Fiction logo

Love in the Snow

Short Story

By Hazel ParadisePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Love in the Snow
Photo by Fahmi Fakhrudin on Unsplash

"Don't tell me you are not coming! You promised you would!" I screamed on my phone. Nancy has no idea how it feels to be alone in this apartment.

We have recently shifted to Brooklyn. We both have new jobs now and suddenly her boyfriend pooped out of nowhere. And now she is spending the night at his place!

"See, Jenny.."

"No Jenny! You know how much I hate being alone," I said.

"Okay, how about calling our neighbor?"

"What neighbor?"

"See Jenny, it's snowing outside. I cannot come. Charlie won't allow me.."

"Charlie?" I asked.

"My boyfriend, Jenny."

I do remember his name but that name irritates me to the core. I just want her to leave Charlie, whoever he is, and come right here. The light has gone off the entire building and I hate to be in the dark.

"I have talked to the landlord, it happens sometimes. It will be back soon."

When I didn't reply, she said, "You listening?"

"Yeah.. who else have I got here," I said.

"Oh dear.. sorry."

"Okay, I think I should eat something."

"Good, I love you!"

"Bye," I said.

When the call ended I looked around the room. It feels so lonely when you are alone. I never thought this would happen.

I mean when I think of the big city, loneliness never occurred to me. Not even once. I thought people are busy with jobs, and extra work, many have their own home business and then they have partners and parties and nightclubs. But still, it was lonely.

I wish to call my neighbor but boy... he is trouble for me. I mean, I haven't talked to him yet but I can read man solid.

I made myself some noodles and ate them in no time. I don’t know where I kept my torch last time. When you are alone, you can hardly enjoy even your dinner.

I went outside. One thing I like about Nancy's choice is that whenever she chooses any place, it's sure to have a balcony.

I stepped outside. It was cold but still lovely. silent everywhere... except one place.

"Feeling lonely?"

I turned my face to look at the man. He was Dan Miller. That's what Nancy told me. She has a weird habit of tacking the names of every person in the area we are living, especially boys. That was before Charlie. Now things have changed.

"Nope," I lied.

He laughed. "I can tell when a girl lies. I have a Ph.D. in it."

"Thanks for telling me that?" I said.

"No problem. So, why are you alone? It's Christmas. Where is your friend?"

Friend? "Nancy?"

"Oh yeah... Nancy. Pretty girl."

"She is... busy." Why would I tell private stuff to a stranger?

"Oh yeah.. she is with her boyfriend."

I turned my face back at him. I lifted my eyebrow. He was listening?

"You were so loud that.."

"Fine."

"So, a lonely girl in this big city."

"I have a name, Dan."

"You know my name?"

"Yup."

"Wow. So may I know yours.."

"Nope.. not interested."

Snow was falling, streets were filled with couples holding hands, and I was alone. And see my luck! I met a handsome person on the balcony!

But it's not for now.

"At least wanna go out with me?" he asked.

I gave him a grave look. "What? I am not flirting. We are neighbors! And the lights have gone and unlike you, I hate to be alone in the dark. Just coffee right across the street and that's it. I promise. I am not gonna take you to some dark corner and .."

"Shh. I got it. You don't have to explain everything."

"So coming?"

I ate noodles and my stomach was barely full. I nodded. What bad is going to happen? One coffee would do nothing... right?

www.hazelparadise.com

ClassicalFablefamilyLoveShort StoryYoung AdultScript
1

About the Creator

Hazel Paradise

I am a non-fiction author. I believe every author to be their own boss and have multiple sources of income. Consistency is all you need!

https://www.patreon.com/hazelparadise

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.