Fiction logo

Love Found Unexpectedly

A Journey of Self-Acceptance, Friendship, and Romance

By Naureen IkramPublished about a year ago 19 min read
1
Love Found Unexpectedly
Photo by Scott Broome on Unsplash

Linda had always been a big girl, but her weight had escalated during her teenage years, and now, as a young woman, she was classified as extremely obese. Despite her size, Linda had big dreams and was studying business management at the local college.

Living with her stepmother Cheryl, stepsister Nancy, and stepbrother Aaron was not easy for Linda. They would constantly make comments about her weight and the amount she ate, making her feel ashamed and embarrassed. It was as if they were never satisfied with her no matter what she did.

At times, Linda would try to ignore their taunts and focus on her studies, but it was hard to do when they would often make snide remarks during family dinners. They would question her food choices and suggest that she needed to eat less or exercise more as if she didn't already know that.

Despite their hurtful comments, Linda continued to push forward with her education, determined to make something of herself. She knew that her weight was an issue and had started making changes to her diet and exercise routine, but it wasn't easy to undo years of unhealthy habits.

Linda's best friend at college was Catherine. They had met in their first year of business management classes and quickly became indivisible. Catherine was one of the few people who didn't judge Linda based on her weight. Instead, she admired Linda's intelligence and ambition and appreciated her kind and caring personality.

Unfortunately, Linda still faced body shaming in college, even from some of her peers. It was as if they saw her weight as an invitation to criticize and belittle her. Linda felt like she was constantly on guard, always waiting for the next hurtful comment or snicker.

But Catherine was always there to defend her. She would shut down anyone who tried to make fun of Linda or make her feel uncomfortable. Catherine didn't care what other people thought; she knew that Linda was a beautiful person inside and out, and that was all that mattered.

Their friendship grew stronger day by day. They would often study together, and Catherine would encourage Linda to take breaks and have some fun. They would go on shopping trips, watch movies, and even try new workout classes together.

Linda knew that she could always count on Catherine to be there for her, no matter what. And in return, Linda was always there for Catherine when she needed support or advice. Their friendship was a source of strength for both of them, and they cherished it deeply.

One day, as Linda and Catherine were walking back from class, Catherine brought up the topic of weight loss. "Hey, Linda," she said, "Have you ever thought about enrolling at a fitness center?"

Linda hesitated. "I don't know, Cath. I've tried to lose weight before, but it's never worked out for me. I always end up giving up after a few weeks."

Catherine put a comforting hand on Linda's shoulder. "I understand, but I really think it could be beneficial for you. Not just for your physical health, but for your mental health too. You've been working so hard at college, and I know it can be stressful. Exercise is a great way to relieve that stress and boost your mood."

Linda considered Catherine's words. She knew that Catherine only had her best interests at heart. "Okay, maybe you're right. But I don't even know where to start. I'm not very knowledgeable about fitness."

Catherine grinned. "Don't worry, I've got you covered. I know of a great fitness center that offers personal training sessions. We could go together and I can introduce you to a trainer. You don't have to do this alone, Linda. I'll be with you every step of the way."

Linda felt a surge of gratitude towards her friend. She knew that she was lucky to have someone like Catherine in her life. "Thank you, Catherine. I really appreciate your support. Let's do this."

And so, with Catherine's guidance and encouragement, Linda enrolled at the fitness center and started working with a personal trainer. It wasn't easy at first, but with Catherine by her side, Linda found the motivation to keep going.

Linda had been going to the fitness center for a few months now, and she had grown to love the routine. She was seeing results, feeling healthier, and had even made a few new friends.

But one day, as she was finishing up her session with her personal trainer, a new face caught her eye. Jordan, a young and handsome fitness trainer, had just started working at the gym.

Linda couldn't help but stare. He was tall and muscular, with bright blue eyes and a friendly smile. She felt a flutter in her stomach and tried to elude. She was here to work on herself, not to get distracted by some guy.

But as the days went by, Linda found herself drawn to Jordan. They would exchange small talk during her sessions, and Linda would try to come up with excuses to extend their conversations. She couldn't deny the chemistry between them.

One day, after a particularly tough workout, Jordan offered to walk Linda out to her car. As they walked, Linda felt her heart racing. She wanted to say something, anything, to start a conversation, but her mind went blank.

Finally, Jordan broke the silence. "So, Linda, how's everything going with your fitness journey?"

Linda felt a blush creeping up her cheeks. "Uh, good! Yeah, I'm really enjoying it. Thanks for asking."

Jordan smiled. "That's great to hear. You're doing really well, you know. I'm impressed with your progress."

