Fiction logo

Marriage Crisis

A Shocking Twist on a Marriage Crisis

By Sandeep Kumar Published 4 months ago 5 min read
2
Marriage Crisis
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash



It was a sunny Saturday afternoon and John was sitting in the backyard, enjoying a beer while working on his laptop. His wife Emily came outside with a serious look on her face. "We need to talk," she said sternly.

John sighed, knowing that tone meant trouble. He closed his laptop and gave Emily his full attention. "What's on your mind?" he asked.

Emily sat down across from him and took a deep breath. "I'm not happy John. I haven't been for a long time."

John's heart sank. He had a feeling this conversation was coming but was hoping to avoid it. "What do you mean?" he asked, even though he knew the answer.

"This marriage feels like a chore. We barely talk, there's no intimacy, no passion. I feel more like roommates than a married couple," Emily explained.

John nodded slowly, unable to argue with what she was saying. It was true, they had grown distant over the past couple years as they settled into routine and responsibilities took over. But he still loved her and wanted to fight for their relationship.

"I know we've been in a rut. But I'm willing to work on it, go to counseling, whatever it takes to rekindle what we had. I don't want to lose you Emily," John pleaded.

Emily sighed. "I don't know John. I'm just not sure my feelings are there anymore. I think...I think I want a divorce."

The words felt like a punch in the gut to John. Divorce was the last thing he wanted. "Please Em, don't give up on us yet. Let's at least try counseling before making any rash decisions."

After a long silence, Emily reluctantly agreed. "Okay, we can give counseling a shot. But I'm making no promises, my mind may already be made up."

Over the next few weeks, John and Emily attended marriage counseling sessions. At first, Emily seemed closed off and unwilling to engage. But as they dug deeper into the issues that drove them apart, she started opening up more.

They were able to communicate better about feelings they had bottled up for too long. John was putting in real effort too by helping more around the house, planning date nights, and showing Emily affection everyday. Slowly but surely, she began to soften.

One night after a particularly emotional counseling session, they came home and made passionate love for the first time in over a year. In that moment, John felt their connection was still there, just buried under the weight of everyday stresses. He was hopeful they had turned a corner.

A few more weeks went by with continued progress both in and out of counseling. John felt they were really working on rebuilding their marriage. But then one day, Emily dropped a bombshell.

"John, there's something I need to tell you," she said nervously as they sat down to talk.

Dread filled John's stomach as he braced for what was coming. "What is it?"

Emily took a deep breath. "A few months ago when things were really bad between us...I met someone. We started having an affair."

John felt like he'd been punched again, harder this time. His whole world came crashing down in an instant. "An affair? How could you?" was all he could manage to say through the shock and pain.

Tears welled up in Emily's eyes. "I'm so sorry, I never meant for it to happen. But you and I were distant for so long and he was there for me when you weren't. I know it's no excuse but I fell for him."

John was reeling, trying to process this devastating betrayal. All the progress they made in counseling felt meaningless now. "So what, you're leaving me for him?"

"I ended it as soon as we started working on us again. But it made me realize I have real feelings for him. I think...I think I want to be with him, John."

White hot anger surged through John's veins now. After everything they went through to save their marriage, this is how she repaid him? "So our whole relationship, our vows, they meant nothing to you? You're really going to throw us away for some fling?"

Emily started crying harder. "I'm sorry, I never meant to hurt you. But my heart wants what it wants..."

John cut her off, unable to listen to any more. "Get out."

"What?"

"I said get out! Pack your shit and leave, I don't want to see your face ever again."

Emily sobbed but didn't argue. She went upstairs and a short while later came back down with a suitcase. Without another word, she walked out the front door, slamming it behind her.

John sat in a daze, replaying the last hour over and over in disbelief. His whole life had been turned upside down in an instant. He poured himself a stiff drink with shaky hands and downed it, hoping the alcohol would numb the agony radiating through his body.

A few days passed in a blurry haze of anger, sadness and self-loathing. John called in sick to work and barely left the couch, only getting up to drink more. He knew he had to pull himself together eventually but couldn't face the outside world yet.

On the third day, there was a knock at the door. John dragged himself up to answer it, expecting a neighbor or friend coming to check on him. But when he opened the door, he got the biggest shock of his life.

Standing there was Emily, with a black eye, busted lip and limp in her step. "John...please help me," she cried weakly before collapsing into his arms.

He caught her instinctively despite his anger and confusion. "What the hell happened to you?!"

Between sobs, Emily told him the man she left him for turned out to be a monster. He was controlling and abusive, and when she tried to break it off he attacked her savagely. She had nowhere else to go.

As much as John wanted to turn her away, he couldn't bring himself to leave her injured and vulnerable. He helped her inside and cleaned her wounds, still reeling from this insane turn of events.

In that moment, all the pain and betrayal melted away. Seeing Emily hurt awakened his protective instincts, and he realized despite it all he still cared deeply for her. Maybe their relationship wasn't over after all, and with time and work they could rebuild the trust that was shattered.

The future was uncertain, but John knew one thing - he and Emily had overcome too much already to let it end here. Their marriage deserved a second chance.

Love
2

About the Creator

Sandeep Kumar

Hi, I'm Sandeep Kumar, a fiction writer from Delhi, India. I joined Vocal Media to share my stories with a wider audience and to connect with other writers and readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.