Fiction logo

Mother's Little Barn Owl

The night belongs to you and your friends.

By K.J.GeorgePublished 2 years ago 13 min read
2

Friends. Who needs friends? You don't see owls flying around with friends at night. So why do I need friends? Why do I need a reason to enjoy the silence of night by myself…?

My name is Fae Elway. Daughter of Supreme Mages Dale and Adora Elway. Younger sister of Dean Elway. By day I am a freshman water mage at Altheria School for the Elite. By night I am a water sorcerer exploring life under the moon. My dad says that me enjoying the night and being alone is a problem. My mom thinks embracing the night is perfectly fine. My dad says that a beautiful, and talented young woman like me should be out having fun with my ‘friends’. I don’t have any real friends. He says, “With the power you hold you can make lots of friends. You should use those powers and try to leave an impression like your brother.” My mom knows that because I have such a power is why I don’t have friends, and my father is to blind to see it. While I’m out in the barn-like shed outback practicing my own spells, my brother is out at every school event. I prefer my peace and sanity. He prefers...well the opposite of that.

As you can see, my mom is much like me. Which is why she doesn’t pressure me to do anything I don’t want to do and supports everything I do want to do. My dad is willing to argue what he thinks I should do at any time of the day. And my brother is my biggest supporter, and an even more of a people person than my dad.

See I come from a family where our magick power is of a caliber so high that we can best even our King. Both my mom and dad have surpassed expectations with the power they hold and elements they were born with. My dad fire, and my mother water. However, they both can use all 4 elements. Fire, water, earth, and air. With that comes lots of power and attention. Attention that I’d rather not be at the center of, and my mom doesn’t care for herself. My dad and brother on the other hand love it.

My eldest brother took after my dad. The element he was born with was fire. Myself, my mother. Blessed with the power of our water Goddess Raiel. The moment we entered the Academy for the Elite, all of the girls immediately became very fond of my brother. All the guys wanted to be his friend. My brother is very outgoing, and dare I say good-looking. That runs in the family though. I on the other hand am very quiet and to myself. There’s no denying my beauty, however that’s not enough to get people to acknowledge me around here, not that I care anyway.

“See you later sis! Have a good day!”, was the last thing my brother said to me before walking away with a new set of groupies. He was followed around by all the girls and guys from that day forward.

My brother, unlike my father, was genuine and kind. He may get his good looks from our dad, and how straightforward his is came from him too. However, my brother is sensitive like our mom. So even though he is very loud and proud with the power he was blessed with, he still takes care of me always, and those around him as well.

For that reason alone and within that same day I realized that my school experience was going to be very, very different from my brothers. And I was correct.

When time came for my class skill exams everyone was already talking about the new mage who can control three elements and he’s only in his second year. I had no doubt it was my brother, but I also knew that when it was time for me to show what I could do, I was in for a heap of trouble.

“Fae Elway please step forward. Please, show us what you are capable of at 50% power. This is just a test to give us an idea of what you are capable of.”

“Elway? Is she the sister of Dean Elway? The new second year who can control 3 elements.”

“They look alike but she isn’t as appealing as him though, is she?”

“I doubt she can pull off what her brother can, look at her.”

“She hasn’t said a word to anyone since she stepped in here. Who does she think she is?

Despite all of the side comments and whispering about me, once it was my turn I did exactly as told. Unlike my brother, I am able to control all 4 elements just like our parents. They like to say I’m the ‘chosen one’. The next mage to rival the King. I have no interest whatsoever, but my power is undeniable. With that being said I knew that the whispering was only just getting started. I’m proud of what I could do though. All the practice in the barn has paid off well.

“Ms. Fae if that was 50%, I’m thrilled to see what you can do at 100%. The results from the written portion were phenomenal as well. With scores like these, you are now at the top of your class!”

I had no doubt in my mind that it was possible, and neither did my family. My brother was more excited about the thought than I was. What I also had no doubt about was the fact that the whispering was now going to get worse.

“Is that why she was so quiet? She thinks she’s better than us?”

“How can she outdo her elder brother?”

“There’s no way that was 50% she cheated!”

“They said she aced the written exams too. She definitely cheated.”

I didn’t come here thinking I was going to make friends. I knew once word got out everything was going to make a drastic turn.

“Hey sis,” shouted my brother running towards me, “I heard the news! I knew you were going to make the top of your class. I’m proud of you!”

“Thanks Dean. I heard about you before our class exams even started. Congratulations on being at the top of your class as well!”

“Well, I am pretty cool and smart, and let's not forget good-looking too.” Believe it or not he did say all of that with a huge smile.

“I don’t know what you being good-looking has to do with you acing your exams, cool either, but since it was only a half day for tests and rankings I’m going to head home for the day.”

“Want me to walk you home?”

“Nah. Besides, your groupies behind you are waiting.” Behind him there was a small group of 3 girls and 2 guys waiting for him.

“Those aren’t groupies, they are my friends.” Tch, friends. More like suck-ups to me.

“Well sis I’ll see you when I get home, and we can catch up, okay?”

“Sure!”

I didn't go straight home. I actually stopped by the market on the way home, and then went straight to the barn. Once I got there much to my surprise mom was there.

“Hey mom, what's up?”

“Hello darling, how was your day?”

“Dull, as expected. I am at the top of my class though and so is Dean.”

“Congratulations honey. I had no doubt in my mind that both you and your brother were going to do great!”

My mom was an even bigger supporter of me than my brother, and she is my best friend. She is the most patient and understanding without a doubt. Dean was too, but he is way too out there for me. Mom is calm and gentle.

“What are you doing out here mom? Strange to see you out here these days.”