Linda couldn't help but feel a surge of pride. "Really? You think so?"

Jordan nodded. "Absolutely. You're dedicated and hardworking, and it shows. Keep it up."

Linda felt a rush of excitement. "Thanks, Jordan. I really appreciate your encouragement."

And with that, they said their goodbyes and Linda drove off, feeling giddy and hopeful. She couldn't believe it, but she was falling for Jordan at first sight.

Linda's stepbrother, Aaron, was getting engaged, and the whole family was gathered together for the celebration. Linda was excited to see everyone and share in the joy, but she couldn't help feeling nervous when she spotted Jordan among the guests.

She had never seen him outside of the fitness center before, and she wasn't sure how to act around him. Should she ignore him? Should she try to talk to him?

As the party got underway, Linda found herself drifting towards Jordan, unable to resist the attraction. They started chatting, laughing, and before long, Linda found herself feeling more comfortable and at ease around him.

At one point, they were standing near the dessert table, joking around and sampling the different treats. Linda was trying to balance a plate of cupcakes and a glass of Mocktail when suddenly, she tripped over her own feet and nearly spilled everything.

Jordan caught her just in time, grabbing her by the waist and steadying her. "Whoa, careful there!" he said, chuckling.

Linda blushed, feeling embarrassed. "Thanks. I'm such a Clumsy sometimes."

Jordan smiled. "No problem. You know, I never took you for a cupcake person."

Linda grinned. "Oh, I love cupcakes. They're my guilty pleasure."

Jordan raised an eyebrow. "Guilty pleasure, huh? Well, don't worry, your secret's safe with me."

They continued talking and laughing, enjoying each other's company. Linda felt a sense of ease and comfort around Jordan that she hadn't felt with anyone else before. She couldn't help but wonder where this newfound attraction might lead.

After the engagement party, Linda couldn't stop thinking about Jordan. She knew she was falling for him, but she didn't know how to express her feelings. She decided to confide in her best friend, Catherine.

"Catherine, I think I'm in love with Jordan," Linda said nervously.

Catherine's face lit up with excitement. "Oh my gosh, Linda, that's amazing! I'm so happy for you."

Linda felt relieved that Catherine was supportive of her feelings. "But what should I do? How do I tell him?"

Catherine thought for a moment before responding. "Well, you could always ask him out on a date. Or you could do something really bold and propose to him!"

Linda's eyes widened. "Propose? Are you serious?"

Catherine nodded. "Why not? You're a strong and independent woman, Linda. You don't have to wait around for a guy to make the first move. If you want something, go after it."

Linda considered Catherine's words, feeling a sense of empowerment. "You're right. I'm going to do it. But how do I propose?"

Catherine grinned mischievously. "Well, there are a lot of ways you could do it. You could write him a love letter, or plan a surprise dinner for him, or even propose to him at the gym!"

Linda laughed, feeling excited and nervous all at once. "I don't know if I could do it at the gym. That might be too much pressure."

Catherine shrugged. "Hey, it's up to you. Just remember, the most important thing is to be true to yourself and your feelings. You got this, Linda!"

Linda felt grateful for Catherine's support and encouragement. She knew that no matter what happened, she had a friend who had her back. And with that thought, she felt a newfound sense of confidence and determination. She was going to take a chance on love, and she was going to do it her way.

Linda had never felt so nervous in her life. She had decided to confess her love to Jordan, and now she was standing in front of him, her heart pounding in her chest.

"Jordan, I have to tell you something," she said, her voice trembling. "I have feelings for you. I think I'm in love with you."

Jordan looked taken aback, his expression turning serious. "Linda, I'm flattered, but I have to be honest with you. I don't feel the same way."

Linda's heart sank. She had hoped for a different response, but deep down she knew it was a possibility. "Oh," she said, her voice barely a whisper. "I see."

Jordan reached out to her, taking her hand in his. "Linda, you're an amazing person, and I value our friendship so much. But I don't want to lead you on or hurt you in any way. I hope you understand."

Linda nodded, feeling tears welling up in her eyes. "I do. I'm sorry. I shouldn't have said anything."

Jordan shook his head. "No, don't apologize. It takes a lot of courage to be honest about your feelings. I respect that about you."

They stood there for a moment in silence, the weight of the conversation hanging heavy in the air. Linda knew that things would never be the same between them, but she also knew that she couldn't force someone to love her back.

"Thanks for being honest with me," she said finally, her voice steady. "I guess I'll see you around."

Jordan gave her a sad smile. "Yeah, I'll see you around."

As Linda walked away, she felt a mix of emotions - sadness, disappointment, and a sense of closure. She knew that her heart would heal with time, but for now, she was grateful for the support of her friend Catherine, who had been with her every step of the way.

