Fiction logo

Love Despite Reality

Chapter 6

By Veronica PollardPublished 2 years ago 45 min read
Like

CHAPTER 6

After checking in, they head down to the boat taxi. Then after a ten-minute boat ride they arrive at their private sea breeze villa.

"West this is amazing!" Larissa says as they walk up to the beach house

The villa is perched on top of a slight hill, giving them a full view of the ocean. As they walk in they see a beautiful open living space, where they can look out over the ocean from every window.

"Our villa is pre-stocked for the entire weekend and we have a chef that will prepare our lunches and dinners, if we want. We also have a villa host that will drop in throughout the day." West informs her

West takes her to tour the villa and she cannot believe that he got an entire villa for just the two of them.

"I know it's early. Are you tired? We can lay out on the hammock!" West suggests

"Sure" she replies

As they lie in the morning sun West shares all the features and amenities they have to enjoy.

"I'm really glad we were able to do this. Thank you West!" Larissa says as she gazes out over the ocean. Looking out over the water they can hear the sound of the waves lapping against the shore.

"I'm not able to do this as often as I'd like but after we make some changes at the resort we'll have a little more freedom." West states

"We!"

"Yes, we! No arguing this weekend!" West replies

"Ok! No more talk about your resort then!"

"No problem, that's not what I want to discuss anyway. Let's talk about how this pregnancy has been going!" West states placing his hand on her belly

"It's been fine. I've never experienced any of it before. So....." she pauses

"I know how you feel about the wining and dining and me not having to impress you, but I'm just concerned about you and the baby. I know you haven't been feeling your best and you refuse to stop when your body gives you warning signs, but remember pain and discomfort could be signs that something is wrong. You can't just dismiss everything."

Larissa just lays there not saying anything. Then finally she says

"Ok West."

"I don't want to have to worry about you." he replies

"I said okay!"

"What's for breakfast. I'm getting hungry" she states quickly changing the subject

West looks at his watch and sees that it's after ten.

"Let's go see what's in the kitchen" he replies

As they walk inside there is a basket filled with all kinds of pastries and the fridge is fully stocked with all of their favorite foods. Larissa chooses to eat a muffin, big enough to feed three people, and a yogurt.

As they sit out on the balcony overlooking the ocean West says

"Having you all to myself has its benefits!"

"What do you mean?" she asks

"After we eat, you should put on one of your swimsuits!" he replies biting his bottom lip

"I don't think I brought one!" she states

West just sits and looks at her, then smiles

"Trust me you have at least five! I made sure of it!"

"You didn't" she replies

"Of course, I did, you can't come to a private island and not swim or at least wear a bikini! Remember you chose the beach!" he states as they both giggle

"Ok, I just hope I can fit them" she replies

"I'm sure you can! It's not much to fit into!" he adds with a sneaky smirk

Standing up he takes her hand and pulls her into his arms

"Thank you!" he whispers

"For what?"

"Being here, agreeing to be my wife, carrying our child and last but not least being my new business partner!"

"Your welcome West, there is no place I'd rather be! But I missed the part where I agreed to be your business partner" she adds

"When you brought the property plus it's included in the package!" he says as he leans in to kiss her

Just as their kiss deepens they are interrupted by Marcos their villa host.

"Mr. West, Mrs. West, your chef will be here shortly to begin lunch" he says softly

"Thank you!" West replies

"Do you all need anything Sir?"

"Yes, we will need two jet skis this afternoon" West adds

"Yes sir!" Marcos replies

As he leaves, West turns to Larissa and says

"How are you feeling?"

"Ok." she replies

"Just checking!" he says as he stands

Scooping her up he takes her into the master suite

After a long weekend filled with rest, relaxation and romance, the three R's to a healthy relationship, it's back to business as usual.

Monday morning after landing back in Orlando Larissa listens to a voicemail from officer Davis at the Jacksonville PD, about the break ins at her house, asking her to give him a call. West also has several messages from Brian, Rita and the office. Once they've gotten their luggage and head to the car Larissa returns officer Davis's call

"Hi, this is Larissa Mathews, returning officer Davis's call" she says

West listens to her one-sided conversation on their drive to the resort

"No, that's fine, I was out of town and just got your message"

"So, they were a match!" she states glancing at West

"He's been unconscious this long?"

