Fiction logo

Mirrored Realms

Explorations into the Mystical and Beyond

By AdanPublished about a year ago • 12 min read
4
Mirrored Realms
Photo by Peter Herrmann on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stepped closer to the glass and peered into it, wondering if my eyes were playing tricks on me. But no, it was true. The girl staring back at me was not me at all, but someone else entirely.

She was young and beautiful, with shiny black hair that cascaded down her back in waves. Her eyes were dark and mysterious, with a hint of sadness lurking within them. And as I watched her, she reached out a hand and beckoned to me, as if inviting me into her world.

I hesitated for a moment, but something in her gaze drew me in. Without thinking, I reached out and touched the glass, and suddenly I was plunged into a strange and terrifying reality.

The room around me was different now, twisted and distorted like a funhouse mirror. The furniture was covered in cobwebs and dust, and the walls were stained with what looked like blood. And there, standing in the center of the room, was the girl from the mirror, looking just as beautiful and just as sad as before.

"Welcome," she said, her voice echoing through the empty space. "I've been waiting for you."

I tried to speak, but my throat was dry and my words came out as a croak. She smiled sympathetically and approached me, her hand outstretched.

"Don't be afraid," she said. "I won't hurt you. But you must listen to me. There are things in this world that you cannot imagine, things that lurk in the shadows and prey upon the unwary. And you, my dear, are in grave danger."

I looked around me, feeling a sense of unease. I had never been in a place like this before, and I had no idea how to get out.

"What do you mean?" I asked her, my voice trembling.

"The mirror," she said. "It is a doorway, a portal to another realm. And once you have entered, there is no going back."

I tried to remember how I had gotten here, but my mind was hazy and confused. All I knew was that I had touched the mirror, and now I was trapped in this nightmarish world.

The girl took my hand and led me through the twisted, winding corridors of the room, showing me sights that made my blood run cold. There were creatures lurking in the shadows, things with glowing eyes and razor-sharp claws. There were whispers in the air, voices that spoke of unspeakable horrors and ancient terrors.

And through it all, the girl guided me, her hand warm and reassuring in mine.

"We must find the way out," she said. "Before it's too late."

But as we walked, I realized with a growing sense of horror that the world we were in was bleeding into my own. I could feel a cold chill in the air, a sense of dread that was slowly seeping into my bones.

And when we finally emerged from the twisting corridors, I found myself back in my own room, staring at the haunted mirror once more.

The girl was gone, but I could still feel her presence, her sadness lingering in the air. And I knew that I would never be the same again, that something inside me had been forever changed by the horrors I had witnessed.

As I gazed into the mirror, I saw my own reflection once more. But now, I knew that there was more to the world than met the eye, that there were things lurking just beneath the surface, waiting to be unleashed.

And as I reached out to touch the glass once more, I felt a sense of anticipation, of excitement and fear all rolled into one.

I reached out to touch the glass once more, feeling a sense of anticipation, of excitement and fear all rolled into one. I knew that the mirror was no longer just a reflection of myself, but a gateway to a world beyond my wildest imagination.

Days passed, and I found myself drawn back to the mirror again and again. Each time I entered the alternate reality, the girl was there waiting for me, guiding me through the twisted corridors and showing me the dark secrets of her world.

But each time, I could feel the line between our worlds growing thinner, the barriers between reality and nightmare slowly breaking down. And I knew that it was only a matter of time before something terrible happened.

One night, as I gazed into the mirror, I saw the girl's reflection shimmer and fade. For a moment, I panicked, wondering if I had lost her forever. But then, I felt a cold, clammy hand on my shoulder, and I turned to see her standing behind me.

"You must leave this place," she said, her voice urgent. "The boundary between our worlds is breaking down, and if you don't leave soon, you will be trapped here forever."

I hesitated, looking back at the mirror, wondering if I could really leave this strange, terrifying world behind. But then, I felt a cold breeze on my skin, and I knew that time was running out.

I turned back to the girl, and she took my hand, leading me through the winding corridors once more. But this time, the creatures in the shadows were more aggressive, their eyes glowing with hunger and malice.

We ran, our footsteps echoing through the twisting passages, until finally, we reached a door. The girl pushed it open, revealing a blinding white light beyond.

"Go," she said, pushing me through the door. "Don't look back."

I stumbled forward, blinded by the light, until finally, I emerged into my own room once more. Gasping for breath, I turned back to the door, but it had disappeared, replaced by a solid wall.

For a moment, I stood there, unsure of what to do. But then, I heard a sound behind me, a faint whisper on the air.

I turned, and there she was, the girl from the mirror, standing in the corner of my room.

"I can't leave," she said, her voice barely above a whisper. "I'm trapped here, in your world."

I approached her slowly, unsure of what to do. She looked just as beautiful as before, but now there was a sadness in her eyes that cut me to the core.

"I'll help you," I said, taking her hand. "I won't leave you here alone."

We spent the next few days together, trying to find a way to break the barrier between our worlds and set her free. But each attempt ended in failure, and I could see the hopelessness in her eyes growing with each passing hour.

Finally, one night, I had an idea. I approached the mirror, placing my hand on the glass once more.

"Take my hand," I said to the girl. "Together, we can break the barrier."

She hesitated for a moment, but then, she reached out and took my hand, and together, we stepped into the mirror once more.

