Fiction logo

Miracles

are stronger than evil

By Tina D'AngeloPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Miracles
Photo by Douglas Bagg on Unsplash

Many years ago, I lived with an abusive man, who outweighed me by 150 pounds. One frigid night in February, he had me by the neck and was slamming my head into the living room wall. I knew he was about to kill me. As I was losing consciousness, a dove landed on our balcony railing. My abuser stopped and marveled, thinking he could lure the bird inside. That dove gave me just enough time to escape the apartment.

I ran five miles to a friend's house, wearing keds, shorts, and a sweater, while my abuser chased me in his car. Diving into snowdrifts or hiding behind ice-covered shrubbery, I never felt the cold that night, as I concentrated on evading him. My friend wasn't home when I arrived, leaving me to sit miserably on her front porch, freezing; hoping I wouldn't be found. After about an hour, a police car pulled up.

I thought he was there to arrest me for trespassing. Instead, he invited me into his house, which was next door. His wife brought me warm clothes and prayed with me over a cup of hot tea, while her husband called his precinct to have someone come out and take my statement. They situated me safely in a hotel for the night, never asking for repayment or even leaving me with their names.

Sometimes our worst times present us with miracles we can't explain, and with people whose kindness we will remember all our lives.

thrillerMicrofictionCONTENT WARNINGAdventure
5

About the Creator

Tina D'Angelo

G-Is for String is now available in Ebook, paperback and audiobook by Audible!

https://a.co/d/iRG3xQi

G-Is for String: Oh, Canada! and Save One Bullet are also available on Amazon in Ebook and Paperback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 months ago

    You have strength in you and I hope you realize this. Importunely many do not take that step. Well written and a good read.

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    You have certainly had an eventful life, Tina. I'm sure some parts you would have rather not experienced.

  • This is based on your life experiences, right? I remember reading this in one of your pieces!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.