her research paper was 99.9%, and that it’s also a high probability that she’ll do it again. Minutes drained as they listed countless scenarios, all repeating the inevitability of the same negative outcome.

Yes, I love my daughter. I will always fight for her. But, I’m also open to hearing when she’s wrong.

So, I’m not furious that she was accused. Or furious that I was lectured about rules and regulations.

I’m furious that my generation pleaded for the school system to change for Black girls, and it’s first major change made it worse. It removed the burned out heart from its classrooms.

Then, replaced them with robots…

MicrofictionShort StorySci Fi
7

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Trip L.8 months ago

    This is a captivating read with a powerful message. Great job!

  • Won't be surprised if this actually happens in the future! Excellent story!

  • Darkos8 months ago

    I am sorry to hear that, the way this world still function is not adequate to a human real needs and It won't teach anything to such young individuals who have rights to make mistakes at least in such chaos and troubled reality of the now ! school is not a real education

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    You had me up in arms for a minute there. Robots school teachers are not so far fetched an idea, it may be coming soon. Metaphorical ones do exist though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.