Fiction logo

Mountain Pass Pines Asylum

Driven to insanity

By S. M. RisdonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

When I come to, all I can feel is pain radiating from the base of my skull. I reach my hand back and inspect it. Touching a knot of hair and dried blood, my eyes flutter as a new wave of anguish spreads through my head and down my spine.

A groan passes my lips. I curl into a ball on my side before pushing myself up from the cool tiled floor so I’m sitting. The only light is coming from the hallway through a barred opening in the door a few feet away from me. Only a bare cot lies in the room.

Panic washes over me.

“No, no, no, no, no…” I whisper under my breath.

I stand and rush over to the door, looking out to confirm my suspicions.

“This can’t be happening,” I say, pulling at the bars.

There isn’t much to see from my position. A white hallway stretches out to both my left and right, with only a blank wall directly in front of me.

“Help me!” I yell, pounding on the door.

Within moments, a man appears in front of me, startling me. I back away a few steps, almost tripping over myself.

“Holy shit,” I gasp.

The man is in late 40s, gray hair and wrinkles all along his forehead and eyes. He’s wearing a dark gray suit underneath a lab coat, but that’s all I can see. Since he is standing so close to the door, even his eyes are shrouded in shadow.

“Ms. Blossom,” the stranger acknowledges, nodding slightly.

“Who the hell are you?”

“I’m Dr. Donald Rock,” he says, completely calm. “I run this facility.”

“Facility?” I ask. “I’m in Mountain Pass Pines Asylum, aren’t I?

“That is correct.”

“Then you can get me the hell out of here,” I yell, stepping up to the door.

“Oh, no,” he says, shaking his head. “I’m afraid that’s impossible.”

“I’m not crazy,” I insist, pounding a fist on the door.

“I’m well aware of that, Ms. Blossom,” he admits. “That is not why you are here. In fact, you know that’s not why anyone is here. Don’t you?”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about,” I lie, taking a step back.

“You thought that you could infiltrate my facility without my knowledge?” he asks, pausing for affect. He isn’t waiting for a response. “With the ethically questionable research and experiments that happen within these walls, I’m acutely aware of anyone who breaches the perimeter. Especially those attempting to be sneaky.”

Rock stares at me. Fear trickles down my back like sweat, rendering me immobile. Yes, I figured out the horrors the ‘patients’ here have to endure. Most are admitted under the guise of mental health assistance, and they are tortured like animals.

From lobotomies performed with ice picks to electroshock therapy on perfectly healthy individuals, no one within the Asylum is safe. Those are just the tactics I know about happening behind these walls. Not much escapes the fences surrounding the building. I have a bad feeling that those only scratch the surface of what goes on here.

What can that mean for me since I broke into the facility?

“We have your locket, Ms. Blossom,” he continues.

“No,” I breath.

“The heart-shaped one?” he hints. “I figured that someone you loved was here and that’s why you decided to show up unannounced. Younger than I expected. I’m assuming he gave the locket to you before he was admitted.”

Again, I can’t form words. I want to scream for him to let me go, and to not harm anyone else but nothing comes out of my mouth.

“I took the liberty of opening the necklace,” he continues. “Once admitted, all items within your possession are inspected. I wondered how you knew about my experiments until I found the letter hidden inside. From your lover, it seems.”

Tears flow down my cheeks. He’s right. The letter is from my boyfriend, and it details a few of the things he’s been put through during his stay here. That’s why I’m here and why I had to get him out.

However, my attempt at a rescue failed and now I’m stuck here with him. I don’t even know if I’ll ever see the light of day again, let alone his face.

“That’s okay, Ms. Blossom,” Dr. Rock chuckles. “You don’t have to say anything. You and your friend will receive excellent care while you’re here.”

The doctor turns and walks casually back down the hallway, laughing. I back up until I hit a wall, my body trembling. Slowly, I lower myself to the floor with my thoughts stuck in an endless loop of what I’m about to endure.

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

S. M. Risdon

A mom with a love for writing. I hope to be able to have my books published and see them in bookstores around the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.