Fiction logo

Love is sweet like ice cream(RomanXneo) RWBY

This isn’t dirty and I cried while writing it so enjoy!

By And I am NightmarePublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1

“Whatever you say.” Roman said, rolling his eyes.

“Don’t roll your eyes at me, Roman. Someday you’ll regret being disrespectful.” Cinder told him.

“When you rule the world?”He asked in a mocking tone.

“Obviously.”

He sighed.

“You seem more rebellious tonight. Is it because Neo isn’t here?”

“Wha-No! What does Neo have to do with this?!”

“Don’t act like I don’t know. You’re a terrible liar.”

“I’m actually a pretty good liar.”

“Did mommy tell you that? Oh wait a minute. She abandoned you twenty years ago. I don’t blame her. You must have been an ugly baby with that hair.”

“Neo likes my hair.” Roman muttered, somewhat defeated.

“Neo likes you. She’s lying to make you feel better. Because unlike you, she is very good at it.”

“Neo doesn’t talk. How can she be a good liar?”

Cinder turned on him. “You aren’t a good liar, Roman. It’s just that the people around you are stupid enough to believe what you say.”

“You’re around me.”

“What did you say?!”

“Nothing!”

“That’s what I thought. Now get out. I don’t want to see that hair until morning. I’m getting a headache just looking at it.”

“Whatever you say.” He repeated. He turned on his heel and stomped out of the tent. Well, not exactly stomped. He wasn’t that stupid. A few feet outside, he bumped into Neo.

“Neo! You’re back!”

She grinned and waved up at him. Roman had never had a talent like everyone else seemed to have. He wasn’t especially good at controlling his aura, or super fast. But ever since he had met Neo, he had been able to understand her. He could just look and her and know exactly what she was saying. It wasn’t like he could hear her in his head- it was more like he was reading a page off of those eyes. All the things she couldn’t say- he knew what they were. He could read her perfectly. He knew exactly what she was telling him. He was the only one who could understand her like that. And that was a good enough superpower for him.

“How was your mission?”

She gave him two thumbs up.

“Wonderful! Look, Cinder gave me the night off. Whadya say we go into town?”

You mean she kicked you out and told you you were ugly? She asked.

“How’d you guess?”

What was it this time?

“My hair.” He muttered, pulling his hat over his ears.

I like your hair. She told him, reaching up to pull it off.

“I know! I told her that! Anyways, ice cream?

Always!

“God, I hate the rain.” Roman said, pulling his coat around him. Neo opened her umbrella and stood on tiptoes to put it over his head. He smiled at her. “Thanks, Neo.” She smiled back.

I don’t mind the rain. She said. It’s kind of nice sometimes.

“I just don’t want it to ruin my coat.”

Do you ever take it off? She asked, giggling.

“Actually, I just had it cleaned before those stupid kids scuffed it up. If you hadn’t stepped in, it might even be completely ruined.” He shuddered.

Or you might have died.

“I don’t die! You know that. It’s practically my job! Steal stuff, and don’t die!”

She giggled again. But Cinder wants you to stop stealing dust now.

He sighed. “Cinder wants a lot of things. She wants me to fight now. You know straight up fighting is your thing. So does she. Sometimes I wonder if she’s trying to kill me.”

She doesn’t like you. Neo said. But you’re still pretty good at fighting.

“It doesn’t matter. Whether I’m fighting or stealing, I won’t die on you. Its my motto. Lie, cheat, steal, and survive!”

Promise? She asked, holding out her pinkie.

He smiled at her. “Promise.”

You know, Cinder is wrong about you.

“How so?”

Everything. I think she just doesn’t see the real you.

“And what is the real me?”

You don’t know?

“I wanted your opinion.”

She put her hand on her chin to show that she was thinking.

“Well?” He asked after a few minutes.

I see a person. Her eyes said after a few minutes. That is one thing I see different than Cinder. I think she sees us as tools. And I see a friend, and a person who cares about me?

She ended the last sentence as an question, which made him feel a little guilty. He hadn’t been as attentive or caring towards Neo as he usually was. In truth, he was worried Cinder might use it against him like she did tonight.

“Of course I care about you.”

She smiled again and continued. I see the old Roman. The one I always knew. And I see the same person I met in Vale nine years ago.

