Fiction logo

Mom's Voice

A first attempt at microfiction

By Celeste BurtPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
2
Mom's Voice
Photo by Victor Lu on Unsplash

The thirty minutes before school started were chaotic. Dad had already left for the morning. Mom negotiated with the twins over cereal. Bryce and Kailey fought over who had to feed the cat. I was trying to pack lunches.

The phone rang.

“Hello?”

"Hi, Anita? It's Jane. Just calling to remind you that you volunteered to visit Edith in the hospital today.”

"It's actually Chelsea, but I'll pass the message on to Mom.”

"Wow, you two sound almost identical over the phone!”

“We get that a lot. See you at church Mrs. Sutherland.”

We were all putting on shoes at the back door. As I rose from helping to tie laces, Mom placed her hand on my shoulder.

“Thanks for all your help in the mornings Girly-Goo.”

I forced a smile, “No worries.”

Mom opened her mouth to say something, but instead turned away and began herding my siblings out the door.

I quietly unlocked the door and slipped into the house. I'd forgotten homework that was due today, and this gave me reason enough to skip physics class.

“Mom?” I called out. No answer. I grabbed the essay off the table and turned to go. The phone rang. I hesitated at the entryway, but went back to pick it up.

“Hello?”

“Hey sexy, is now a good time to come by?”

My mouth went dry. “What?”

“Don't play shy sweetheart, I've been thinking about your body all week.”

I slammed the receiver down and stepped back, breathing heavily. Mom walked in.

“Chelsea? What are you doing home?”

I opened my mouth to say something, but instead pushed past her, running as fast as I could.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Celeste Burt

A tired mom trying to get back to herself through writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kevin Beckstead11 days ago

    Saucy and surprising!

  • D. J. Reddall12 days ago

    A miniature scandal! Wonderful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.