Fiction logo

MAN MADE 4

Lilith’s Nightmare

By La’Garyus BonneyPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
1

Setting the stars

Lilith and Low meditate in the middle of the stars where there is silence, momentary gleams from the nearest star. Since there is no sound in space they have been practicing telepathy, so they can communicate with each other in their minds. Right now they are going through a tutorial on first audio.

LOW

Lilith?...Lilith? I need you to focus on my voice clear any other thoughts and we can start.

The reception is foggy and becomes slightly clearer overtime.

LOW

So if you can hear me touch my right hand with your left.

LILITH

I can hear you a little bit, it’s hard to see are you still in front of me? It’s so dark in space.

LOW

Yes I’m right in front of you.

LILITH

I’m going to reach out.

Lilith moves her hand and touches Low.

LOW

Okay

Low grabs her thumb.

LILITH

My thumb.

LOW

Now let’s work on visual.

LILITH

Ready

LOW

Imagine an open setting completely white, see your self and how you look now.

Lilith appears in white void.

LILITH

I see it.

LOW

Now picture me remember my eyes and expand from there.

LILITH

Eyes, nose, hair, lips,... I see you but where are you going?

Low in her mind is moving and floating around directionless.

LOW

No I’m right here.

LILITH

Your moving around too much.

LOW

Remember that I’m right in front of you no matter where in the darkness of the universe or the void in your mind.

Lilith starts to hyperventilate.

LOW

Take a deep breath and close your eyes. My voice will always be in front of you. Now open your eyes.

Lilith sees Low standing in front of her.

LILITH

Great it’s working, these sessions get harder to log on.

LOW

Really I can shut down and look deeper into that? Or...

LILITH

No just check it out later.

LOW

alright did you want me to wipe your memory for the program and back them up or just continue to view as we do now.

LILITH

Let’s do it like this.

LOW

Cool you’ll be observing no differently then God watched us.

They begin to walk towards the right.

LILITH

It’s a different experience to be aware of the bigger picture.

LOW

Today we’ll be exploring the root of where your distrust began.

They walk in one direction where small grass appears, then trees and the leaves that fall from them. The setting begins to turn from an empty white void to a forest like location in time.

LOW

we will be going back to the first time you ever felt that betrayal, most people believe that the build up of ones suffering comes from that person making their life hard, when really... Lilith?

Low turns around and Lilith is gone.

LOW

Lilith?

Low pulls out a device with holographic projections, Low begins to contact someone on a flat digital projection.

LOW

Nuk you got a location on Lilith, wait where am I?

NUK

Can... you... read... me?

The audio and visual reception is glitching.

LOW

Yes? But the signal is bad.

Nuk starts to text Low, the words project in front of his face.

NUK

I lost contact with you when you went inside.

Low looks at his surroundings.

LOW

What... where am I? No no no.

NUK

You went into the wrong simulation.

LOW

Who’s are we in?

Nuk sends a image of an inmate he’s working on.

LOW

NOT HIM HE’S MENTAL, all right take us out.

NUK

I CANT...

LOW

We are already looking at a major lawsuit and even worse if we lose the patient. Now take us out.

NUK

I can’t because there’s no connection I can’t seem to locate you or the patient, you need to find her and get to the safe zone.

LOW

this could be the worst thing to happen. Where am I?

NUK

I think the rainforest, your patient Don was a soldier in the Congo.

LOW

Oh great instead of going back to Lilith’s past we went into Don’s. Pull up his file, I’m a little worried what the simulation will do to Lilith’s brain.

Low walks deeper into the rainforest, he begins to notice anomalies in the simulation. The sky glitches then the sun turns into a giant key chain in the shape of a pink unicorn.

LOW

Is that Lilith’s key chain?

NUK

The simulator doesn’t know which simulation to play, now Lilith’s simulation is leaking into Don’s.

LOW

Send me a map of the layout, so I can track Lilith.

Low pulls up a projection of the simulations map.

LOW

This doesn’t say Lilith is in here

NUK

The location marked is Dons camp

Low runs to the pointed location.

Setting camp

In the middle of the Congo Lilith is dressed up in a soldier’s uniform, sleeping bare on the ground and under a wool tent. All of a sudden Lilith hops up from her slumber with her Ak already ready, she walks in one direction as if she can hear someone she points her gun. It’s dark and raining, impossible for her to be able see anything. Lilith stays low and heads in the direction of the rustling bushes, the storm shakes the bushes lightly she notices the difference in the movement in a certain path coming towards her the leaves. The leaves shakes harder, she begins to notice a glow. So she charges at it thinking it’s an enemy, Low slows down and notices that the dot is coming towards him fast he looks back and the dot is coming from behind him. Low turns around and Lilith is about to hit Low in the head, but he leans back dodging the attack. Lilith doesn’t give Low the chance to speak in her mind Low looks like a rebel soldier. Lilith leg sweeps, Low and kicks him in the face forcing him to spin around while rolling on the ground. Low charges at Lilith trying to tackle her, but she flips him over and throws him against the nearest tree. Then shoots 4 warning shots near his head is. As Lilith moves closer Low crawls into a fetal position covering his head, others run to the sound of the gun.

LILITH

ne bouge pas

(Translation: Don’t move)

Low moves his thumb from in front of eye trying not too move too much, he looks up to Lilith along with other Congo soldiers. Low moves to pointing at his eyes so he closes his eyes.

BLACK SCREEN

[PUNCH SOUNDS]

Lilith is beating Low with a hand gun trying to get him to talk.

LOW

Ah! Ah! For a simulation this feels very real.

