Fiction logo

Midnight Blood Lust

An assassins' target pulls her back into her past. A place she has been running from for years.

By Sierra LynnPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

The moon hung low on the cobble-stone streets of the cross. The sounds of drunken angry men rang in through the tight knit streets. Candle lights above taverns flickered out as the end of the night came closer.

Her cloak followed directly behind her heels as she dogged the drunken sailors hobbling through the alley ways. Some of them gurgling out the most vile, sinful, and vulgar words that could pop into their minds. When ever one would stumble too close to her, her hand immediately jumped to the concealed dagger on her thigh. Only to realize the intoxicated heathen wasn't worth the spill of blood. Not only that, it was work hours. There was no time to fight with a blubbering idiot, knowing there was a high dollar target out wandering the streets.

The clock tower in the distance chimed midnight. The sound of the bell causing some of the wandering bar patrons to jump violently. A simple smirk played on her lips. The chime of midnight knew the target was out roaming. Mostly what she knew of him was that he crawled out of his home at midnight in fear of the price on his head. He had made some mistakes in life, who hadn't in this crumbling disaster of a town. People on these cobble stone streets were getting desperate for the smallest amount of money they could grab. He knew that, it's how he got into the predicament. She knew this as well, it's why she was hunting in the streets.

The more time leaped forward, the hush of the cross became more and more apparent. One of the only sounds left for her to hear was the sound of her own boots in the dirt under her feet. Whenever her feet stopped their movements she listened. Listened for anything that could lead her in the direction of her target. All she heard were the occasional barks from the roaming street dogs, or the possible sputtering of a homeless man in an alleyway.

She released a huff of frustration. Her confidant explained to her that he would be out tonight. The confidant had explained that her target would be on the move, the confidant had been watching him for months, making sure he wouldn't try to leave the cross. Mainly because if he did, she would lose that price tag that hung above his head.

Her hood dropped off her head as she moved her head around at every minor sound that rang in her ears. Finally she heard it. The sound of heavy footsteps running along the cobble stone.

No man would be running at this hour, unless they were running from something.

He was smart to be running, because that something was much closer than he thought.

She whipped her head as quickly as she could to the sound of the heavy footsteps. Spotting a quick glimpse of something running down an alley way behind her. She turned on her heels, moving into a fast paced stride. The foot steps in front of her did not slow down in the slightest. Little did he know, the chase was one of her favorite parts of her job.

She threw her hood back over her head when she was close enough to the man who she had been after. Coming to a stop she spoke,

"Sir.." She let out a throaty cough, "Sir, please I beg of your help, I am desperate."

She smirked when his foot steps ceased. Her eyes were hooded by her cloak but she was able to see his boots in the dirt, still. There was a silence in the air. A deafening silence that rang in both their ears. Both of them waited for the silent war to end, neither of them wanting to speak.

"What do you need my lady, I am in quite the hurry, I must return home as soon as possible." He spoke.

She let out a silent sigh knowing she had him in her lock.

Taking a few steps forward she coughed out just a few words, "Please, Sir, I am hurt. My leg, I fell, and now struggle to walk.' She let out a fake sob 'I am terrified of being alone this late. Please, I am desperate."

She listened for the sound of his footsteps approaching her. Hoping what she said had reeled him in. It had worked time and time before. Most men falling for the innocence she portrayed. It typically lured them right into her web of lies.

Shockingly, he revolted ever so slightly.

"My lady, why would you be asking me for help, do you not fear me in the slightest. You know nothing of me, nothing of ill intentions. I am sure you will be fine, truthfully, I must get home."

She was taken a back. Most if her targets never revolted. She should have known one of the highest priced targets would have half a mind to fall for the oldest trick in the book.

Her hands flew to her thigh as she whined in fake pain. Hopping slightly closer to the man stood in front of her. More of his legs came into view under the cover of her hood.

"Sir please, I trust you enough to stop you in the streets. I am desperate, and in treacherous amounts of pain. I live close by here, I just need some help walking home. I'm sure my father will be wondering why I have not returned home.' She let out another fake sob. 'He can feed you if you're hungry, pay you something small, just for your help. Please."

There was a heavy sigh across from her. She knew had him in her grasp.

"Reveal your face to me, then I shall help you. We've established I have no ill will, but we are yet to establish you have any ill will." His words were smooth. It had made sense how he climbed his was into all the trouble that had gotten him here.

She knew he had a point to his words. Limping a few more steps closer to him. They now stood only a few inches apart. Standing up a bit taller she removed her hood. Dropping it to her back. Her eyes trialed up the body of the man standing before her. He looked familiar. Yet she was unable to place why he looked so familiar.

She had been told descriptions of him, of course she had. She needed those descriptions to find him. Yet, she had never seen him before. Once her eyes made it to his, she held his gaze. Trying to recollect where she may have seen his hazy green gaze before.

"You seem to have no ill intention I see." He voiced quietly.

