Fiction logo

Masquerade

Who is it really for?

By Lilly CooperPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
10
Masquerade
Photo by Andrea Woods on Unsplash

‘It’s NOT me. It’s you.’

Her face showed little of the turmoil within, his words cutting deeper than a blade.

‘But, I love you. And you, me. Where did we go wrong?’

His face, showing all scars and imperfections, turned from her.

‘It's the mask you wear, lies you tell, lack of respect for yourself. For what? Not for me. For the meaningless opinions of strangers. I can’t stand watching you destroy the wonderful woman I loved anymore.’

Feeling raw, she peeled away the armored mask hiding her real beauty from the world.

For true love, of Self.

MicrofictionLove
10

About the Creator

Lilly Cooper

A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.

I may be an amateur Author, but I love what I do!

Subscribe to join me on my journey!

Click the link to connect with other Australian Creators on Vocal Media Creators Australia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Yes. True love starts within. 🥰

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    This one was incredibly deep. I love your use of masks in this to illustrate it.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Very good!

  • Pauline Fountain12 months ago

    My Insights are glitching out Lilly so couldn’t add. Of course hearted ❤️ To achieve such a deeply emotive piece in Microfiction (a 1 minute read!) demonstrates not only the profound insight but your craft as a writer. I see mentioned below in a comment but I feel worth repeating. ‘For true love, of Self.’ Thank you for writing and publishing. Pauline 🌸

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Profound; something I think we can all relate to....even if just a bit ❤️ Excellent job!

  • Phil Flannery12 months ago

    I think we all hide something. Here's one of mine. https://vocal.media/fiction/bff-s-r61oi08xj

  • Oof, this was so deep and thought provoking!

  • This hit hard, great writing

  • PK Colleran12 months ago

    "For true love, of Self." Yes!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.