“I know I miss coming out here with you and your brother. And since your father is out working these next few days, I thought I’d spend the first night out here with my favorite little barn-owls.”

My mom had this barn-like structure built for her to work in peace away from my father and all his chaotic energy. She’d bring myself and my brother out here when the days were quiet and peaceful and teach us water spells. I caught on faster than my brother due to the fact that I am a water mage myself. Nevertheless, it was fun! By nightfall, mom would make us dinner and then we’d spend the night out here. Ever since I fell in love with this place. And the nickname she gave us was especially inspired by me.

My brother and I would hang out and play with water spells until nightfall as children, and then fall asleep out here. However, during the night I’d awaken to covers and pillows and mom sleeping next to us. There would also be a barn-owl resting above our heads until it was time for it to go hunting. I decided one night to make that owl my friend and he’d sit on my shoulder for a while, while I walked under the stars and then it’d leave and go hunting. Or do whatever owls do. Little did I know my mom was always watching me. From those days forward, she’d call us her ‘little barn-owls’ and I loved it.

Eventually, I started sleeping out there on purpose. My mom was fine with it. My dad hassled me for a while but eventually he gave up. That place was my second home. I never felt like I needed friends while I was there because I was always able to have fun and express myself while I was there. No one to hassle me. No noise to distract me. Just me, the barn-owl, and the night sky.

~~~

At some point after my brother returned home from his adventure with his new friends, we caught up with mom on our day. Not much longer after, we decided to turn in for the night. However, as if like clockwork, I awoke sometime around midnight, but I realized neither mom nor the barn-owl were present. I went outside to see if they were there, but no one was in sight. Then I heard the most beautiful melody being sung… It was in the distance but close enough to hear. I decided to follow the sound and I’m glad I did.

Deeper into the forest and into a small clearing was my mom dancing with the water and singing the absolute most beautiful song I've ever heard. But not only that, the barn-owl was at her side. Chiming in with its soft “whooo”, and dancing around the water with her. They were in the middle of the clearing, next to a small waterfall with the moon beaming down on them.

“I was hoping you’d find me my dear. You are the only one around who can hear the song of the water Goddess.”

“Mom, what do you mean?” I was confused but so intrigued by the sight before me. My mom turned around, eyes glowing blue, and the barn-owl perched on top of her head.

“That song is the song of our water Goddess Raiel. Only those with extremely special water talent and the water element can hear that song. Since I could not sleep, I’ve decided to play around with our bird friend here. I also figured you wouldn’t be asleep long, so I want to see if your power is truly as strong as we assume.”

I was still too stunned by the scene before me. Something out of a fairytale.

“Mom, how come the barn-owl sits so comfortably on your head?”

“Well, my darling owls are known to be very good friends with water spirits. He hasn’t been around for fun. This owl is a part of our family. He’s been by my side since I gave birth to you.”

Every day I learned something new about my mom and myself as well. But strangely enough, all of it makes sense to me.

“Do you know why I call you my little barn-owl?”

“Well because we always spent time in the barn, right? And I’m always up at night…?”

“Partly but not quite. The day you were born this little barn-owl appeared. When I came home, I brought you to the barn house and there he was sitting there in the dark corner of the room. When I called out to it, it perched itself right on top of my head, but dropped a feather on yours. It was the day for the first time in 100 years that an owl had chosen its master. You hold a power that rivals not only the king but the moon as well and that’s why it chose you.”

I was too stunned to speak at this point, so I just kept listening.

“From that day forward, you became my little barn-owl. And it became more fitting the older you got. As we watched you grow up, we realized you were always up more during the night. Staring at the moon hours into the night. Even while I was working out in the barn you would find your way past your father and to me after nightfall.”

I couldn’t help but blush at the fact, but it does explain a lot. I’ve always been mesmerized by the moon, and I have a journal full of sketches of the barn-owl because of how beautiful it is.

“It’s not a coincidence that you love the moon, or the dark so much. At night is when our powers are the strongest. The moon is our power source. You, my love, are naturally drawn to it. It’s why I’m always on your side and not your father's when it comes to protecting your beliefs. Him and your brother alike are powered by the roaring sun because they are fire elements. You, my love, are like me. Powered by the silent moon. You think you don’t have any friends but all of your friends are right in front of you. The moon, the sky, the stars in the sky, and the barn-owl too. Water is everywhere, and night always returns. Those are your friends. Once you accept and cherish every night and even day with them, is when you’ll know your friends have been with you all along.”

I never thought about having friends very often. I always had my mom and brother. And when my dad wasn’t being all “happy, happy” and “put yourself out there!” all the time, I had him as well. My family was all I ever needed. I didn’t want those kids at school who judged me off of simple exam to be my friend anyway. But as I got older, I started to realize that friends I had as a child started pulling away from me as I got older as well. I didn’t think much of it. Everyone outgrows people at some point. That’s a fact. But I never thought of the world around me as my friend. Not the stars in the sky or the air I breathe.

“Mom… will you always be my friend?”

I felt childish to be asking. She’s my mother for goodness' sake. However, she truly is my best friend. In 3 years when I turn 18, I’ll have to leave her side and experience the world for myself. To leave my best friend's side is unspeakable, but it's bound to happen.

“Honey I’m always going to be your mother and friend. And you’ll always be my little barn-owl to the very end.”

Friends. You are never truly alone. There’s always a friend somewhere. Sometimes you just need to flip that stone. In the bright of day, and in the dark of night a friend is never too far out of sight.

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

K.J.George

✨ An overactive mind put into words

✨ Favorite coping mechanism

✨ Fiction Fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.