Fiction logo

Mesmerizing (Measuring Magic Tricks)

excerpt from a work in progress

By Rob AngeliPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
8

MESMERIZING Animal Magnetism makes

All submit to the great Magnetizer; even though they appear to be asleep, his voice, a sudden look, a signal launched with the flick of the wrist, pulls them out of it. We cannot help but acknowledge the magnetic presence of a great power which moves and controls patients, never placebo, always

electric—and which resides in the MAGNETIZER

PLACEBO of invisible fluids, to subject to mesmerism, also hypnotize, spellbind [lacking taste, color, or scent]

Whether hypnotist, magician, or psychiatric practitioner--

A MAGNETIC CHARM OR APPEAL residing

in the practice of therapeutic hypnosis IT [the placebo effect] of a Birthday Party Magician, Magnetizer, charms the day with its

Abracadabra

More micro-fiction:

SatireMicrofictionHumor
8

About the Creator

Rob Angeli

sunt lacrimae rerum et mentem mortalia tangunt

There are tears of things, and mortal objects touch the mind.

-Virgil Aeneid I.462

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • E.Amalia9 months ago

    All the comments are full of what I wanted to say. I really REALLY enjoyed this. I’m currently stretching my micro faction/ flash fiction wings and this is inspiring me!

  • Whoaaaa, I totally agree with Katherine and Mackenzie! This was so mesmerising and I felt like I was put under a spell! You executed this so brilliantly!

  • This explains so much--linking magic with hypnotists & therapists &... I'm not sure what else, but I'm sure they are there.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Wow -- outstanding! It feels like a magic spell, this microfiction, and I'm all here for it. Your mind strikes me as being on quite a different level, my friend. The words you used here are perfect and, as Katherine said, mesmerizing. Now I am contemplating the use of placebos and hypnosis, whether they are simply pathways into self-healing, or lies that ought to be dismantled. I've never liked magicians (never can trust them); hypnosis freaks me out.

  • Katherine D. Graham11 months ago

    the grammatical construction of the poem actually does the mesmerizing... keep up the amazing work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.