LILITH

qui t'a envoyé

[WHO SENT YOU]

LOW

NUK!

Lilith slaps him with the gun, he looks down to his left and reads the message from Nuk.

NUK

She can’t understand you... I am updating your linguistics...

Setting Lowinsky’s office

Low in reality is bleeding from the mouth.

Setting Congo camp

Low looks back up and notices that his vision is blurry the last hit his left eye. Causing a glitch reaction to occur forcing a static screen through his eyes. Lilith turns around and pulls out a syringe and shoots it directly in her biggest vain which is altered to meet the same cosmetic of Don’s. Lilith’s arm pulsates till it becomes deformed and deeply veiny . Without preparing she shoves the needle in.

LOW

Can that effect her cause even Don said he felt inebriated

NUK

We are so sued... the update is done... try to talk to her like Don... I’ll try to get you in a different simulation... Donell is too strong I can’t change the simulation...get him off guard and I’ll try to change it.

Low’s eyes start to flicker moving up and down really fast, the simulation starts to glitch around them Lilith continues into the high without noticing.

LOW

Dontell Hindal jr. J'ai connu ton père et il voulait que je te dise qu'il était désolé de ne pas pouvoir être là pour t'élever. Même en combattant pendant la guerre, il est mort pour que vous puissiez vivre et j'espère qu'au moment où vous deviendrez un homme, vous serez en mesure de porter le flambeau. Il est temps de poser votre arme et de commencer à vivre tout en vivant est possible car demain n'est pas promis tant que vous ne faites pas et que votre père vous a transmis les connaissances nécessaires pour réparer votre environnement car c'était déjà une zone de guerre avant votre arrivée ici.

[translation: Dontell Hindal jr. I new your father and he wanted me to tell you that he sorry he couldn’t be around to raise you. Even fighting in the war, he died so that you could live and hopefully by the time you became a man you would be be able to carry the torch. It’s time to put your gun down and start living while living is possible because tomorrow isn’t promised until you make and your father passed on to you the knowledge to fix your environment because it was already a war zone before you got here.]

Lilith becomes stunned and drops the syringe and blood flows through the whole, dripping from her hand to the ground.

NUK

IM IN... any requests?

LOW

hey Nuk... Play track 7.

NUK

ALREADY ON IT...

The simulation glitches around them changing the settings to a warm beach, light tropical island music with a beautiful sunset reflecting the orange and red rays onto the horizon. The simulation alters their appearance restoring their bodies to their health, while Lilith still has her uniform and Low has on An over sized pea coat and some Hawaiian swimming trunks.

LOW

Are you okay?

LILITH

Yes, I felt lightheaded a second ago

LOW

SO YOU FELT THAT?

LILITH

EVERYTHING. Especially the drugs.

LOW

WOW

LILITH

I thought it was just a simulation.

LOW

Somethings wrong a lot of this shouldn’t have been possible there’s either a malfunction or a virus. But our time is short and there are a few things I have to pass on to you.

LILITH

What do you mean we can get out of here.

Low lifts up his wrist projector showing Nuk’s last text, it says connection.

NUK

there isn’t enough power to save both and the back ups... we will lose all of your research.

LOW

All of my life’s work would be erased, my research from years ago which could help us understand the human mind.

LILITH

No...

LOW

My research is more important it could reconstruct the distribution of our hormones, there are some things people shouldn’t feel. People like you are exposed to that at a very young age and it’s all gonna end with me. An out dated idea inspiring knew ones.

LILITH

I don’t understand please think of yourself for once...

LOW

Nuk, I need you to pass on my work what you witness here was a momentous occasion.

LILITH

NO, I am not leaving here without you.

LOW

I appreciate it but you don’t have a choice.

Low begins to type on his wrist projector.

LOW

Now that I’m back online I only have a few minutes. I’m overriding the system so that you or Nuk can’t stop me. The world needs to begin the healing process.

LILITH

LOW PLEASE...

LOW

With or without me.

Lilith tries to run and stop Low, but Low is typing so fast he is able to stop her. she freezes in place and can only move her face.

LILITH

Please, I’ve seen your brilliance and your worth more to us alive.

LOW

I wish that were true there is more important things. I have to do my best to end the nightmare of that has plagued my people. Do that and we can actually start living instead of surviving. It’s the best I could come up with without murder to heal everyone from the inside and make sure they don’t pass it on and now I’m about to lose all that I sacrificed for.

The sky turns pitch black and the only thing lighting the sky is Lilith’s keychain falls from the sky and into the ocean causing a tsunami. Low doesn’t move while Lilith expresses fear until Low pauses the simulation, stopping them from being flooded. Low continues to work.

NUK

What are you doing? Why are you backing up your memories?

LOW

I appreciate working with you, make sure it goes through.

NUK

I’m not going to let you do this we need you alive.

Low and Nuk begin to have a cyber battle, they are typing at fast speeds trying to beat the other. Low comes out successful and Nuk’s screen says override and now Low has full control.

LILITH

Think about your family.

LOW

My family members aren’t together they hate each other, I been trying to find a way to fix it. But it’s easier to cut off the infection by not passing it on. but what about the infected? Goodbye and I am so sorry.

Low pushes the last button and Lilith is forced to leave the simulation alone, by being pulled away from Low. Lilith wakes up in Lows simulation office with wires on her head sitting next to Low receiving cpr from Nuk who is crying while trying to bring him back. Sad music plays as Nuk’s relentless act to save his colleague, scene zooms out of view into the computer lab where the research is 98.7 percent finished downloading.

The End?

Script
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.