Fiction logo

Magikone : The New Social Media Platform

Sign up now to experience a whole other world

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 3 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

The stage is dimly lit but that soon changes as I walk up the steps. I wait behind the curtains until I’m announced over the speaker system. As the announcement ends, I walk out onto the stage.

“Good evening Witches and Wizards, my name is Narkissos and I am the Founder of a fabulous new social media platform called Magikone. Magikone is the new boy in town and he’s going to be the biggest, baddest platform around.”

I watch the faces of the audience and I’m pleased to see the smiles and excitement. I have no doubts that this is going to be big in the tech world and the magic world.

“Let me tell you, my good friends, what this platform is designed around. Like every other social media platform, you’ll all need to register for an account. One you have a Magikone profile, you are ready to use the platform in all its glory.”

The conference hall is packed and the audience is silent. Waiting for that one piece of information that will make Magikone unlike any other social media platform. Well aren’t they in for a surprise.

“This platform, is going to have one major difference to the online world, that you’ve never seen before. This platform is strictly for magic users. If you have no magical powers, them Magikone is not the platform for you.”

Now I’ve got their attention.

“Witches and Wizards, the secret of Magikone that will ensure it’s success is…………{drum roll please}…………the ability to show off your magical abilities and to also learn how to grow your powers.”

For a minute there is total silence in the room as the audience looks shocks. Then they all rise to their feet and applaud.

Okay, I’m happy to say they are in. Now I just need to close the deal and bring it all home.

“Thank you dear ones, thank you. I’m hoping people in this room will come on board. You’ll see my assistants coming down amongst you with iPads. Please use these devices to register for a Magikone account before you leave.”

I didn’t anticipate the almost stampede that my assistants faced down. People couldn’t sign up quick enough.

“Honourable Witches and Wizards, that concludes our presentation tonight. At the back of the hall are refreshments and I’d appreciate if you could stick around awhile if you have any questions. In fact, stick around if you don’t.”

The audience laughs at my attempt at humour.

As people begin to move around the room, I leave the stage and head to the back of the room, greeting people by name as I go.

I am certainly ecstatic at the turnout and they have all taken my presentation onboard. My first round of suckers are being served to me on a platter.

What they don’t realise, is this platform that I have designed, has one purpose.

Let me explain. I am a wizard, from a long line of wizards. Wizard royalty actually but something went wrong at my birth and since then my magical powers are almost non-existent. Not that I’ve told anyone that.

It’s totally unfair that these standard, everyday, non-royalty blooded, witches and wizards hold more magical power than me. That needs to be corrected as soon as possible.

Hence Magikone!

I have designed the platform for these nobodies to show off their magical abilities. What they do not know is, I have taken it one step further. Magikone will slowly harvest a little of their magical powers, each time they post on the platform. That power will be stored in magical vats and when the time is right, the harvested powers will be absorbed by me.

Before anyone picks up on what is happening, I will be the most powerful wizard to ever have lived. Furthermore, I will gain immortality as my power increases past the previous titleholders threshold.

Long live the most powerful wizard to walk this earth and all because of Magikone, an ingeniously designed social media platform.

Be careful who you trust when you are playing around online!

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

Fantasy
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Fabulous story. The humor made me laugh . There are truth about people signing up , online you giving a little of your power. Sneaky wizard , a compelling Halloween story for sure. Enjoyed it.

  • Loved the twist and the message from this story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.