Fiction logo

LYNDA: THE SERIES. EPISODE ONE

The One

By Archibong JamesPublished 8 months ago 7 min read
5

As I sat on the plane, staring out the window, I couldn't help but think about everything I was leaving behind. My home, my friends, my family, and most importantly, my heart. I had just gone through the worst heartbreak of my life. My fiancé had cheated on me on our wedding day. It was a nightmare that I couldn't seem to wake up from, and it haunts me every night as I sleep.

I had to build a strong shield around my heart to protect myself from any further hurt. But as I sat on that plane, my heart felt heavy and my mind was filled with regrets and unimaginable pain. I couldn't help but cry, tears flowing freely down my face.

As the plane took off, I closed my eyes and suddenly I found myself in a dream. It was my wedding day, and everything was perfect. I was wearing my white dress, and my fiancé was standing at the altar, smiling at me. But as we exchanged vows, he suddenly turns and walks away with another woman. My heart felt like it was breaking all over again as I realized that my dream was reliving the nightmare that had become all too real. My fiancé had left me on the alter. While I waited for him in church, he was in bed with a fitness trainer he had been dating for over a year. She was even pregnant for him at the time. My best friend Sofie, caught it all on camera when she went looking for him. I actually fainted right there in church and when I woke up, I couldn't remember anything. I was in shock. I had amnesia for five days and couldn't remember anyone. Not even my parents and best friend. But they were always there in the hospital with me. Although I didn't remember what happened or who he was, I remember I never saw my fiancé, not for once. On the sixth day, the whole thing came rushing in and it pierced and shredded my soul. I nearly cut my wrist but my family was there to stop me. I wanted to die. Death was my ticket to peace.

Suddenly, I felt a gentle hand on mine. I woke up to see a woman, probably in her fifties, her kind eyes filled with understanding. "Don't worry love," she said softly.

"Everything happens for a reason. You may not see it yet, but whatever made you cry worked out for your good. You have nothing to be afraid of. You are safe.” Her words brought me a sense of peace that I hadn't felt in a very long time. But wait, has she been sitting here all this while? And I didn’t even notice? The pain I was feeling blocked me out pf reality.

Then came the waterfall. I suddenly busted out crying, now more audibly. It was like she saw everything that was going on in my head in real time. Somehow I felt strongly that she did. Those words agreed with me. I couldn't help but wonder who this woman was that brought me so much comfort and peace. She reminded me of my 'Margarita', my mother. Another sad tale, all intertwined. All related.

"I'm Barbara," she introduced herself with a warm smile. "Hope I didn't startle you."

I couldn't help but stare at her, taking in her elegance. She was dressed impeccably and her jewelries were stunning. She even smelled so nice that I nearly asked her where she got that perfume. I actually did, in my head. I wondered why she wasn't in the first class section, as she clearly could afford it. She could even afford a private jet and the plane itself if she wanted.

"No you didn't. And thank you ma'am," I said, wiping off my tears. "It was a bad dream that I don't ever want to have again. But just like a bad rash, it keeps coming back and spreading. It's eating me up. I'm running out of options on how to handle it before I go insane."

Barbara smiled at me and took off her diamond necklace. "I got this from one of my favorite stores, DeGreat Stones, in the US. Such an amazing place. I call it My Happy Place", she said as she handed it to me. "It's been in my family for decades.”

"But why are you giving it to me?," I asked, unable to accept such a generous gift from a complete stranger. “I can't accept this please. You don't even know me to start with. I hope you don't go about giving random people your precious stones. This stone is worth more than I've ever made in my entire life.” I could tell because my father owns a jewelry shop. When I was little, he would take me by the hand and tell me the names of every type of precious stone there is and how to identify a fake. And yes, this was hundred percent authentic.

"I know you don't know me," Barbara said, "but I feel like I've known you for a long time. Just keep it safe for me. I'll get it back when we see each other again. And No! I don't go around giving strangers my stuff and . . ." She paused and looked at me with her left eyebrow slightly raised “How did you know its worth by just mere looking at it? That is incredible and impossible if you ask me. Didn’t it cross your mind that it may have been fake?”.

“No it did not. And moreover my dad, he uh. He had a jewelry shop and I learnt a lot from him”.

“Wow! That is amazing. You're blessed Ms . . .? I didn't get your name”

“Lynda Dayabasi. Lynda with a Y”.

“Your father must be proud Lynda”

“He is. He is”, then I remembered home. Then a tear escaped my eye again.

“It's ok. There there! You'll be fine. You'll be fine I promise”.

She gently draws me closer and hugs me. It felt warm, like mum's and I didn't want to let go. Then she puts the necklace round my neck and smiles again. “It looks perfect on you. You're The One”. She said that last words with so much joy that I swear I could literary touch it.

“The One? For what exactly? Have we met?” I had to ask because looking at her again, she really did look kind of familiar and I don't forget faces, especially the kind ones like hers.

“Don't worry. Time will tell”, she smiled and hugged me some more. I held on. I wanted to remain there for all eternity. It felt like mum's. My eyes opened the floodgates once more and tears flowed down. This time I didn't hold back. I let it flow.

I must have dozed off because the next thing I knew, the demon came again. This time my ex-fiancé told me he didn't love me and he wanted me dead. I cried my heart out.

I woke up with a start, tears streaming down my face already. Always on standby. I was still on the plane, and Barbara was still sitting beside me, holding me close. "It's okay," she said softly. "It's just a dream. You're safe now.”

I couldn't help but let out a sob, my emotions overwhelming me. "I'm so sorry," I said, wiping off my tears. Barbara pulled me back into a comforting embrace. "It's not your fault," she said. "You deserve better."

That singular act of kindness changed my entire life forever. Barbara's words and gift gave me hope that one day, I would find happiness again. As I clutched unto the necklace hanging down my neck, I felt a sense of peace rush through me. I hoped this was just the beginning of my new journey, and I asked myself if I was ready to let go of the past and face the future. Honestly I had no idea on how to make that decision but I was willing to try. But right there and then, all I wanted was to remain in Barbara's arms. I just wanted peace. But then my life took a turn that I didn't see coming. A turn I wasn’t ready for.

*********************************************************************

From The Author

Please leave a LIKE and a COMMENT to show you enjoyed this episode. It would really mean a lot to me. Also share the link to your friends. You are in for a very beautiful journey. This is just the beginning. I appreciate your time. Thank you!

*********************************************************************

thrillerSeriesLoveFantasyfamilyAdventure
5

About the Creator

Archibong James

Let me try and give you a glimpse of me. I'm a born writer and graphics designer. I love, respect and treat people with kindness because I believe everyone is beautiful and deserves better. And yes! I'm an ARMY. BTS for life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Barbara Archibong James8 months ago

    This was beautiful. I can't wait to read Episode 2. Kudos Jeff James.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.