The world beyond was even more twisted and distorted than before, but we pressed on, our hands clasped tightly together. And then, just as we were about to give up hope, we saw a faint light on the horizon, growing brighter with each passing second.

We ran towards it, our hearts pounding with excitement and fear. And then as I stared at my reflection, I couldn't shake the feeling that the girl from the alternate reality was still with me. Her presence lingered like a ghostly aura, and I found myself wondering what she had meant about the mirror being a portal to another world.

I knew that I couldn't ignore what I had experienced, that I had to find out more about this mysterious alternate reality. But at the same time, I was terrified of what I might find.

Days turned into weeks, and I became obsessed with the haunted mirror. I spent hours staring at my reflection, trying to will the girl back into my world. But no matter how hard I tried, nothing happened.

I began to lose hope, to feel as if I had lost the chance to explore this other world forever. But then, one night, something strange happened.

As I lay in bed, tossing and turning, I heard a whisper in my ear, a voice that was faint and distant, but unmistakably the girl's.

"Come find me," she said. "I'm waiting for you."

I sat up, heart pounding in my chest. Was I dreaming, or was this really happening? Without thinking, I got out of bed and walked towards the mirror, reaching out to touch the glass.

And then, I was back in the alternate reality, standing once more in the twisted and distorted room. The girl was there, just as before, looking even more beautiful and even more sad than before.

"I knew you would come back," she said, a hint of a smile playing on her lips.

I looked around me, trying to take in my surroundings. The room was just as twisted and distorted as before, but now there were strange symbols etched into the walls, and the air was thick with the scent of incense.

"What is this place?" I asked her, my voice barely above a whisper.

"It's a place of power," she said. "A place where the boundaries between worlds are thin. And now that you are here, we can explore it together."

She took my hand once more and led me through the twisting corridors, showing me sights that made my blood run cold. But this time, there was something different about the world. It was as if the girl had summoned it into being, as if her will alone was shaping the reality around us.

And as we walked, I began to realize that I had a power of my own, a power that was growing stronger with every step. It was as if the girl had awakened something within me, something that had been dormant for years.

We walked for what seemed like hours, exploring this strange and twisted world. There were creatures lurking in the shadows, things with glowing eyes and razor-sharp claws, but they didn't scare me as much as they had before. I felt a sense of power and confidence growing within me, as if I could face anything and come out on top.

And then, we came to a door. It was an old-fashioned wooden door, with iron hinges and a brass doorknob. The girl pushed it open, revealing a room beyond.

Inside, there was a single figure, sitting on a throne at the far end of the room. He was dressed in a robe of deep crimson, with a hood that obscured his face.

The girl led me towards him, her hand still warm in mine. And as we drew closer, I began to feel a sense of dread in the pit of my stomach.

"Who are you?" I asked him, my voice shaking.

He chuckled, a deep and rumbling sound that echoed through the room.

"I am the keeper of the mirror," he said. "The one who holds the power to open and close the portals between worlds. And I have been waiting for you I realized that I was alone in my room once again, and for the first time in weeks, I felt a sense of relief wash over me. The mirror still hung on the wall, but now it was just a simple, ordinary object, reflecting only my own image.

As I sat down on my bed, I couldn't help but wonder if it had all been a dream, a strange and terrifying hallucination brought on by my own imagination.

But then, I remembered the girl, her sad eyes and the way she had guided me through the twisted corridors of her world. And I knew that it had been all too real.

Days turned into weeks, and the memory of the mirror and the girl slowly began to fade. But every time I walked past the mirror, I felt a strange sense of unease, as if something was watching me from beyond the glass.

And then, one day, I saw her again. The girl was standing in the reflection, her eyes full of fear and desperation.

"Please," she whispered, her voice barely audible. "You have to help me. The door is open, and the darkness is coming through."

I hesitated for a moment, unsure of what to do. But then, I knew that I couldn't just leave her there, trapped in a world of nightmares.

Reaching out, I touched the glass once more, feeling the familiar sense of anticipation and fear. And as I stepped through the portal once more, I knew that I was embarking on a journey that would change me forever...what to do next. But then, I heard the girl's voice in my head, urging me to move on and to never forget what I had seen.

And so, I did. I went on with my life, but I could never quite shake off the feeling of unease that lingered within me. I knew that the world was not as simple as it seemed, that there were things out there that could never be explained by science or reason.

Years passed, and I grew older, but I never forgot about the girl in the mirror. In my heart, I knew that I would always be connected to her in some way, that the brief time we had spent together had changed me forever.

And as I grew older still, and my own reflection became lined with wrinkles and age, I would often find myself gazing into the mirror, wondering what had become of the girl and the world beyond.

But no matter how hard I looked, no matter how long I stared, I could never see beyond the glass. The girl was gone, and with her, the portal to the other world.

And yet, somehow, I knew that she was still out there, waiting for me in some other realm, watching over me and guiding me from afar.

And so, I smiled to myself, knowing that I was not alone. And with that, I turned away from the mirror, ready to face whatever the future might hold.

Short StoryHorrorFantasyAdventure
4

About the Creator

Adan

Exploring the frontiers of art in the 21st century 🎭

Find my socials: Linktr.ee

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great, really intense. Well done.

  • This was such a creepy adventure! Loved it so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.