Fiction logo

Missing

Look where you least expect

By Matt BoothPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3
Missing
Photo by Nick Page on Unsplash

Two months ago I lost a sock.

Disconcerting

Searching

Laundry basket

Draws

Cupboards

Hedges

The walk between the washing line and house

Anywhere wind could possibly have taken my sock

I searched and kept on searching.

The missing sock was very perplexing.

I spent my days contemplating options of where the sock could be.

It wasn’t in any of the places I thought it might be.

It must be in a place I thought it wasn’t.

Still no joy

Today I decided to put away the sheets that have been sat, folded on a chair for the last two months…

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Matt Booth

Mountain climber....

Nature lover....

Landscape photographer.....

The words flow through me not from me....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    This is fantastic! And found the sock! Great execution with this, even with one cold foot. ❤️

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff11 months ago

    I forgot to comment on this but you completely summed up my Mum’s day last weekend. I showed this story to her and now she’s showing it to all her friends because she loves it so much. Awesome entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.