Fiction logo

Mudculber (bunker story #2)

getting frozen for 650 years

By Kathy ColbertPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

Getting frozen for 650 years

In the middle of the night I felt my brother waking me up. I was only six so he was 12 and his hearing wasn’t the best. “Come on! Come on Kat, get up!” he said quietly but enough to wake me up and get me to hurry. He picked me up and went to our living room where my dad was buttoning up a shirt and had only time to grab his glasses then put contacts in. Brogan handed me to my father, who willingly took me.

We walked into the main area where every assembly is held. I saw Aiden with his brother, holding on to his hand as his uncle was looking over people’s heads to see where his wife went, or at least trying to look over people’s heads. Aiden dragged his brother and uncle to us and Brogan took Scott from his uncle’s arms to give him a break and his uncle picked up Aiden. His aunt came over. “There’s nothing, the guards have nothing, Tony doesn’t even know.” she told Aiden’s uncle.

“What the hell is going on?” Cal asked. My father sighed and said. “That’s what we’re waiting to find out, Cal.”

Cal could see the chiefs. Mayors, the president and the government talking. He yelled. “Excuse me! What is the meaning of this!? What’s so important that it couldn’t wait until the morning? I had to wake up my little brother who’s really sick at the moment, we are all tired so what’s going on!” his uncle and grabbed Cal. “Calvin you can’t just do that!” he then said loudly. “I’m so sorry, sir! Cal just doesn’t like to be awoken in the middle of the night!” the mayor of Construction station said. “Don’t be sorry, you’re raising a very strong man there, and he’s right, you deserve to know what’s going on! I’m going to hand it over to the president.”

our president, who was literally old enough to be my great grandfather wheeled his way over to the microphone. Our scientists have informed me of some very very sad news. Earth won’t be coming back in ten years like we had hoped, Mudculber is not going away.'' All of us started to talk a little. I saw Aiden crying, he was asking his brother. “Are we going to die down here?!”

Cal was trying to calm down his brother. “Hey. hey, hey! It’s okay, no we’re not going to die down here, settle down, shh. It’s okay, you’re okay, just calm down.” I could tell Cal didn’t really know if we were going to die or live, I think he was just trying to keep his brother calm. The president spoke again. “My people! Our scientists have an idea to have us live long enough to see the world again. Their answer is to freeze us in water.” I looked around and saw Jasper with her parents and a dark haired boy in Batman Pjs. Jasper’s mother pulled her closer to her legs. “How long will that be?! A year? Five years? Ten years?!” Cal hollered. The president said. “Approximately 500 years.” Everyone started chattering loudly. Cal screamed. “Are you insane old man?! We’ll all be dead in 500 years!” Her aunt grabbed him. “Calvin Roger Danarooter!” The president chuckled. “My people we will not age being frozen in time.” The next day was our time to say our goodbyes. Me and Aiden could not stop hugging each other. But soon we had to get frozen. Jasper came over to us. “Hey guys, just wanted to say good bye before we frozen, I’ll be soon since surnames that start with B just ended.” me, Aiden and Jasper hugged each other good bye. “Jazz, it’s time.” her father said as he took out the table she would be frozen to. She nodded and said. “See you guys in 500 years.” and she ran back to her family. Aiden went soon after Jasper. I had to wait a while after Aiden was frozen. Since his surname started with D and mine started with S it was quite a wait. Brogan sat against some of the frozen chambers reading a book. I was getting bored. Every time I looked up. I either saw Amy, Blake, Cal, or Aiden. Brogan saw me and crawled over to the chambers across from him that I was sitting next to. He sighed. He signed. “Miss him?” I nodded. He signed. “You’ll see him again.” I looked at him and signed. “I know.” my brother wrapped his arm around me as I leaned up against him. Finally surnames that started with S had to get frozen. My father lifted me up onto a table and my brother pushed himself up onto one like he used to sit on the counter when my father wasn’t looking. My dad got one for himself ready. My brother put in his information as my father did mine. It didn’t take long before my brother was done and asked my dad to push the button for him to be frozen, my father froze him. He looked at me and said, ``Your mother would be proud of you baby.” I smiled. “I love you baby girl and don’t worry this won't be like 500 years. I nodded and smiled. My dad kissed me on the forehead and pushed to the button I could see my father hopping on his table. Pushing the button and goy into the position he needed to be in to be frozen. I started to feel really cold, it got colder and colder. I was shivering in the tank. I could see my breath, ice started to form on the class of the tank. I started to think of Aiden and I shut my eyes. What felt like seconds, I woke up to see my brother looked down at me. He looked exactly the same. Brown hair with a simple shaved side design. His brown eyes sparkling and his skin smooth like ever. Grinned as I opened my eyes. I sat up and saw Aiden run over to me. “Get her off, come on! hurry up!” he shouted at my brother who helped me off. The minute I got off the table Aiden ran up to me and flung his arms around me. I hugged him back and my eyes even started to water from how hard he was squeezing me. He looked at me. “Is this how Santa lives forever?” I laughed. I said. "wait, how long were we frozen?"