"Really!" she says in disbelief

"No, I've moved to Orlando"

"Ok, thanks for the update" she states as she hangs up the call. Turning to West she says

"Wow!"

"Wow, what?" West replies

"So, Josh, the guy that broke into my house, he is paralyzed from the waist down. His prints also matched the partials from the prior break in, but he hasn't admitted to it. They're charging him with breaking and entering, unlawful imprisonment and a bunch of other stuff he said I don't remember." she states

"Ok!" West states

"Ok, that's all you're going to say."

"What do you want me to say?" he asks

"I don't know. I'm surprised you're not saying I told you so!"

"No, I wouldn't do that! I'm just glad he's in custody and your safe."

"You still haven't told me what happened that night. What he wanted?" she asks

"Nothing happened. He broke in, I shot him. End of story!" he replies

"He didn't say anything before you shot him?"

"Riss!" he says and looks at her "Why are we having this conversation? How am I supposed to know what he was thinking?"

"I just don't understand. First, he came to the resort after that he breaks into my house, then holds my neighbor hostage and waits until I'm home and breaks in again. I'm having a hard time understanding why. It just doesn't make any sense." she states

"Can we just put it behind us. Sometimes crazy people do crazy things." West says as he pulls into the resort

"That's easy for you to say!" she says then gets out of the car before he can put it in park

"Larissa!" he calls out

She doesn't respond. Not looking back, she walks inside, leaving West in the car. Giving her some time to cool off he heads into the front office to check in and see how things are going.

It takes about an hour before he makes it upstairs. Walking in with Noah, he sees Larissa is outside on the balcony. After showing Noah where to put the bags he heads toward the door. Opening it he sees that she's on a video call with Megan.

"Hi West!" Megan says as he walks up behind Larissa

"Hello Megan!" he replies waving at the screen

"So, make sure you tell Brian I said hello and I'll let you know about Atlanta. Talk to you later." Larissa says ending the call

"Babe, I'm sorry!" West says as Larissa sits not looking at him

"Sorry for what?" she replies

"I was insensitive to how you felt about all that has happened with this guy, Josh. And I'm sorry!" he states

"You shot and paralyzed somebody and you're not the least bit concerned as to why they were even there. Unless there is something you're not telling me." Larissa asks looking up at him

"He broke into your house. I shot him to protect you and our unborn child, and I'd do it again, Larissa I don't feel guilty for that! His reasons for breaking in don't matter. He broke in! And as to him being paralyzed, I fired a warning shot, he didn't stop, so that is his fault!" he states

"I understand all of that. I just need to know why. It's just really unsettling for me."

"He just said he wanted to talk to you." he says finally

"Talk about what?" she says softly

"I have no idea, that's all he said"

Wednesday morning, they arrive at the Dr's office. At this doctor visit they do several test and blood work. Dr. Smith also discusses preterm labor signs, childbirth classes and also choosing a pediatrician. At the end of the visit Dr. Smith does an ultrasound.

"The baby has a strong heartbeat" she says as the sound fills the exam room

"I can't get a clear view of the gender just yet. You are seventeen weeks as of yesterday, almost halfway. So, we will definitely be able to on your next visit." Dr. Smith states as she wraps up the visit

"Thank you" Larissa says sitting up

"So, let's make sure we keep an eye on your blood pressure, it was a little elevated when you arrived. I'll send the nurse back in to check it before you leave. I want to see you back in a few weeks." she states

The nurse comes back in and checks her pressure, surprised to see it's dropped slightly within the normal range.

After the visit Larissa schedules an appointment a few days after the New Year. Once they're in the car West says

"As much as I would love for you to be in the office with me, you really should be taking it easy."

"West, I'm fine. You act like I'm doing heavy lifting or something. I'm sure sitting qualifies as resting!"

West just looks at her then backs out of the parking spot. Larissa glances at him and smirks then says

"I have another month before I can start my shopping spree. So, I need something to do. If it's not with you then I'll find something else to do!"

