Fiction logo

Micro heist: Macro Treasure

Love defeats a stolen heart

By Lenita LeiPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Micro heist: Macro Treasure
Photo by Will Turner on Unsplash

Suddenly an echoing whoomph activated the snowbanks before extending an arm of solid white powder. It cascaded against the rugged, sharp-edged brown cliff. Limited space to stand, the cold poked its way into every fiber like tiny needles and daggers jolting my core. Layer upon layer crushing deeper into the packed snow. My ice pick barely holding, stones began to roll. A thunderous crack of earth gave way, as I plummeted into the deep, dark depths.

Really, it was nothing compared to the heartache from many moons passed. I loved you, but it was too much, or I am too much. My heart stopped, crushed by the weight of your sigh, your rejected shoulder, your cold exit. I’m compelled to never let it happen again. To build a wall so strong, so unshakable, even unbreakable. But I can’t. I just can’t!

Everything I’ve ever known grows from the tiny seed of love. The weight of this snow may very well crush me. Who knows what lies within this cavern? You may have stolen my heart, but I am enough, keeping the wall down to simply be, simply love the life surrounding me. For I am greater than my discomfort.

MicrofictionLoveFableAdventure
2

About the Creator

Lenita Lei

Life is intense, as is suspense!

Tune in as words come to life through your imagination.

Fiction and Non-Fiction: Just let me write!

Australian-Finnish <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    Very compelling imagery and sensations you’ve captured! A really great story!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.