"650 years." my father said. I was shocked "650 years." I thought then heard some commotion down the hallway. I saw a crowd of people, me and Aiden being kids. We ran down the hallway to see what was going on. Our families told us to slow down and wait up but we didn’t. Me and Aiden pushed through the crowd to see what was going on. I saw Jasper on the ground coughing. Saying. “Too cold.” with a water bottle next to her tipped over. Her father was holding her in his arms as her mother was telling her to try and breathe and a black haired boy who was closer than the rest of the crowd was there after a couple of minutes, Jasper was taken to a med bay nearby, turns out she wasn’t the only one who had this happen to her. Her family later realized that something happened to her when she got frozen, there’s some kind of science behind her condition but in simpler words for me and Aiden, our guardians and parents told us that the years Jasper was frozen for affected the way her heart worked, with her throat and heart being so close together, drinking or eating something cold could make her brain think she’s getting frozen again making her heart stop, and sending her body into a state of hypothermia. I felt bad for Jasper, she would never eat anything cold again but it didn’t seem to affect her, she was a lot like my brother, my brother always made the best of his life even with his hearing problem, he would always tell me. “My hearing is gone, and that sucks, but I can still see and talk and walk, and I still have most of my family with me. Just because I lost my hearing doesn’t mean my life is over, it may not be the same but it doesn’t mean it’s not going to be okay.” Jasper kind of felt the same way my brother, of course they wouldn’t mind getting the thing they lost back but they were treated just like everyone else, unless they needed help. Life didn’t change, the world was still not ready for anyone to walk on it yet, but the scientists had a prediction that it would be coming back in the next couple of decades. Me and Aiden were excited because it meant that we were going to see the world again in this lifetime. Jasper, Cal and Brogan as well, even Aiden's uncle, aunt and my father. But not our president, he passed away two years after we were unfrozen. The doctors said the ice messed up his health. None of the doctors thought he would make it past three years. Our new president was a lot younger than our old president which isn’t saying much but our new president was only in his thirties. Me Aiden liked him a lot. One day my brother was walking through the defection station with me, he kept me close and had a sharp pocket knife in his Pocket that was not closed and he kept his hand in his pocket gripping the knife and never took his hand out of his pocket. I was kind of creeped out with my brother Carrying a knife in his pocket but he said it was normal in that station to carry a knife around. I never knew why until we learned about the structure of the bunker and found out that the prison station was right next to the defection station. Aiden’s and mine station so my brother and father were fine going to his house alone, same with Jasper’s. But if I was going to the butcher’s station they always told me to bring a knife with me and depending on how far I was going in the butcher's station was how careful I had to be since it was next to the defection station. Me and Aiden stopped going through the defection station to go play in the water. Jasper had an idea where we could make a lot of racket and no one would care, it was the freezer where we were frozen in I guess even after everyone was un frozen the place was still useful, jut not to the adults, we weren’t the only ones who played here a lot after the livestock died off the fields became crop land which was bad for many kids since a lot of us used to play there the freezer became a very popular place to play in, the adults later found out the kids played there so if you ever needed your kid he or she was probably in the freezer. A little while after the adults found a way to ,make the freezer useful to them they used the freezer to store things that needed to stay fresh or cold, we didn’t mind it until some people started to sell drugs in the freezer and the adults made the freezer off limits to anyone unless you had permission to get something out there. That’s when me and Aiden started to go to Jasper’s house which became our normal hang out. Her parents didn’t care if we came or not they liked my family and Aiden was a nice kid but we’ll never forget about the freezers that saved our lives and let us see

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.