"I should have told Dr. Smith that you need to be bedridden, hospitalized and forced to rest for the duration of this pregnancy! You are so hard-headed." he replies

"I feel like I am taking it easy!" she states

"That's not just physical, it's mental too!" he says, then continuing he states

"You have a million things going on in your head! I'm glad Rita is off of that list, but you have your house, that Josh guy, which I wish you'd just let go. And not to mention the pregnancy itself and all the discomforts that come along with that. Then all we have going on here with the expansion, trips and holiday stuff. I love you and the most important thing in all of that is you and the baby."

"West, you are making something out of nothing. My house is for sale, that's nothing to stress over. Discomforts are normal during pregnancy. I'm not going to tell you every time I'm tired or have a headache or I have a pain in my side or back or my feet swell or even that I feel fat! That's all apart of pregnancy. Trips are not stressful, they help me relax and take my mind off of things like the Josh nonsense!"

"You're almost halfway through, just promise me you won't push yourself too much." he replies

"I promise that after the Superbowl trip, I won't do anything else until I have this baby! You can lock me in the room and throw away the key until I do." she states

"Deal!" West states with a huge smile

"So, speaking of trips, I was hoping we were going to the game in Atlanta on Christmas Eve."

"No!" West replies

"Babe, it's the last regular season game." she replies with a frown

"I can't I need to be at work!"

"Ok, then I'll just go with Megan" she states

"Everything is tug of war with you! Can we ever just agree on something!" West states

"We agree that I love you!" she says sarcastically

"I'm serious!" he replies

"This is really getting old! If you really want to go to the game. I won't try to stop you, but I can't go."

Back at the resort West leans over and gives Larissa a gentle kiss. Then heads into the office and Larissa follows him.

Surprised West states

"Oh, you're working today?"

She walks around her desk and replies

"Maybe!"

As West walks into his office the phone rings

"This is West!" he states

"Hey dad"

"No, we had a doctor's appointment this morning. We just got back."

"For the most part. I guess she's fine."

"Larissa was just telling me about it. I have to work that weekend."

"Yes, we have plans to go to the super bowl. I can't see them not going, so we definitely won't miss that!"

As he finishes up his call Larissa leaves his office

"Larissa!" he calls out as he hangs up the phone

"Yes!" she replies

"I need to talk to you, please close the door behind you." he states as she walks back in sitting across from him she says

"What would you like to discuss, and will I need to take notes?"

"No, no notes. I've been thinking a lot lately about the resort and the fact that I've waited to hire a resort manager, partially because I wanted to run the day to day myself but also to avoid the expense. But I think its time I started trying to fill that position. Preferably before you have the baby. Would you be interested in helping me with the vetting and interview process?"

"Was the brunette from your office last week interviewing for that position?" she asks

"Who, Nina? No, what makes you say that?" he replies

"Just asking!" she states

"I would love to. I wish you could hire someone before Christmas!" she adds

"No, I already have a tight window, less than four months. We have to get started as soon as possible."

"No one on your staff now?" Larissa asks

"No, I'd rather it be someone with a little experience." he replies

"Don't change the subject. What made you bring up Nina?" he asks

"I was just curious. You haven't worked with her dad for some time now..."

"No Larissa, I've never dated her" West states answering her unspoken question

"Looks like she's still working on that!" she smirks

"She can stop trying, maybe she'll get the message after we're married! Trust me that could never happen" he replies

"She didn't get that memo."

"Riss, I introduced her to Brian at a party three or four years ago, just to get rid of her. I think they went to the same college. So, trust me when I tell you, I'm so not interested."

Larissa smirks and says

"Good!"

"I like you being jealous though, it's sexy!" he states with that sneaky grin

Then standing up, he walks over and locks the door. Larissa turns to him and says

"West, not in the office!"

"Why not, we haven't christened it yet!" he says pulling her up from her chair he gives her a fervent kiss that resonates deep within her

"West!" she whispers softly

"Babe, I can't walk upstairs like this!" he says unzipping his pants.

Over the next several weeks West gets Larissa well acquainted with everything related to all segments of the resort. Introducing her to all of the staff and management. They begin interviewing various candidates for the resort manager position and not finding anyone suitable they decide to give it a rest until after New Years.

Late one evening West walks into the penthouse to find Larissa kneeling at the toilet, just after vomiting.

"Babe, you ok?" he asks

"No!" she replies as she vomits again

Leaving her West goes and gets a ginger ale and crackers and puts them on the table by the bed. Walking back into the bathroom he wets and then places a cool towel on her neck.