Roman froze and glanced at her. It was the twenty fifth today, wasn’t it? The anniversary….

“Neo?” He said suddenly.

She nodded.

“You don’t want to… I don’t know, go steal stuff or, I don’t know, do something to celebrate?”

Her face lit up. You remembered!

He gave an awkward smile. “Of course I did! How could I forget?”

I have something! She pulled something black out of her bag and handed it too him. Since you lost the first one. She smiled at him shyly. I figured you might like another.

“A hat! It’s practically identical to the one you made me! I love it.”

She hugged him. She was so small… she needed to be protected, even though he knew it was silly. She was a much better fighter than him.

“I… have something for you too! Just wait a minute I’ll be right back!”

He ducked into a nearby ally way. The hat she had made had obviously been days in the making, something she had thought through. He didn’t have a gift- what did he have on him? He pulled a dust crystal from his pocket-something he always caught on him. This was a rare one, pink and white. Perfect.

He turned around the corner to see Neo with her back to him, her tiny umbrella above her head, her small figure seeming even smaller in the huge world around her. He stopped for a moment, just watching her. The way she moved, elegant and adorable. For a moment she seemed like the same girl he had found crying on the streets nine years ago. The girl who he had stole ice cream and told her it looked like her hair to cheer her up. The girl who couldn’t tell him her name, so he had called her Neapolitan after that first ice cream cone they had shared together.

She turned around and looked at him. She ran to him with a smile, but stopped short and tilted her head, her eyes saying, Roman? Why are you crying?

He wasn’t crying, was he?

“It’s just the rain. Here you go.” He said, trying to stop his hands from shaking as he handed it to her.

A necklace?! It’s so pretty. She looked up at him again and smiled. It’s not the rain, Roman. I know you too well.

“Yeah.” He said, his voice almost breaking. “It’s not the rain.”

You don’t have to tell me. She said, looking up at him. I know. I know who you are Roman. And I like you for that.

The pair walked down the street hand in hand, leaving an old bowler hat and the rain behind them.

“Get up!” Roman jolted awake to the sound of Cinders voice. Lovely way to be forced back into reality.

“Where’s Neo?” He asked.

“She across campus getting ready. I woke her up at the crack of dawn because she’s going for another mission. Hurry up, I don’t have all day.”

She ducked out of the tent. Roman sat there for as long as he dared before finally getting up and going outside. It wasn’t raining anymore. He’d been worried leaving Neo at her tent the night before. It wouldn’t have been the first time it flooded.

“Come now, Roman. We have lots to do today.”

“What are we doing? Are we stealing things?”

“Shut up. You don’t have any idea what you’re talking about. Come with me now, you idiot.” He shrugged and followed her into her elevated, much fancier tent. “Go get the others, quickly. We don’t have much time.”

He stared at her blankly.

“Go get them, you idiot! I can’t stand another second looking at that stupid face!”

“Neo likes my face.” He told her, picking up my hat and framing back on his head, his tired brain finally clearing up and remembering what Neo had said the night before. “So I don’t care what you think.”

She stared at him with her mouth open for a moment, her eyes starting to glow. “Do you have a death wish?”

He shrugged. “I don’t know. It’s too early in the morning to tell.” And left the tent to go get the others. It wasn’t far to Neo’s tent, but he suspected she’d already be gone. However, he caught a glance of her tiny pink figure rising over the hill.

“Neo!” He called out. “Neo! Wait!”

She stopped and turned around, her face erupting into a smile as soon as she saw him.

He ran up the hill and reached her panting. “I- I just wanted to say goodbye.”

Me too. She smiled. I’m glad you made it. Cinder’s angry today.

“Ha. I just made her angrier.”

What did you do?

“It doesn’t matter. I came to say good bye.”

Her smile widened, and she leaned forward and kissed him on the cheek. Roman felt his face go red.

Goodbye. Neo gave him a thumbs up.

“Goodbye.” He said. She reached up and readjusted his hat. Then she turned and walked away. Roman stood and watched her tiny figure retreat down the hill until it disappeared.

Goodbye, he thought. Goodbye, Neo. I love you.

Fan Fiction
1

About the Creator

And I am Nightmare

I am a budding writer, and still only a teen. I love any support that comes my way. I am also a Dark Empath, psychologist in training, and baker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.