After finishing college, Linda decided to move to a new city to start a new chapter in her life. With Catherine's encouragement, she continued her fitness journey and lost a significant amount of weight, becoming much healthier and more confident in the process.

Now, Linda was living on her own, working at a reputable company in the city. She had a small apartment that she had decorated in her own style, and she was enjoying the independence and freedom that came with living alone.

Gone were the days when Linda had felt ashamed of her body and had been subjected to constant body shaming from her family and classmates. She had learned to love herself and had surrounded herself with people who loved and accepted her for who she was.

She had also learned to let go of the past, including her feelings for Jordan. Although it had been a painful experience at the time, Linda had come to understand that not every person she cared for would feel the same way about her, and that was okay.

Now, Linda was looking forward to new adventures and experiences in her life. She was excited to see what the future held and to continue growing and evolving as a person. With her newfound confidence and independence, there was nothing she couldn't achieve.

One day, Catherine introduced Linda to her friend Alex. They hit it off right away, finding that they had a lot in common. They both loved fitness and healthy eating, and they had a shared passion for travel and adventure.

As they spent more time together, Linda found herself growing closer to Alex. He was kind, and thoughtful, and always had a way of making her laugh. She enjoyed his company and looked forward to spending time with him.

But as their friendship deepened, Linda began to sense that Alex's feelings for her were changing. He would go out of his way to do things for her, like bringing her lunch at work or surprising her with little gifts. He would also look at her with a tenderness that made her heart skip a beat.

One day, while they were out for a walk, Alex took Linda's hand and stopped her. "Linda, I have to tell you something," he said, his voice earnest. "I think I'm falling in love with you."

Linda's heart raced as she looked into Alex's eyes. She felt a flutter in her stomach, and for the first time in a long time, she felt a glimmer of hope that maybe, just maybe, she could find love again.

But at the same time, she was hesitant. She didn't want to rush into anything or make the same mistake she had made with Jordan. She needed time to think.

"Alex, I appreciate your honesty, and I care about you deeply," she said, taking his hand in hers. "But I need some time to think about this. I don't want to rush into anything and risk losing our friendship."

Alex nodded, looking disappointed but understanding. "I understand. Take all the time you need. Just know that I'm here for you, no matter what."

Over the next few days, Linda thought long and hard about her feelings for Alex. She realized that she had come to care for him deeply and that she could see a future with him. They shared so many things in common, and she enjoyed his company and the way he made her feel.

Finally, she made her decision. She called Alex and asked him to meet her for coffee.

"Alex, I've been doing a lot of thinking, and I've realized that I have feelings for you too," she said, smiling nervously. "I want to see where this goes if you do too."

Alex's face lit up, and he reached across the table to take Linda's hand. "I do. I want to be with you, Linda. You're an amazing person, and I feel lucky to have you in my life."

From that day forward, Linda and Alex's relationship blossomed into something beautiful.

Linda was out for a walk in the park one day when she saw someone familiar coming towards her. As the person got closer, Linda realized with a start that it was Jordan.

"Jordan! What are you doing here?" Linda asked, surprised to see him.

"I come here to jog sometimes," Jordan replied with a smile. "What about you?"

"I like to come here for walks," Linda said, trying to keep her composure. "It's a nice change of pace from the gym."

Jordan nodded, and they fell into step together as they continued walking. They chatted about what they had been up to since they last saw each other, and Linda was surprised to find that she felt at ease talking to Jordan.

As they walked, Linda couldn't help but notice how good Jordan looked. He was still as handsome as ever, and his body looked even more toned than before. She felt a pang of regret for how things had turned out between them, but she quickly pushed the thought aside.

After a while, Jordan said, "Linda, I'm sorry again for how things ended between us. I hope you know that I never meant to hurt you."

Linda sighed, feeling a mix of emotions. "It's okay, Jordan. I've moved on, and I'm happy now."

Jordan looked at her with a mix of sadness and longing in his eyes. "I'm glad to hear that. You deserve to be happy."

Linda nodded, feeling a sense of closure. "Thank you, Jordan. It's good to see you again."

As they parted ways, Linda felt a sense of peace. She realized that she had finally let go of the past and was ready to embrace the future with Alex by her side.

Linda and Alex were having a nice dinner at a fancy restaurant when they suddenly spotted Jordan at the table next to them with a group of friends. Linda was surprised to see him there but she tried to act normal and focus on her date with Alex.

However, Alex seemed uncomfortable as he saw Linda talking and laughing with Jordan. He tried to hide his jealousy but it was evident on his face.