"Do you want me to take you to the emergency room?" he asks

"No, I'll be ok" she replies grabbing a towel from the shelf and wiping her face

"Are you sure? You should at least call Dr. Smith" he states softly

"Yes, I will. I have an appointment next week!" she replies as she walks through the living room and out onto the balcony

Laying on the lounge chair she asks

"How's everything at the office?"

"Fine! Don't worry about the office. Are you sure you're ok?" he then sits on the lounge chair next to her

"I've said I'm fine like ten times. What is that?" she says referring to a letter he's holding in his hand

"It's a letter that came for you today"

"For me?" she replies

"Give it to me!" she says with a playful smirk

"Yes, for you. But before I give it to you, I want to warn you that it's probably from that stalker. The guy that broke into your house." West states

"Josh! What do you mean? He's in jail!" she snaps

"It's from a corrections facility."

"You opened it?' she asks

"No!"

"Just give it to me!" she states

West tosses the letter on her lap and walks back inside to grab her drink and crackers.

"Why would he be sending me a letter?" she states as she begins opening it.

Larissa,

My father, "Jon Doe" to you, was a patient of Dr. Mathews, your mother, for six years. He would have days where he thought he was invincible and other days he didn't want to live. Sometimes for days or weeks at a time he wouldn't get out of bed, then other times he couldn't sleep for days. My mother and I lived in hell because of his condition for years, it progressed as he got older. We hid the truth fearing everyone would think he was crazy. Ten years ago, my mom divorced him, after begging him to get help their entire marriage. My grandmother, who he lived with after the divorce couldn't talk him into getting help either. One night he had a manic attack and beat my grandmother to death with a lamp. The judge that sentenced him was "sympathetic" and sentenced him to life in prison or rehabilitation in an inpatient psychiatric facility where he would get the help he needed. He was then admitted under the care of a Dr. Samantha Mathews. She experimented with hundreds of different medication combinations over four years with no improvement. She then convinced him to try electroconvulsive therapy that seemed to have caused his depression and manic episodes to happen more frequently. The week before he was killed he escaped from the facility and raped then beat my mom into a coma. She's been in that same coma for four years until she died this past September. The day he was killed he called me, and I convinced him to turn his self in. He said he would under one condition if Dr. Mathews picked him up and drove him back to the facility. She had ruined his life and completely brainwashed him, but he acted like she was a god, completely dependent on her. And she took full advantage of it, using him as a personal case study. Trying experimental drugs and therapy techniques on him like he was some type of fucking lab rat. The night my mother died I looked for you at that fucking resort, Pamela said you would be there the entire weekend! Your mother ruined my life she brainwashed my father causing him to murder my mother. You'd better be damn glad that your parents are dead! I only wish I could have had something to do with it! Your fucking Dr. Mother is the reason both my parents are dead! And now your fucking hot shot of a boyfriend has paralyzed me, and I'll never walk again. I hope the two of you rot in hell with that Dr. Bitch mother of yours!

J

West watches intensely as she reads the letter. After she finishes, she lays her head back on the chair and closes her eyes.

"This guy is a complete psycho!" she says softly folding the letter back up

"We already knew that!" West replies

"Read this" Larissa states reaching him the letter

West sits quietly reading the letter. As Larissa sits rereading it over in her head. After a minute she realizes her mother wasn't cheating on her father. The guy in the car was a patient, she had just taken him some of her father's clothes, and was taking him back to the facility, that's why he had no ID.

"Pamela!" Larissa shouts just as West folds up the letter

"Babe, what's wrong?" he states

"Pam, that's how he knew where I was all the time!" she replies

"She is the one that told him I was going to be here at the resort, the night he came looking for me." she states in disbelief

"How did you say you knew her?" West asks

"She works at the airport!" she says then takes a deep breath

"How could I have been so stupid. I thought she was actually my friend."

"Riss, it's ok, she's not at your house anymore and you don't work for the airline anymore. So, don't worry about it!" he replies

"I befriended her, the flooding at her apartment probably wasn't even true. All the crap with my house didn't start until I let her stay there."

