Fiction logo

Memories In White.

A Story About Grief

By Carol TownendPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Memories In White.
Photo by S&B Vonlanthen on Unsplash

I stood alone in this beautiful white-covered field for hours, texting you, but still,

I get no reply.

It was only yesterday we spoke to each other for the first time in thirty years. We lost contact. I had to move away to a safe place.

I stand here, shivering, franticly texting you with tears in my eyes. It isn't in your nature not to text me back.

The snow fell again; my face felt cold as the snowflakes bit my cheeks. The tears that fall make the snow feel colder.

A snow-mist develops over the horizon. My saddened thoughts only make it look thicker than it is.

"Where are you, Kate?" I scream, my voice echoing loudly across the lonely white field, which I perceive as some forgotten graveyard, though there isn't one in sight.

I sit amid the cold snow in the field. I feel too numb to feel the teeth of icy snow biting into my body.

The day fades into night, though it appears darker than usual. The snow gleams and sparkles yet offer no reassurance that everything will be fine.

My phone rings. It is your sister.

"Hello?" I answer.

Your sister sounds broken, like the icicles falling off the tree in the distance.

Her voice cracks like the branches heavily covered in snow.

"Kate died this morning,"

The beautiful, soft white sheet covering the ground no longer appealed to me as it did before.

I fall into the depths of the snow and cry.

PsychologicalShort StoryMicrofictionLove
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Omgggg this was so devastating! Imagine talking to someone after 30 years and them dying the very next day 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

  • Brenton F3 months ago

    Babs said it! What a piercingly sad and beautiful story. Well done!!!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Heartwrenching!!! Beautifully written!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.