Linda noticed his discomfort and asked, "Alex, is everything okay?"

Alex hesitated for a moment before answering, "I'm sorry, Linda. It's just that seeing you talk to Jordan like that makes me feel a bit uncomfortable."

Linda felt bad for making him feel that way and tried to reassure him. "Alex, there's nothing between me and Jordan. We're just old friends catching up."

"I know that but it's just hard for me to see you being so friendly with someone you used to have feelings for," Alex said, his voice tinged with frustration.

Linda understood where he was coming from and put her hand on his. "Alex, I'm with you now, and that's all that matters. Jordan is just a friend, and you're the one I care about."

Alex smiled, feeling reassured by Linda's words. "Thanks, Linda. I'm sorry for being jealous, I just can't help it sometimes."

Linda squeezed his hand, "It's okay, Alex. I understand. Let's enjoy our dinner and not let this ruin our night."

As they continued their meal, Linda made sure to focus all her attention on Alex, not wanting anything to come between them.

As days passed, Linda and Jordan's friendship grew stronger, and they started spending more time together. Alex began to feel more and more jealous of their relationship, and one day he finally snapped.

"Linda, do you still have feelings for Jordan?" Alex asked, his voice laced with anger.

Linda was taken aback by his question. "No, Alex, I don't have feelings for Jordan. He's just a friend."

"Then why do you spend so much time with him? Why do you prioritize him over me?" Alex demanded, his frustration growing.

"Alex, I don't prioritize Jordan over you. We're just friends, and we enjoy each other's company," Linda explained calmly.

"But I don't like it, Linda. It makes me feel like I'm not enough for you," Alex said, his voice softer now.

Linda took his hand and looked into his eyes. "Alex, you are more than enough for me. I love you, and I want to be with you. But Jordan is also important to me, and I hope you can understand that."

Alex sighed, his anger dissipating. "I guess I just get a little insecure sometimes. I'm sorry for overreacting."

Linda smiled and squeezed his hand. "It's okay, Alex. I understand how you feel, but please trust me when I say that you are the one I love."

Alex leaned over and gave her a kiss on the forehead. "I trust you, Linda. I'm sorry for doubting you."

It was the day of Linda and Alex's wedding, and they were both ecstatic to start their new life together. However, their happiness was short-lived when Jordan suddenly appeared at the wedding.

"Linda, I know this may not be the best time, but I need to tell you something," Jordan said, his voice shaking with emotion.

Linda and Alex looked at each other in confusion as Jordan continued to speak.

"I need to confess something to you, Linda. I was wrong to reject your feelings for me. I realize now that I was foolish to think that your physical appearance was more important than who you are as a person."

Linda was taken aback by Jordan's confession, and she didn't know what to say. Alex put his arm around her and gave Jordan a stern look.

"Jordan, this is not the time or the place for this," Alex said firmly.

"I know, Alex, and I'm sorry. But I just had to tell Linda how I feel. I know it's too late now, and I regret losing her in my life," Jordan said, his eyes filled with tears.

Linda looked at Jordan with a mixture of sadness and compassion. "Jordan, I appreciate your honesty, but it's too late. I love Alex, and I'm about to marry him. I hope you can find happiness in your life."

Jordan nodded, his eyes still filled with tears. "I understand, Linda. I just wanted to say that I'm sorry for the way I treated you, and I wish you and Alex all the happiness in the world."

With that, Jordan walked away, leaving Linda and Alex alone

After the wedding, Linda and Alex settled into married life and built a happy and loving home together. They remained close with Catherine and Jordan, who had grown closer over time and had started a relationship of their own.

The four of them often spent time together, going on adventure trips and enjoying each other's company. Linda was happy to see her best friend find love with Jordan, and she knew that they were meant to be together.

As the years passed, Linda and Alex's love for each other only grew stronger. They had faced many challenges together, but their love and commitment had never wavered.

Catherine and Jordan also thrived in their relationship, and they often looked back on how they had found love in unexpected places.

In the end, the four friends were grateful for the love and support they had found in each other. They knew that their friendship was something special, and they cherished it every day.

With a smile on her face, Linda looked around at her loved ones and felt grateful for the happy life she had built. She knew that no matter what challenges lay ahead, she had the love and support of her friends and family to help her through.

And so, the story ends on a happy note, as Linda, Alex, Catherine, and Jordan continue to live their lives with love, laughter, and friendship.

Young AdultLove
1

About the Creator

Naureen Ikram

I write fiction. my stories are filled with vivid characters and creative plotlines. My goal as a writer is to captivate and engage my readers, I want my readers to explore new worlds and new perspectives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.