Fiction logo

Monsters Aren't Real

Microfiction Challenge

By Kevin McMechanPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2

There’s a noise under the bed. Ignore it. It’s all in my head.

There’s a noise in the closet. Ignore it. There’s nothing there.

There’s a noise at the bedroom door. Knocking? Maybe it’s my brother.

I should check. What if it’s an emergency?

I pull aside my blankets and swing my feet out of the bed, planting them firmly on the floor.

The knocking stops. Maybe it was never there. It’s all in my head.

I try to remind myself of that as something grabs both of my ankles and pulls me into the darkness under my bed.

Horror
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Julia Sinton12 months ago

    oof! goosebumps

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.