"This guy is in jail and still driving you crazy. Please, just let this go. It's all in the past and you can't change any of it. And you don't need to be stressing. I knew I shouldn't have given you this letter." West says

"We have dinner with your parents tonight. We need to be leaving soon!" Larissa states

"Are you sure your up for it?" he asks

"Yes, I'm fine! Please stop treating me like a child. I'm going to put on my shoes and I'll be ready in a minute." she states with an attitude then walks into the house, not giving him a chance to respond

Following her into the house he lays the letter on the counter and walks into the room behind her

"I'm sorry, if that's the way I came off. I'm just trying to make sure you're ok. That's not easy to do all the time. You feel like as long as you're not dead nothing is wrong." he pauses then reaches for her hand

"It's not just you I'm worried about. Your carrying our precious baby boy!"

Larissa smiles and says

"Boy! So, you just know it's a boy ha?"

"Of course, I do!" he replies then gives her a long passionate kiss

"I'm sorry. I will not forget about little James West! I'm sure my dad is smiling down on us every time you have one of these "let me take care of you" talks with me." she states

Wrapping her arms around his neck she pulls him into another kiss that ignites lust and desire. West pulls back and says

"We have plans!"

"We can be a few minutes late!" she states as she gently pushes him back onto the bed

Larissa helps Rita in the kitchen while West and his dad talk business.

"Do they ever talk about anything besides business?" Larissa asks

"Not really, especially not around me. I got cut off from my son's personal life a long time ago. My own fault of course!" she states

"I'm sorry" Larissa states just as she realizes she really has to pee

"I'll be right back" she says as she goes to the bathroom

In the bathroom she sees that she has begun spotting a little. Contributing the spotting to the sex they had prior to leaving the house, she chooses not to mention it. Less than five minutes later she is back, they finish setting the table and sit down to dinner. West and Joe are off of business and are now discussing sports. With Brian's huge division playoff game this weekend they are all anxious to see whether or not they will make it to the super bowl.

"On a lighter note, we go find out the sex of the baby next week. Even though I already know it's a boy!" West says with a huge smile glancing over at Larissa

"I'm betting it's a girl" Rita replies

"There is definitely no hiding your baby bump now" Joe states

"I know. West thinks it's the cutest thing, but I just feel fat" Larissa replies

"Have you started to feel any kicks?" Rita asks

"Just barely."

"It will be over before you know it honey." Rita states

"Dad, you said you guys are going to the game Monday, right?" West asks

"Yes, we're leaving Sunday morning. I sure hate you guys can't make it." he states

"West doesn't want me doing too much traveling but we're definitely going to the super bowl in three weeks, fingers crossed!" Larissa replies

After dinner they sit out by the pool and Larissa and Rita have a quick video call with Megan. While they're on the phone Joe takes West into his office to show him a project that he's been working on. After their phone call, West asks Larissa to come into the house and shows her the architectural model Joe has started on. West explains how he gave him a copy of the plans for the expansion and not being able to fully retire from his passion of architecture he started on a scale model.

"Wow! This is amazing. It really makes the plans come alive. I love it. It's exactly what I envisioned from the plans you showed me." she says in awe as she walks around the model

"Me too. I told him that we have to start on the plans for the house, so he can start on a model of it when he's done with this one." West states

As they say their goodbyes Larissa begins to feel really tired. So not waiting for West she heads to the car and leans her head on the roof. On the ride home she is very quiet, making West suspicious.

Once they're home he asks

"Will you take a quick shower with me?"

Not looking at him she quickly says

"Sure!"

West turns on the shower and goes into his office. Larissa quickly undresses and gets rid of her liner. Not wanting to have to explain it, she gets into the shower and lets the water run down her aching back. Closing her eyes, she exhales, but not long after she opens her eyes, she sees West coming back into the bathroom. He undresses and after glancing around he gets into the shower.

"So, you couldn't wait for me?" he whispers softly

"I'm sorry!" she replies trying to give him a quick kiss on the cheek, but he quickly turns his head and deepens the kiss. His arousal evident by his growing erection pressed firmly against her. Pulling away she whispers

"Babe, I'm tired."

Stepping back West asks

"What's wrong?"

"Nothing!" she mumbles

So, he pulls her back into his arms and she finally says

"I'm done. I'm getting out" then turning around she gets out of the shower

West having already seen the panty liner, gets out not long after her. He walks over and picks her up, after laying her on the bed he lays down next to her. Then he leans in to kiss her and she puts up her hand.

