Fiction logo

Mama's Porch

Swing.

By Alex JennettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Mama's Porch
Photo by James Garcia on Unsplash

It is comfortable here. Swaying on the swing through the nice May air. I get a cold chill every time I think about it. Thank you for putting it there for me to swing on. And another way to remember it is to gather the memories in my cute adorable mind. Later on I will go and sit down and write about it, like I am doing now.

The house with the porch swing was painted blue gray and yellow. And it had a certain air to it. An air that said hello and thank you for stopping by to swing on my porch. Otherwise I would have been so lonely. Without company to find me.

The front of the house has a texas flag on it. As well as an american flag. They both blow in the breeze at the same time, as if to say hello, welcome to the neighborhood. And while your here you might as well stop and sit for a spell. Rest your feet and rock out with me. Breeze through your day with me. And try not to create too much turbulence. Or you will end up in trouble.

Edit this and you will spend your time swinging to the beat of my drum. So in other words, let's all try to have fun. And not think of the possibility of another mishap happening. That would not be any fun. Sometimes in the heat of the afternoon, I like to sit out on mama's porch and sip on my coffee, and smoke my smoke. Thinking about what I would do if it wasn't there at all. And happen to go through my sense of courage, to see if it is lacking in any way.

When the storm hits, it hits hard, hard enough to knock you on your feet. And make you wish that once already started it will last a life-time. A life-time to concentrate on the good that had already begun. Wondering what would happen if times were different. And changes were rare. A time where you could just go out and enjoy yourself.

My memories aren't too clear when I'm not at the swing. They tend to haze and fall apart on me. As if to say in my head that the closeness is not real. And it does not amount to much. Or does it really mean the opposite? Who is to say what that means?

In the meantime I will sit there and contemplate what I am trying to put down in writing, and hope that it works out. And that it does not suck in the end. My choice words to my mother and her swing, are hooray! She put it there just for me. I am hoping.

Tomorrow I will look at the repainted house and its swing and say in my mind that I enjoy the time spent there. That it has given me incentive to open up and become a part of myself, that I never knew existed. In the meantime let us all kick back and enjoy the cool weather while we still have it. To appreciate it without the heat of age gone by. An age where we need to contemplate other peoples' problems. And forget our own.

The fog still rolls in my mind and passes forth into something that I do not want to think about anymore. That is it.

Thank you for being a part of all that I have written, dear reader, and I hope that these words stick out in your memory, as a good time in your life.

Excerpt
1

About the Creator

Alex Jennett

Just starting to publish my works. Enjoy listening to music and writing poetry. I am surprised that since I started writing, within 2 years, with Vocal I have created 78 stories. Music and the written word, help me ease my high anxiety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.