Fiction logo

Meeting over Mimosas

A Detective LeeAnn mystery

By Robbie NaglePublished about a year ago 7 min read

They say that the monsters only come out on dark dreary nights, but the worst seemed to be found inside a cheerful brunch café, serving bottomless Mimosas and Bloody Marys. At least that is how Detective LeeAnn Carter found the truth to be. She had been following a lead on a known murderer for months through the worst bars and the world of the underground with no luck. Then, as fate would have it, she found him out in broad daylight at her and her friend’s favorite café. A normal person would have been caught flustered by catching the very person she had been chasing down by chance, but LeeAnn was no normal person.

LeeAnn was a detective at the top of her class. An expert in psychoanalysis and disguise. She had put away so many criminals in such a short time. It seemed that every case that came across her desk simply became solved. No one at the department is even sure how she does it. She just has a knack for solving mysteries.

“You should go talk to him,” said LeeAnn’s friend Abi.

LeeAnn shakily responded, “Wha- What do you mean? Who are you talking about?”

“Well, that man you were just staring at. Oh, the Great LeeAnn. Solver of mysteries. Married to her job. All so easily falls away because of some handsome man at a bar.”

LeeAnn took the comment calmly as she regained composer. She couldn’t let her friend know that he was the murder that she has been searching for. She did gain a fantastic idea from it though. She could go and talk to him. She could trap him somewhere and arrest him. “You know what? I will go talk to him,” LeeAnn said cooly to her friend.

As she approached the bar, the man pulled out a seat and welcomed her. “You know, I was wondering if you’d come and talk to me. I would have had to eventually if you didn’t take the initiative,” the man said with a smile and continued, “What’s your name, gorgeous?” “LeeAnn, and yours?” “Ah what a beautiful name, and you certainly take after it. A ‘shining one’ indeed. My name is Kieran. Kieran Brawn.”

Kieran Brawn. Age 35. Height between 5’11” and 6’1”. Fair skin with dark hair. Suspected for the murder of three woman. He actually gave his real name. The confidence of this man, thought LeeAnn. “Well, Kieran, I hope it isn’t too unorthodox of me to say but I would love to buy you a drink.” Just as she spoke, the bartender dropped a bill and a credit card at his seat. Kieran signed and put his card back in his wallet while saying, “A drink? I’m sorry, but I’ve already paid. Maybe next time. You tend to favor this place don’t you?”

LeeAnn simply nodded as she was trying to figure out her next move. He started to gather his belongings as he stood and said, “Plus I would hate to keep you from your friend.” “My friend?” They both looked back at Abi sitting at the table with both her thumbs up, grinning at the two of them. “Oh right, my friend,” she said sullenly. Kieran grabbed her hand and kissed it, “It was a pleasure meeting you LeeAnn. We’ll be seeing each other I’m sure.” With that he left and LeeAnn went back to her table.

“Well? What’s his name? When are you going out? Tell me everything,” Abi began to inquisite. “Hush,” LeeAnn snapped, “It is nothing like that. We just had a chat. Nothing more. Come on, Let’s get out of here.” She turned towards the waiter that was passing by, “Um, Check please?” The waiter stopped by and leaned over saying, “Oh, miss. Your bill has already been paid for by the man that was at the bar. He did leave this note for you though.” The waiter handed her the note that revealed Kieran’s phone number. “Ah. Nothing more indeed,” commented Abi.

A few days passed and LeeAnn finally decided to call the number. The phone rang a few times and a voice came from the other end, “Hello?” “Hello, is this Kieran? This is LeeAnn. I wanted to call and thank you for your generosity towards me and my friend.” “Ah! ‘Shining one’. I am so happy that you called. I was just thinking about your own generous offer. Is that drink still available?”

LeeAnn paused for a moment and then replied, “Yes, of course it is. Are you available this Friday? There’s a quiet little club down the street from that café. It’s called The Nook. Have you heard of it?” “The Nook? Yes I do believe that I’ve passed by there once or twice. Friday sounds lovely. How does eight o’clock sound?” “Eight sounds great. I’ll see you then Kieran.” “See you then, LeeAnn,” and with that the line went silent.

