Fiction logo

Morning Theft

Microfiction

By Beth SarahPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
25
Morning Theft
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

The impatient June sun has been breaking through the curtains earlier each morning. 5:10. My heart wrenches with a suffocating, syrupy ache as I am drawn into the conscious realization of my new reality.

I have woken up alone for the first time. The endless warmth of his skin beside me palpably absent. His strong arms and sleepy, tender kisses and soft, affectionate smiles replaced with a field of cold space in our enormous bed. My enormous bed. It will take a while to adjust the semantics.

Why did I say those things? How could I not understand the wounds I was inflicting?

The wine. It was the wine that made me speak so.

I jump at the sound of a noise downstairs; heckles raise like a startled animal. High alert.

Should I go down there? Can I hold him? Can I say all of the things I need to say? Or perhaps he just needs space?

While these questions circle I hear the distinct click of the front door closing firmly; the beep-beep of the car. The swell of an engine that settles then shifts then moves away. Disappears.

And he gets away with my heart in broad daylight.

Microfiction
25

About the Creator

Beth Sarah

We've been scribbled in the margins of a story that is patently absurd

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    Beautifully written, heartbreaking and immersive!

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    Beautifully captures the heart-wrenching aftermath of a breakup and the painful realization of waking up alone💕

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Oooof what a heartbreaker of an ending! 😩. Really nicely done!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Brilliant work! Congratulations! 🎉

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Truth comes out with wine. Interesting take on a heist!

  • Lena Folkert11 months ago

    Oh boy. YEP! This hit me in the feels. Congrats on this well deserved TS! Subscribed ;)

  • This was beautifully written so well done

  • Alyssa Nicole11 months ago

    Wonderful! There is such strong emotion in so few words. Great job!

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Things that get said without thinking of the heartbreak ❤️ Felt the emotion in this one. Well done and congratulations on Top story ❤️

  • Gina B.11 months ago

    Really felt this one. A unique take on the micro heist challenge.

  • Ah, Beth, those fears & regrets over things said & done which, no matter how authentic or true they might have been, we know they should never have been used as weapons but only with greatest care with grace, love & forgiveness.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.