Fiction logo

Mewsic

(This is exceedingly silly and I'm not sorry.)

By Rebekah ConardPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
1
Mewsic
Photo by Erika Löwe on Unsplash

Is this thing recording? Testing, one, two... Okay. Let's do this. Breathe in, and...

Hey, my quadrupeds! The name's DJ Mittenz, Lil' Mittz for short. Though, I guess that's not that much shorter. Wait, shit. I write lyrics for Frisky's sake. I speak Human, I swear.

Hey, my quadrupeds! The name's Lil' Mittz, and I'm busting onto the scene with some sick beats. Don't adjust your screen! What you're seeing is for real: I am a cat. Eighteen months old and the fiercest feline online. I got the stripes, and I got the pipes. At 1 AM I am wired and inspired. Here's what's up:

I was born on the streets, but like the lucky cat I am, a real cool human fell head-over-heels for me. Is it because she tripped over me? Maybe, but I guess it didn't hurt when she fell from heaven. She took me home on the first date and I've been living in the lap of luxury ever since.

That's when I discovered this thing called music. My human's got a sound system that's straight fire, and she's got a passion for EDM. That's "electronic dance music" for the normies out there. My girl hops around the apartment day and night to fat club beats, dubstep, and a lot of weird nightcore hypertrance stuff with lots of "wubs" (and lots of words I don't understand, but hey, Human isn't my first language). And that's one of the things I love about her: she knows she's got eclectic taste (read: bad taste) and she will NOT apologize. (Except for when a beat drops out of the blue and I jump a foot in the air before getting the zoomies. She apologizes for that.)

Any-mew, my first EP debuts tonight and I've got a special surprise cued up for my lady. See, she doesn't know I can speak Human. (Shh, it's a big secret!) I wrote a special song just for her, and she's gonna hear it first. Stay tuned for updates!

Wait, one more time... Stay tuna'd for updates! Peace!

---

Michelle turned her key in the apartment door. The subtle turn of the knob harmonized with her deep sigh. After a long day at the office, she was ready to banish all of the sounds except her noise of choice. She kicked off shoes, tossed a purse, and stopped by the cat tree to greet Mr. Mittens. Michelle squished his little cheeks and kissed his soft forehead and let the baby-talk flow.

"How's my little man? How's Mr. Mittens? Did you have a good kitty-day? Get lots of cat-stuff done? Making that cat-bank to pay your cat-rent?"

He purred.

Michelle woke her computer from sleep mode as she wandered around the apartment, performing her morning routine in reverse. Another pass, she slammed the Play button on her keyboard and continued walking. Time for tunes.

A song began with a sound like: P-p-pew pew pew pew. Michelle didn't recognize the music that followed, but it made her smile all the same. She wandered past the cat tree again and grabbed Mr. Mittens' paws for a quick dance. And then the lyrics kicked in.

The vocals definitely sounded squeaky like nightcore, but something about it didn't sound artificially pitched or sped up.

Thump thump beat

Her feet barely touch the floor

Thump thump beat

The way she sways makes my heart soar

The air spins as the world spins as she spins as I spin

The bass purrs as the room purrs as my heart purrs time and space unfurl

Michelle danced backward to the computer to check the screen. She thought she'd left Spotify open, but her browser had pulled up an album on Bandcamp. "Lil' Mittz"? Never heard of them, but the more she thought about it, the more she could get behind their sound. It was generally in line with her tastes, if unpolished. The lyrics had probably come from a teenager's notebook, but hey, everyone starts somewhere. She clicked the "Follow" button. Lil' Mittz had heart, and she liked that.

Mr. Mittens brushed up against her leg and Michelle scooped him up for a dance. "Check this out, little man. This could almost be you."

And everywhere she dances there's flowers

And the air will sparkle for hours

And everywhere she dances there's sunshine

And everywhere around her is a shrine

Lil' Mittz had gained his first follower, and the most important fan of his young career. He vibrated with pride.

---

Special thanks to my friend, Zath, for the song lyrics!

By Artem Bryzgalov on Unsplash

HumorShort Story
1

About the Creator

Rebekah Conard

31, She/Her, a big bi nerd

How do I write a bio that doesn't look like a dating profile? Anyway, my cat is my daughter, I crochet and cross stitch, and I can't ride a bike. Come take a peek in my brain-space, please and thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    This is so cute 😻

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.