"I'm spotting!" she whispers

Standing up, he reaches for her hand and helps her sit up.

"Why didn't you say anything?" he breathes softly

"West" she states

"I already knew, I saw the liner Riss" he replies

"Ugh, you are so..." she begins then stops

"I'm not blind or stupid Larissa. I know when somethings wrong with you. This is just the first time I wouldn't stop pushing!" he confesses

"YOU SAID YOU WOULDN'T TREAT ME LIKE A CHILD!" she snaps

"You keep telling me your fine and you're not! So, we both lied, I guess we're even!" he says

"You keep telling me not to stress but YOU ARE STRESSING ME THE HELL OUT!" she shouts

"DAMMIT LARISSA! AS LONG AS YOU ARE CARRYING MY CHILD, I HAVE EVRY RIGHT TO BE CONCERNED!" he snaps

"IF YOU DIDN'T TRUST ME TO CARRY YOUR CHILD, YOU NEVER SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN ME PREGNANT!" she shouts a lot louder than she intends

"Watch your tone and put some clothes on!" West snaps then grabs a pair of pajama pants and leaves the room

Larissa just sits on the edge of the bed wrapped in a towel. Furious with West and herself she immediately begins to regret everything she said. Getting up she puts on some clothes and climbs into bed.

The following morning West heads into the room to wake Larissa, walking into the room he sees that Larissa isn't in bed. So, he knocks on the bathroom door, not getting an answer he opens the door. Larissa is sitting on the toilet with her head down. Not wanting the argument from last night to continue he says

"Breakfast is ready if you want something to eat"

Closing the door before she has time to respond, he goes back into his office, where he slept last night and checks his emails. Finally, Larissa comes out of the room. As she sits down at the bar West walks into the kitchen and fixes her plate.

"Good morning!" he says as he sits her plate down in front of her

"Morning!" she replies softly

"As awful as I was to you last night, you got up and fixed me breakfast?" she states a little puzzled

"I didn't do it for you!" he replies with that sexy smile

"There isn't any poison or anything in this is it?" she asks

"I would never do anything to deliberately hurt you, either of you!"

"I'm just kidding" she replies

"I owe you an apology for the way I acted last night. I overreacted, I know that you love me and just want to take care of us. Which is still taking some getting used to." she states softly

West walks around the counter and says

"It's only been five months. This is still new to both of us. But we have to realize it's not just us anymore!" he whispers gently placing his hand on her belly

"I know and I'm sorry!" she replies

"I forgive you! Just be honest with me please!" he says

"Your breakfast is getting cold!" he adds then grabbing his plate he sits next to her at the bar.

"I have to go into the office in a few" West states

"Ok"

"You're more than welcome to come with me if you like. I would actually like for you to."

In the following weeks they have their scheduled ultrasound to find out the gender of their baby. To Larissa's surprise West is right, they are having a baby boy. Who they have chosen to name James West Jr. Almost in tears they are overcome with joy to see him getting so big on the screen with a strong heartbeat. Larissa is now twenty-two weeks. The ultrasound also helps to calm West's worries about Larissa doing too much. But with the upcoming trip he makes sure she schedules an appointment the day before they leave.

Brian had another phenomenal game, contributing to the 30–21 win in the playoffs sending them to the Superbowl. Thrilled to be going to Texas for the super bowl Larissa and West go shopping for more team gear to wear on their trip. Holding on to the news about the sex of the baby they decide to tell everyone at dinner, Friday night before they leave.

Friday morning, they head to Larissa's doctors visit. Once they've checked in, they sit waiting for Dr. Smith to come in

"Larissa, James! How are you both today" she asks

"Good" Larissa replies quickly glaring at West

"Great! So, we're having a little boy! Have you guys picked a name yet?" Dr Smith asks pulling out a small box to listen to the baby's heartbeat

"Yes, he's going to be a Jr!" West says with a bright smile

"James West Jr!" Larissa whispers over the sound of Jr's heartbeat filling the exam room

"Ok, that's awesome. So, tell me about any symptoms you've been having" Dr. Smith states as she puts away the machine and cleans the jelly from Larissa's belly

"Well, I've been nauseous and vomiting my entire pregnancy. So it's a new normal for me, but West is always concerned" she adds

