Fiction logo

MEN AND HELL

Broken Heart

By Ruth Peter IkechukwuPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1

As a young lady, I had always believed that hard work and goodness would lead me to the right man. But time and again, I found myself tangled in relationships with the wrong kind of men. It seemed like I was cursed with a knack for attracting the ones who would break my heart. Despite my best efforts, disappointment became a constant companion on my journey to find love.

I was a diligent and hardworking woman, always striving to achieve my dreams. I had a good job, a supportive family, and a circle of friends who cheered me on. Yet, when it came to matters of the heart, I felt lost. I wondered why fate seemed determined to play this cruel game with me.

The first man who caught my eye was Tony. His charming smile and smooth wore seemed like the perfect fit. But beneath the surface, he was a wolf in sheep's clothing. He was selfish and cared more about his own desires than about my well-being. I soon realized that he was not the partner I had hoped for.

Then there was Emeka, a man who promised the world but could never deliver. He was filled with empty promises and broken dreams. Each time I put my faith in him, I found myself disappointed yet again. It was as if I was trapped in a never-ending cycle of heartbreak.

After a series of failed relationships, I reached a breaking point. I realized that I needed to focus on myself and my own personal growth. It was time to shift my priorities and invest in becoming the best version of myself. I made a promise to leave men behind and channel all my energy into developing my career, nurturing my passions, and building strong friendships.

I began to surround myself with positive influences. I sought out mentors who could guide me on my journey. Their wisdom and encouragement fueled my determination. Through their guidance, I discovered a newfound sense of purpose and confidence.

I immersed myself in my work, pouring my heart and soul into every project. I pursued further education, attending workshops and conferences to enhance my skills. I joined women empowerment groups, where I found solace and strength in the company of like-minded individuals.

As I focused on self-development, I noticed a change within me. I became more self-assured and content with my own company. I no longer yearned for the validation of a man's love to feel complete. Instead, I reveled in the joy of my accomplishments and the satisfaction of becoming the person I had always aspired to be.

In time, word spread of my dedication and determination. I caught the attention of influential people in my field. Opportunities began to knock on my door, and I welcomed them with open arms. I was on a path to success it was exhilarating.

With each milestone I achieved, my confidence grew. I realized that I was more than capable of creating my own happiness and fulfillment. I no longer needed to rely on someone else to define my worth.

Years passed, and my decision to focus on myself paid off in ways I could never have imagined. I had built a successful and had become a role model for other young women aspiring to greatness. The lessons I had learned from my failed relationships had shaped me into a resilient and empowered individual.

Looking back, I realized that the wrong men I had encoded were blessings in disguise. They had shown me the importance of self-love and the power that lies within each of us to shape our own destinies.

So, here I stand today, a young Nigerian lady who had once been entangled in a web of wrong relationships. But now, I am free. Free to chase my dreams, free to embrace my individuality, and free to be the woman I was always meant to become.

And anytime I hear the word "men", I also hear the word "hell". So if you ask me men or hell? Maybe I will choose the latter because exactly what I saw with the former but I still believe in love.

Short StoryYoung AdultLove
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.