She was yanked from her trance the second the words fell from his lips. The cogs in her mind still turning as she tried to place the pieces of her past together. Trying desperately to figure out where they had met before. Of course once the frustration of not figuring out his placement in her past, she reminded herself of the price tag on his head.

Her hand slipped behind her back, reaching for the dagger she encased on her back.

"No, sir. Of course not, I just asked for some desperately needed help, that is all, I promise you." She whispered, while holding the dagger at her side.

She leaned forward grumbling in pain, asking for help. As she leaned his hands went for her shoulders to prevent her from falling forward on him.

In one solid breath she bent her elbow, and pushed the dagger forward towards his stomach.

A hand on her wrist stopped her.

Her eyes flicked up, catching his intense gaze.

"I have been looking for you for a while you know." He breathed.

Confusion covered her face. She was at a loss for words. Every thing she had planned for, every scenario she went through in her head, this was not one of them.

"It's been ten years, yet here we are again. You with a dagger at my stomach, and me holding you back. I'm sure after you ran off you wouldn't expect to see me again." He said. His words were stern, they held her every thought.

Suddenly it struck her. Who he was, why he was so familiar, why his voice rang so heavily in her ears.

He was the reason she was running. He was the reason she gained a lust for blood. This man was the reason she became the bounty hunter she was.

"You truly thought you could run, didn't you my dear. Leave your family, leave your country, leave our marriage. I hope you enjoyed your run my love, because it is over. You are coming home. The easy way, or the hard way." His words stung her. Made her throat go dry.

"H-how did you find me Mathias? How?" She uttered in complete shock. Choking back as many of her sobs as she could.

"Who do you think put the price on my head? Who do you think fed your confidant? Darling, I taught you everything you know. It was naïve of you to think you could disappear forever, Princess Amelia."

"Mathias, please. I ran for a reason. I was not made to be placed in a castle, I was not made to be that woman. Please, let me go." Tears now heavily streaming down her face.

"You know I can't do that Amelia. You must come home. You are coming with me the easy way, or the hard way." His grip on her wrist became stronger.

"That is not my home Mathias! You know this. I told you all of this. Please! I refuse to go back there, back to that hell. It was the absolute bane of my existence."

"Amelia, I have direct orders from your father. Those orders are to bring you home at any cost." The grip on her wrist loosened.

Amelia shook herself from his grip. Grasping the small hilt of her dagger until her knuckles went white. She caught Mathias' gaze again. His eyes had softened. There was an actual hint of empathy behind them. He felt for her, he truly did. The life of a monarch was a scary one. It was tense, sometimes horrific. Yet, Mathias was not one to refuse orders from the king.

She chocked on a sob trying to escape from her throat.

"Mathias, I loved you. I truly did, but I had to go. My father was over-bearing, my mother was trying. The life of a palace dweller was not one I was meant to live. You should know this better than anyone."

Mathias trailed a thumb across her cheek, wiping away the tears that were streaming down her face.

"We could continue to run Mathias. As far as possible. They will never find us again." She whispered.

He shook his head, tucking his finger under her chin.

"You know that can't happen my dear. I'm so sorry, but your father is not one to stop when he does not get his way." He spoke. His words were quite, well spoken.

Amelia took in a sharp breath. "You're correct Mathias, I know you are. You know I loathe my father, but we do have one thing in common. I never stop either."

In one swift motion, the dagger in her right hand was thrust into Mathias' side. He groaned in pain. His knees bending towards the ground. She pulled the dagger from his side, thrusting it in again more towards his back.

"You taught me a lot Mathias, but I have learned more in the past ten years than I ever learned in that palace built on lies. I am sorry my love, but I will never return to that life." She pulled her dagger out of his side. Wiping the blood off on his shirt.

She dropped down to one knee. Watching Mathias sputter drops of crimson blood from his lips. His eyes bore into her. Keeping her gaze while he breathed his final breaths.

"I-I am,' He coughed up more blood 'I'm proud of you my love. Keep running. B-be free."

She grasped his hand. Placing a kiss on his knuckles. The grip on his hand growing tighter with each breath she released.

"You be free too my love, you are free now too." She whispered.

A tiny smile landed itself on Mathias' lips as he breathed his final breath. Allowing death to take him.

Amelia let out a heavy sigh. Placing his hand over his heart. She placed a kiss on his forehead. Bushing his hair from his eyes, she took two fingers and closed his eye lids.

"We're both free now. Like we always wanted to be." She whispered into the night.

Amelia stood on both her feet. Placing her dagger back into its sheath. Her slightly shaking hands placed her hood back up on her head. She landed one final look at the man she once loved, and the final glace at the life she once lived.

At the sound of approaching foot steps, she ran.

Young Adult
1

About the Creator

Sierra Lynn

Aspiring historian. Fiction enthusiast. Lover of mystery.

Writer of macabre, fantasy realms, and historical ideals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.