Fiction logo

Mindless; Chapter 12

Friends

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

I refuse to say anything else to Doctor Airaway when she asks about the Doctor and why I was counting.

For the following three days, until I am deemed stable enough to leave the infirmary, when I speak with her, if she brings up either, I stop speaking. It's not that I don't want to talk about it. I'm just not ready to. Not until I've had plenty of time to think it over. I want to sit alone in silence without the buzz of the infirmary and think it through.

As soon as I'm back in my room I search for paper and a pen or a pencil. When I can't find either I ask Cynthia. She brings me both, asking why I want them. I merely tell her it's to help me think.

I then wait until she leaves before I reopen the vision in my mind. I go over it second by second. Making a note of everything on the paper.

1. feet can't reach floor- must be young- how young?

2. deep steady breaths, count the seconds- Doctor's instructions

3. row of empty chairs- can't remember number- caused panic- why?

4. memory of pain, right hand shook- Dr. Stan to evaluate- possible twitch? was it fixed?

5. the Doctor- same one present when I woke up

6. Von Wen companion- when did he become a doctor?

7. was subject 45- what does that mean?

8. best subject- most successful later

I stare at the list I've made, willing my mind to come up with something else. My mind reveals nothing more, and no matter how many times I replay the vision, no other visions or memories are triggered.

"Hey," I hear a voice from behind me.

I look over at the door to find Ace standing there. His hands are behind his back. "What?" I ask as I turn back to my list. Opening a drawer in the desk, I place the paper and pen inside it and slide it shut.

"I heard they released you from the infirmary."

"And you care because?"

"I tried to visit you in the infirmary, but Doctor Airaway refused to let anyone come in. She said you needed rest."

I groan. "If I have to listen to someone tell me that one more time, I'll scream. That's literally all that the other infirmary staff would say to me." I turn to face Ace. "So don't even think of trying to tell me I need rest."

"I wasn't planning on it. I actually came bearing gifts." With that, he brings his hands out from behind his back. He holds a polished wooden square with mini-squares of alternating black and white. In the other hand, he holds a metal case.

I raise an eyebrow. I see nothing of value to either object. "A piece of wood and a metal box?" The darkness muses their potential as weapons. Sometimes, I think it's actually going to leave me alone, but then it goes and tells me how to weaponize random objects. "You have an odd definition of the word 'gift.'"

Ace rolls his eyes, and walks over to the table, setting both objects down. He opens the metal box and pulls out a white piece, shaped like a horse's head, a red circle, and a circle that's black on one side and white on the other. "Think of the board as a sort of three-in-one deal. The box has the pieces."

Intrigued, I walk over and look into the box. It has been divided into three sections. The first holds black and white pieces of different shapes and sizes. The second holds more circles like the black and white one in his hand. The third's pieces are just like the second's only instead of black and white, the circles are solid black or red.

"Chess, Othello, and checkers," Ace states. "They're all games that use strategy within a set of rules instead of rules and sheer luck."

I look up at Ace. "Why are you doing this?"

He shrugs. "You seem like you need a friend. . . And the only other person my age here that will talk to me without all the formalities and nonsense and kissing up in hopes of getting into my father's good graces is Eren, but I think you've already figured out that we don't really like each other."

"I don't like you," I quip.

"You don't even know me. You have to get to know someone before you can make that call, but if you don't want any company, I'll leave." He begins to shut the box.

"No."

Ace looks at me.

"Teach me how to play."

xXxXx

We're on our fifth game of chess. Cynthia brought us food so this time, we were also eating while we played. I've taken most of his pieces, and likewise, he has many of mine.

"Check," I say, placing my queen three spaces in front of his king.

Ace studies the board for a minute then sighs. "Mate. You're really good at this. Are you sure you've never played before?"

"If I have, I don't remember."

"Beginner's luck. Just like with Othello and checkers. That or you are just really good at strategy."

"I like the sound of the second one better."

Ace laughs. I smile.

The door opens and both Ace and I look over.

Eren looks between the two of us for a second. "What are you two doing?"

"I'm eating," I state.

"I'm getting demolished," Ace says. "Eren, you're good at chess, aren't you?"

"Relatively. Why?" He asks.

"You play her then. The only game I won was the teaching round."

Eren walks over to the table. "So, you can play chess, but you can't figure out uno?"

"Apparently strategy is my strength, not luck," I state, as he sits down in the last open chair by the table.

Once the board is set, we begin the game. Ace randomly gives advice to both of us on which pieces to move, mostly he gives Eren tips though. Halfway through the game, it becomes more of me versus Eren and Ace, though their teamwork is more of Eren telling Ace to shut up and Ace insisting he's right.

I reach out to move a piece for my move when I freeze and look at the two boys. "Why don't you two like each other? You said you used to be friends."

The two boys fall silent. Ace is the first to speak. "We had a falling out of sorts a few years back."

"In short: we got into a fight," Eren says.

"Over something to do with the politics that were happening at the time. I saw things one way; he saw them another."

"And you two never got over that?" I ask.

"Well," Eren begins, "We kept getting into fights."

"Over some pretty stupid stuff at times," Ace adds.

"At some point we just let it drop and never talked to each other unless we had to."

"What was the first fight over?" I ask.

Eren shakes his head and shrugs. Ace says, "I honestly don't remember."

"Then can you two try to get along? I actually like being with you guys. Both of you," I say.

They both sit silently for a few seconds before Eren finally breaks the silence. "Sure. Ace isn't too bad to be around when he's not picking fights."

Ace rolls his eyes. "I suppose. After all, there are worse people to have to put up with."

"Honestly," I say looking between them, "You're both insufferable."

Ace feigns indignity, and Eren actually gives me a look.

I begin laughing, but I'm interrupted by a yawn.

"You need to get so-" Eren stops when I give him a murderous look.

"Do not finish that sentence," I warn him. "But I am going to go to bed. I am feeling a bit tired."

Once the boys have said their goodnights and left, I curl up under the covers of my bed. The darkness rushes into my slowing mind as if welcoming me back. I try to shove it away, but it hovers over my consciousness. With the darkness casting a shadow over my mind, I drift off into sleep.

SeriesMysteryAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.