Fiction logo

Love drips

A Valentine's Day to remember.

By Christina Nelson Published 3 months ago 6 min read
2
Love drips
Photo by Amin Hasani on Unsplash

Today is the day! I've been waiting for this day for so long. Valentine's Day is truly one of my favorite days. I went downstairs this morning and there were pink and red roses mixed with yellow and red tulips and two beautiful white stargazer lilies. Next to them was a card, a big box of chocolates and about 25 balloons. It was such a gorgeous sight honestly. But my biggest and best surprise was downstairs. I'd heard it for the past several days. I figured it was a puppy all the groaning, moaning and whining. The whispers to be quiet showed me that he really was trying to keep it a big secret.

However, before I went down there for my gift, I had a little errand that I needed to run. See, in this city, murder is legal one day a year. But there are of course rules to this. You can't just go kill someone without the proper paperwork. Here, I will tell you how it goes. For one, you never have to kill on the same day every year, but the day you decide to do it you have to inform a few people. You have to inform the police on what day, what time and approximately how long it's going to take you. Now if you're going to torture someone to death, you have to fill out an extra form and let them know so that they can give a heads up to the coroner. You also have to let the ambulance services know so that they know where they are going.

Secondly, you have to go to the local store called Mercy and fill out all of the forms. Again, if you are going to torture someone to death that is an extra form and you have to list the tools you'll be using and about how long it's going to take you. Estimates are welcome but they prefer to have an exact time frame so that they can hire a clean up crew. After you've filled out all of the paperwork THEY will call the person you've listed as your target or victim and let them know.

If you are said target, you have two options, unfortunately neither of them is the ability to leave. It wouldn't be wise anyway, while this situation is only for residents of this city, there is special paperwork that is sent to every state and even internationally that grants the killer an exception as they are now under a government contract to dispose of you. Now the two options you do have is either, accept your fate OR petition the forms to turn your death into what would essentially be a duel. Duels are automatically accepted and then monitored by the police department on the specified date from the original murder form. It is all very interesting to be honest.

Now, what if Mercy calls and you don't answer? Well, they leave a voicemail. You have exactly 1 hour from the time the voicemail is left to make your decision, if a petition is not received by Mercy in that timeframe, the murder can proceed uninterrupted. Crazy right?! But here's the kicker! If you kill the person coming to kill you, self defense does not apply and you will actually spend life in prison! Honestly, it is wild when you think about it.

Now to my errand! I want to kill someone. His name is Rick. For all the time I've known Rick he's never really been hateful towards me. We've always been really good friends. However, one day Rick took it upon himself to kill someone very important to me. I was heartbroken that they had been taken away from me, and even more heartbroken to learn of Rick's hand in it. After making my way from the police station to Mercy, I ran into Rick's girlfriend. Her name is Allison. She smiled and hugged me. Asked me how I was. She asked me if I had seen Rick, he hadn't been home in about 2 weeks. I hadn't seen him of course but I was going to put my request in anyway. I asked her why she was in Mercy and she kindly informed me that she worked here. To my feigned astonishment. Of course she worked here. She was just getting off. Good for her.

I've come into Mercy a few times, just asking questions and gathering information on all of the rules surrounding this. I've thought about this a lot. And knowing the truth, I've come to the conclusion that this is what I wanted to do. This was my Valentine's gift to myself. After I filled out the paperwork, the employee at the desk gave my target a call. Voicemail.

"Well Miss, you've got an hour. If he puts in a petition to duel I will send the paperwork for the new destination to your email. If not, you may proceed as scheduled."

I thanked him with a smile and a handshake. I walked over to the grocery store to pick up food for my Valentine's Day dinner. Garlic butter steak bites over homemade mac and cheese. With some white wine. Delicious.

I stopped by my parents' house. They weren't home. But I did bring with me some gifts for them so I let myself in and left them on the table. I straightened up the picture by the door and went on my way.

15 more minutes.

I checked my email. Nothing.

You've got this. I whispered to myself over and over again. I pulled up to my house and walked in. I went upstairs and changed into a red catsuit. It had a big black belt attached which pulled it together rather nicely. I pulled my hair into a ponytail and threw on my glittery red thigh high boots. Checking myself out in the mirror I was so excited with how I looked! I walked downstairs and then down into the basement. The whining was still happening, but it wasn't a puppy. It was my boyfriend. Tied up under my homemade Chinese water torture machine.

Never heard of it?

It's a machine, and I use that term loosely, that drips cold water on you for an extended period of time. It's a mental torture really. Anyway, Rick was standing next to him, whispering for him to be quiet. Let me play it back for you.

I DO want to kill Rick but to be honest, it wasn't his fault. My boyfriend went to Mercy and filled out forms to kill my parents. More specifically, my father. Now how does Rick factor into that? If you are wanting to kill more than one person, you are required to have a partner. If you sign up the partner without the partner being there, they are still legally contracted to assist but they receive their notification only moments before the murder is to take place, giving them no chance to back out of it.

So while my boyfriend did accomplish killing my father, Rick killed my mother. But not in the way that hurt her. He sat her down at the table and let her overdose on sleeping pills. Once she was gone, he put her in the bed by my bloodied up father. Should have just left her at the table. But he agreed to help me get to my boyfriend. So we've had him under the torture machine for about 2 weeks. I didn't lie when I said I hadn't seen Rick. He's been down here the whole time, I just hadn't seen him because we agreed I would only come down here on the day I decided to kill him.

My boyfriend bought me this catsuit ages ago, it feels so good to get rid of him in it. When the time finally hit, I picked up his phone off the desk and unlocked it. I let him listen to the voicemail, letting him know that I, his girlfriend, had filled out paperwork to kill him with my weapon of choice being the very gun he used to kill my father.

I pulled out his prized Colt Revolver and took out all of the bullets except one. I stood on his left side, as the water continued to drip. Soaked and sad. He couldn't even look at me. He couldn't answer why he wanted to kill my family. As time dwindled down, Rick had taken some good photos of me. With each photo snapped, I pulled the trigger. I knew where that bullet was. And I leaned down real slow, kissing my man on his cheek.

Happy Valentine's Day my love.

Click. Click.

BANG.

Psychological
2

About the Creator

Christina Nelson

I started writing when i was in the 3rd grade. That's when i discovered I had an overactive imagination. I'm currently trying to publish 2 books, hopefully I can improve my writing here before I hit the big leagues in writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew Pretzel3 months ago

    Well, unexpectedly, it keeps you on the edge of your seat with each paragraph you read. I recommend it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.