Fiction logo

Maya’s Smile

Eyes Full of Eternity

By Christian JohnstonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1

On the last day of summer, I watched over the lake. The breeze skipped over the pale waves, chopping them into little ripples. The sun was setting, and the orange light began to fade into a dark blue dusk. I sat alone on the lakefront taking in the warm air. After school I would always go there to get away from home a little longer. It wasn’t that a disliked being there; I just enjoyed the peace and quiet of being away from the commotion. The breeze was gently brushing against my face like a feather when suddenly I heard a voice behind me.

“Um…hello?” The voice was so soft and delicate. I quickly turned to see who it was. The one that stood before me was a girl. Her skin was smooth as silk, and her eyes lit up the brightest green. Her thick brown hair flowed down like a stream on the calmest day. She was, without a doubt, the most beautiful thing I had ever seen. I felt my face go flush and awkwardly replied “uh, hey.”

“You always come here. Every night you sit here by yourself, and stare out over the lake. How come?” She asked as if she’d known me for years.

“I just think it’s peaceful I guess,” I replied candidly, “and it helps me escape the world.”

She eased out a soft giggle and said “Well I think I can understand what you mean. Do you mind if I sit with you?”

From that day on every time I went to the lakefront she was there waiting for me. We would sit for hours and talk about our dreams, our aspirations, and the things we held dear in our hearts. One day, though, she was not there. The next day she wasn’t either. Life went on, yet I still went to that lakefront to sit. Originally I went there in order to escape reality, but after she came into my life, I began going simply to see her. Talking to her about everything just made me feel amazing. She had this charm about her that I could not escape. Despite our countless interactions, we never exchanged names.

It was a cold day in late November. The ground where I always sat was beginning to thaw from the frost. I felt so very serene. All of my stress had been building up from school, and I was starting to feel hopeless again. I missed those talks we used to have. I wondered if she knew how much those talks meant to me. She had no idea that she saved me. I laughed to myself. I was about to get up and leave that lakefront for the last time when I heard a voice behind me.

“Leaving already?” I knew that delicate voice. It was her for sure. I turned around unable to hide my smile. That night we caught up on everything from the previous weeks. We laughed, and we cried a little. Once it was time to leave there was something I had to say.

“Hey, I um..well..can you tell me your name?” I said shyly.

She eased out that soft giggle and said “Maya!”

I swallowed big and wriggled around like a little boy confessing to his crush. “So I just want to say how thankful I am to you. Even though we only meet up here and talk a little bit, you have saved me.” I began to tear up a little.

Her bright green eyes shone in the light of the moon. “You don’t know this, but you’ve saved me too, Evan. Thank you.”

She walked up to me and embraced me. My body filled with the warmth of the sun. The air filled with the sweet smell of that last day of summer. We held each other for what felt like eternity, and I wish it was for eternity. Finally we let go of each other, but our hearts seems to latch on for a few seconds longer. She wiped a tear away, and she brushed her thick hair away from her bright green eyes. For the first time I could see them up close. They were like beacons shining in a light house. The depth of happiness in her eyes knew no bounds. I could see eternity in them.

“Wait for me here tomorrow so I can say goodbye.” She said with a warm smile.

“Huh? Where are you going, Maya?” I said fumbling over my thoughts.

“I have to leave, I’m sorry,” She looked down at the ground like she was disappointed in something “but I promise I’ll see you tomorrow, and every day you come here after that.”

She kissed me on the cheek. I stood there not able to move it seemed. She turned and walked down the lakefront. I watched her until she was out of sight. I did not understand. Why did everyone in my life have to leave me? I was exasperated at the thought of Maya leaving, but I couldn’t find the strength to chase her. Then it came to me: how did she know my name?

The following day I walked up to the lakefront. I waited until it was night time. The wind chopped over the waves, turning them into little ripples. The moon was full, and the light shone off the pale waves. I looked into the water, and thought I could see eternity. It reminded me of Maya’s bright green eyes. The moon light reminded me of her amazingly warm smile. The ripples in the water reminded me of her thick brown hair trickling over in front of her eyes while she talked about her love for the world. I looked up into the sky and stared for a moment. “I love you, Maya.” I whispered under my breath. The wind picked up and seemed to whisp away the thin clouds that were occluding the stars. Then I saw it. A green light mixed into the heavens. I gazed into it for a long time. In it I saw an eternity full of true love and happiness. I felt the warmth of her embrace take hold of me, and not want to let go. I began to weep to myself. I wept for a long while, until finally my tears dried up. I felt the warm embrace finally let up.

In the news paper the next day I saw a story of a local girl. She had no family to care for her. She had passed away of terminal cancer two nights before. It was a touching story, and it was written that she died with a truly loving smile on her face. Then I read the last sentence.

“The girl who never gave in. The girl who never stopped loving, even though she may have been alone- Maya”

Every single day I go there to that lakefront. I sit down in that spot we used to go to. When the sky clears I look up and see that bright green light. I still see eternity in that light, and I will never let go of it.

Love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.