Friday soon arrived and LeeAnn got ready. Preparing herself for a closed case, she hid her gun and badge under her dress and confirmed with her coworkers that the trap was set. She went downstairs and got in her car, and the night then took a turn as she was knocked unconscious. When she began to wake up, all she could see was darkness and hear the sound of running water. She let out a grunt and then heard the voice of Kieran saying, “You know, I did want to at least try and have a normal date, detective.”

She realized that her hands were cuffed behind her back, probably with her own cuffs, and her legs bound to the chair as the blindfold was taken off. Looking around, she saw that she was in some sort of cabin, presumably near the river just outside of town. She let out a chuckle and said, “I don’t know. This seems like a pretty romantic spot.” “I’m glad you still have the sense to not show any fear, even in this situation. I know that you’ve been following me. Do you truly believe that you’re smarter than me?” “Oh, well only time will tell, won’t it?”

Kieran pulled out a box and started to set some tools on the table that was next to LeeAnn. A set of pliers, a scalpel, and various other knives. As he was setting them down, he grinned and said, “Will it? You see I already know everything. I gave you that ghost hunt of a lead that ended in nothing while I set up this plan. I knew where you would be and who you would be with. I knew you would put a dozen undercover agents in that bar. You aren’t the great master mind that I heard you were.”

“Well if you’re so smart, then why don’t you just end my life now? It’s only a matter of time until my officers are here anyway.” He smiled again and asked, “Why do you think that, detective?” LeeAnn smiled but then Kieran interrupted with, “you don’t actually think that you still have your tracker on you do you? I removed everything from you. Your wire, tracker, gun, badge, phone, everything. We have plenty of time together, ‘shining one.’ Let’s see how bright you truly are.”

“Is this how you handled those other girls as well?” Kieran sat down in a chair across from her and let out a sigh, then began with, “I might as well tell you detective. It would be kind of me to give you some closure before I end your life. Yes, is the short answer. I tracked down my target’s every move and then did something similar to the very situation you’re in now. We should begin though. I would like for us to take our time.” He stood up and dragged his finger across each tool, as if to choose the one he’d use first.

“1630 Roseway Lane,” blurted out LeeAnn. Kieran’s hand stopped and looked at her with an expression of shock. “That’s where we are right? I do so appreciate that look on your face. It has really made me sick listening to your prideful speech.” A loud bang came from the door, followed by footsteps coming down the hallway belonging to the officers that soon surrounded Kieran and unbound LeeAnn. The lead officer said, “You never cease to surprise me, Detective. Everything went exactly how you said.” She nodded and then continued, “I also appreciate the confession you just gave. It really makes my job a lot easier. You’re going to jail Kieran.”

Shaken, he stuttered, “Wh-What confession? I never admitted anything. You’ve been hit in the head and I was just going to help bandage you. What ever lies you say won’t hold up in court.” LeeAnn walked over to the lamp on the desk. “You know. You’re correct. It wouldn’t hold up in court.” She lifted it up and removed a round silver object and said, “but this recording of your confession surely will regardless of the state I was in.” She handed it to an officer who placed it in an evidence bag and then went outside.

As Kieran was getting read his rights and placed in cuffs, LeeAnn began to walk towards the door and smiled back, saying, “Oh, ‘little dark one’, I do still appreciate the meal you bought me and me friend. Remember, the dark will never withstand the light though. You were in well above your head.”

With that, Detective LeeAnn Carter left the cabin and the case was closed. Kieran Brawn, suspected for the murder of three women was charged on all accounts and sent to prison. Justice was finally served.

“You know, it’s kind of sad that he was murderer. How did you set that all up though? You seemed to actually be shocked that he was here that day as well,” asked Abi while they enjoyed their regular brunch. “Oh well, you know. I’m the Great LeeAnn. Solver of mysteries. Married to her job,” she said with a smile and a wink. “Oh right. I seemed to have forgotten.” They both laughed at each other as they asked for another round of Mimosas.

Short StoryMystery

About the Creator

Robbie Nagle

Hey there. Welcome to my page. I have recently started walking out the path to writing my first novel. To allow myself other creative outlets, I’ll be using this to post some poetry and short stories that may or may not be in future novels.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    They both thought they were smarter then the other., A contest, I enjoyed it

Robbie NagleWritten by Robbie Nagle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.