Fiction logo

Mr peach.

He had a neck as long as a giraffe some of the hair brain stories he would imagine.It’s a story of a fat, little peach, Peach the Jack Russell who was as round as a bun in a bakers basket. His day began as it always did, with a good breakfast, first his own, then everyone else’s.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Hi my name is Peach I’m a bit of a catch. I work in this disused dairy , amongst the cobwebs and the clutter, I help finish the milk left out for the cats. In the stables., where the horses munch softly on fodder I saw Miss Molly and Mr Ma sit amongst the fodder and discuss the worldly matters, not for my earns as I’m the peachy Jack Russel that just runs about the Diary and natters.

In the farm where the ducks are fed, I snafflef the corn from beneath their beaks, they couldn’t do much about it but waddle and quack, I didn’t care because my belly was full. I would trot off to the kitchen garden where I would stop in the sun and snap at the flies - till the glint of a flint eye and the gleam of a scaly skin scaling beneath the scarlet berries drew their attention. It was slow- worm . I yaped at it , pawed at it , growled and snarled at it, but the slow - worm slipped quietly by means away into the raspberry gardens. Bother I thought, I loved a chased and tore around to the other side, even hopeful, even ready for further confrontation.!

A rabbit close by, sprucing up his long ears he hears the racket peaches was making but felt himself well concealed amongst the green rhubarb leaves and thought to leave peaches to disagreewith the world and whoever else he sets himself upon, the thing is in my opinion and I’m just a peacoc, but he just needs loving on.

when peaches hadn’t managed to annoy the slow-worm, he returned to the buisness with the flies, backing away from the raspberry cane, I snapped this way and snapped that way, taking no notice of anyone at all, when all of a sudden I backed through the parsle, backed through the rhubarb and straight back into rabbit. it’s impossible to say who was more surprised, but a chase began.I ran and ran until they reached a spot where the soil rose up in a sandy bank riddled with holes, into one of which the rabbit disappeared. I tried to follow but it came to a sudden halt, where the walls of the tunnel closed in tightl. Then it occurred to me that there could be places where a fleet- footed- sleek sided little rabbit might b, but a little Chubby peach such as myself might not. But it was too late I was already stuck, stuck fast-trapped by my own good breakfast, thinking about it I was ready for lun, lots of it I had built such an appetite up all this chasing around.

“Excuse me !” Said a tiny voice from behind , might a beetle be able to pass?”

Im stuck though give me a shove right up the back end and push, so beetle pushed for all he was worth , I scrabbled with my front I scrabble and searched with my left I just couldn’t budge at all.

”If a person could be shifted he should go on a diet”, said the beetle in a mean little tone, before making off in the opposite direction.

Later a cat appeared, she sat down quietly down at the entrance to the tunn where the Bankside’s was warm and Sunny, she wriggled about and cooled herself off in the mud and leaves,

“erm exuse me I retorted to her cooling off antics, I’m stuck as you can see. do you think you could shove me further up from the tunnel?”

“How much is it worth?” She asked

well I am head cleaner of the Diary up at Mull Farm and you I will make a special guest and cream and Jam Scone for you if you do.

well that was it Peach got free and he met his best friend that day Molly Ma her name and she loved Cream and Scones and never shut up to play, always evesdroping and gossiping but I wouldn’t have her any other way I guess friends come in all shapes and sizes.

DEarnshaw

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.