Fiction logo

Mermaid Riding Motorcycle

Anything can happen in the Land of the Absurd

By Lana V LynxPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 6 min read
9
DALL-E digital art

For the Word Hunt challenge, I picked the words MOTORCYCLE, MERMAID, and SOLSTICE from the prompt. I have decided to continue developing my small universe of the Absurd crossed over with the Russian fairy tales that I started in the Remove That Hex story. You should be able to understand this story without reading the first one, but I highly recommend doing it for full context. Please keep in mind that this is a prequel to the events in the first story.

***

Have you ever seen a mermaid ride a motorcycle? – Neither did I. Until yesterday, that is.

You will, of course, reasonably object that this is all BS, a stupid joke because no one can ride a motorcycle with one limb, pardon me one tail, as the motorcycle requires the balance of two equally weighted legs. And I would have fully agreed with you. Again, only before yesterday, when I saw it with my own eyes. But let me tell you everything from the beginning.

Last night, I was making a late pizza delivery run on my super-fast electric bike. Coming out of a high-rise building with a large tip in my pocket and a happy smile on my face, I saw a tall handsome young guy in what seemed like a Russian or some other Eastern European princely garb standing on the sidewalk. He was animatedly arguing with an old woman. She looked like she was battered by life itself, hunchbacked and limping, dressed in gray rags and sporting unkempt gray hair and a patch on her eye.

“You cannot do this to me anymore, lady Yaga!” the man looked both desperate and exasperated. “Why don’t you just leave me alone? Aren’t you tired of your own shenanigans, chasing after me like this, and chasing away the women I fall in love with?”

“If only you said you loved me and agreed to marry me, this all would be over!” The old woman’s face was red with rage.

I froze. The chutzpah on that ugly old woman, demanding love from a dreamy guy like that! I would have laughed out loud had I not been completely dumbfounded.

“But I DON’T love you. Never did, never will!” the man tried to suppress his visible frustration.

“Well, then we will have to continue with these shenanigans, won’t we?” the old woman said. “Because you know there’s no other way, until you meet someone who will truly love you.”

“You’ve made sure that never happens,” the man said, deflated. He plopped on the curb, took his head in his hands and pleaded, swaying back and forth, “What do I have to do? I can’t go on like this! Five hundred years, isn’t that enough?” he raised his pleading eyes at her. I thought I saw tears in his eyes.

“Just say you love me and mean it, and it all will be over in a second,” the woman said again, but more gently, tenderly striking his head.

“I said I will never!” the man sobbed.

“Well, then I have no other way…” the woman pulled out of her rags a twig (or a magic wand?) and started to quickly chant something sounding like a spell.

The man’s legs started to turn into a tail. I loudly gasped. Startled, the woman finally saw me, abruptly stopped chanting, picked up her long rags of a dress, and started to run.

“Stop!” the man yelled, trying to grab her by her foot. She escaped. He looked around, registered me and smiled politely as if saying “See what I have to deal with?” He then flipped and wormed his tail to the motorcycle parked nearby. In a matter of seconds, he lost all his clothing, mounted the motorbike, started it, and took off, quickly flipping his tail from one side of the bike to the other trying to keep the balance. He gave chase to the woman, who seemingly had no chance against the bike, with her limp and advanced old age.

“Was this supposed to be a fish?” he boomed off the motorbike.

“A mermaid!” the woman turned around her head without turning her body and gave out a sinister chuckle.

“Whyyyy??? It’s not even an animal!” the man yelled.

“I try to be creative!” the woman giggled, turned her head straight and added a little speed.

Coming out of my stupor, I jumped on my electric bike and followed them. How could I not? Curiosity in me was stronger than fear. I caught up with the man relatively quickly (my great electric bike needed no time to gain 40m/h) and started riding along. The man registered my presence with his peripheral vision, still fixing his gaze on the woman trotting along the sidewalk. She in fact moved faster than it seemed. So absurd, I thought, as the chase went on for several minutes.

The man didn't seem to mind me, focused on the chase of the veering old woman. He even smiled, threw a look at me and said, “Can you believe it, she gave me boobs?”

“They look nice, though, firm and round,” I replied, admiring both boobs and him, completely fascinated by how quickly he flipped his tail side to side to keep riding.

“You think so?” the man looked down, touched his chest and said, “You are right, and they feel nice too.”

Meanwhile, the woman reached some dense brush and disappeared behind it from my line of vision. Instead of her, an old shabby limping cat ran out on the other side.

“Not this again!” the man-mermaid yelled and throttled his bike. The cat was faster than the old woman, but still not as fast as our bikes. The man finally caught up with the cat. In a desperate attempt to grab her, he threw himself off the bike and over another large dense bush coming up in the cat’s path. Like a beautiful, boobed dolphin jumping high out of the ocean, I made a mental note to myself.

I heard thumping, grunting and commotion behind the bush but couldn’t see what was going on there. I got to the man’s bike, lying on its side abandoned and still running. I dismounted mine, killed the motorbike’s engine and parked it near the curb. After a short whimper and a slurping thump behind the bush, it finally became quiet in the street. It was dark and foggy, with sparse dim yellow streetlights grabbing round patches of ground from the night’s pitch black. I went around the bush and saw the cat running away in the other direction. The mermaid man was nowhere to be found. But there was a big hedgehog sitting on the ground. I swear to you it winked at me before it hastily retreated into the bush.

I looked at my iWatch. It was 12:55 am on December 22, the night of the winter solstice, when the vail between the natural and supernatural becomes so thin that anything can happen.

And that, my friends, is the true story of a mermaid riding a motorcycle.

SeriesHumorFantasy
9

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Bri Craig8 months ago

    I audibly laughed at "Like a beautiful, boobed dolphin." This was so whimsical, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it!

  • TheSpinstress11 months ago

    Wow, this is (good-)crazy fast-paced. I was practically out of breath at the end! I love what you've done with these words; a mermaid on a motorbike would never have occurred to me in a million years!

  • You are very creative and This Story is Excellent ❤️‍🔥📝❗

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    This is a good one haha

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Fantasy meets fairy tale. What an imagination you have, so many interesting characters on a pizza run.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.