Fiction logo

MONEY

Can money really buy happiness

By ayesha emanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
MONEY

Disclaimer * the story I narrated here is fictional . I wanted to show the love of money on our hearts . I know that in these modern times money meant the most important thing to us but there should be a responsibility of fulfilling our relationships too along with desire for wealth . There would be some mistakes so kindly ignore them * In the New York city ,where everyone was rushing for their work early morning, in order to accomplish the goal of success ,in order to make their futures brighten ,in order to smash or hit. For me smashing a hit was numbers of dollars that were in my account .I used to measure the success of a person by the thickness of their wallets. I was blinded by allure of wealth .It was a part of my personality now to cherish money over love,empathy and relationships . I used to spend my family time in burning the candle at both ends{ to exhaust yourself by overwork} for possession. In this busy world I believed that money talks .I counted my chickens before they hatched { looking over of something again and again to get it quickly } dreaming of a world with endless richness. This ideology was strongly imprinted on my mind but how this happened that now I don't even care about a single dollar.

On that Saturday's morning ,the sky was shaken by wind, as bombs fell, a film of black smoke covered the clear sky. The world was blasted and shattered. My initial thought in such circumstances was the departure of my family from this world due to explosions. The revival of world war 3 spread all over the world. I was living in a different city from my family's home and it was at distance of 2 hours I drove myself to my family's place and the buildings were falling a part. My heart was pounding over the thought if my family would have survived the bombastic attacks. I found myself robbing Peter to Pay Paul { solving a problem while creating another} when I planned out to go in the rumbled building in order to see my family. People were rushing out of buildings in order to save their lives. I saw my family members among injured people .My help for my family was like a drop in the bucket{ small contribution that isn't enough}. The world was torn apart in a blink of an eye and I couldn't do anything .The war had claimed my family before I could shield them from the merciless grip of war. Tears blurred my vision as grief consumed me. The resources I had amassed proved worthless. The burden of failure weighed heavily on my shoulders, a constant reminder of my inability to shield those I held dear. My fate had a cruel way of shattering illusions as world war 3 erupted. The world I knew was torn apart and my desire for wealth shattered .The wealth that once defined me meant nothing to me now. I realised that wealth lays not in material but in love and connection. Now I'm sitting in my room all alone , surrounded by cupboards loaded with thousand of dollars which couldn't help me getting my family back to me . The wealth I used to cherished now symbolised futility of material possessions. I had believed as I sat alone in my room surrounded by extravagant possessions, that money can't buy true happiness. It is a fact that you can only care for a thing or someone when it's no more and I realised the importance of relations . For me , money was but just a priority........

Fan Fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • mehar meharabout a year ago

    That's really an appreciative way to taught that what money actually impacts on our life ..... Impressive 👍

AEWritten by ayesha eman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.