"As well he should be! When it comes to nausea and vomiting, it is different for everyone. The symptoms that accompany it is really what causes us alarm. You are almost twenty- four weeks, so the nausea should begin to subside. I can give you something for it in the meantime. Have any other symptoms accompanied the nausea and vomiting?" Dr. Smith asks

"Random things not all at once, like headaches, a little swelling which I've had since before I even knew I was pregnant and a little spotting." Larissa states looking at West

"Now all of those things are normal for pregnancy but can also be signs of many different serious conditions like miscarriage, preeclampsia, gestational diabetes, placenta previa or placental abruption. All of which are not easy to detect, so it's important for you to pay close attention to your symptoms. Give me a call night or day if you have any questions." she states

"Is it safe for her to travel at this stage of the pregnancy?" West asks

"I don't see why not, your twenty-three weeks almost twenty-four as long as it's not out of the country. In case of an emergency you should not hesitate to go to the nearest emergency room. Just make sure your getting plenty of rest and stay hydrated. I will give you my cell, so you can call me. If you do have to go to the ER, you can have them call me. I want to see you back next week. Will you be back then?" she asks

"Yes, we will. We are just going to the super bowl in Texas, my brother is playing. We should be back by Wednesday." West replies

"Ok, schedule to see me next Thursday or Friday." Dr Smith states

"Okay!" Larissa states

"Thank you!" West replies

"One more thing, your blood pressure was a little high when you came back, I will send the nurse back in to double check it. If it's dropped, you can go. If it's still high I would like to get some urine and do some blood work." Dr Smith states as she stands up and leaves the exam room.

Larissa's blood pressure is still elevated so they do some blood work, and she leaves a urine sample, then she schedules a visit for the following Friday. After the doctor's visit they head to the mall. West states

"We should probably just head home so you can rest."

"If there was something wrong, she wouldn't have let me leave the office!" Larissa replies

"We only have a few things to get. It won't even take an hour" she adds

"Ok!" he replies

"Thank you!" she smirks

Later that evening they have dinner with West's parents. Just as they arrive West sends Brian the ultrasound picture and tells him that they are having a baby boy. Larissa also sends the picture to Megan, who she has become really good friends with over the last few months. Once Mrs. and Mr. West are seated and they've all ordered drinks West takes out the pictures of the ultrasound and says

"Mom I want to let you down gently...."

"It's a boy!" Larissa says cutting him off

"That's awesome!" Joe says amused

"Congratulations you two, that is wonderful!" Rita states

"It's ok, I'll just have to wait on the next one!" she adds

"Wait, we have to get the wedding out of the way first!" West says

"I'm sorry to disappoint you all but this will be the one and only!" Larissa says sweetly

Everyone looks at her and a little disappointed Rita asks

"You only want one child?"

"If I have to carry it, yes ma'am! West is about to drive me nuts. I don't think I'll be able to handle all this attention again. I'm still trying to figure out how to make it the rest of this pregnancy."

"Don't worry honey, your more than welcome to come stay with us for a while!" Rita tells Larissa

After dinner, once they're upstairs in the penthouse. They sit down on the couch and West says

"We are supposed to be leaving in the morning. But I'm still not sure about this trip!"

"We can't miss this trip it's the super bowl!" she replies

West laying his hand on her belly, leans over and begins to talk to the baby. After a minute, the baby starts kicking.

"Even he agrees with me!" Larissa says as they giggle

"I guess I can't argue with both of you! Just promise you'll take it easy." he replies with a smirk

"Thank you!" she says leaning over giving him a kiss

The next morning West gets up and says

"Morning gorgeous!" as he walks over and gives her a kiss he adds

"Why are you up so early. I had other plans for breakfast!"

Glancing down she sees exactly what he means. Taking her finger, she pulls at the waist band of his pants and says

"Looks good, as always but I already cooked, we have to get going. We have a flight to catch."

After a two-and-a-half-hour flight, they land in Texas. When they arrive at the hotel Mrs. and Mr. West check in and head straight to their suite. Larissa is moving a little slow, from the back pain she woke up with. Sitting down near the elevator she waits for West to finish checking them in.

"Do you want to get something to eat?" West says as they get on the elevator

"Not right now. Megan will be here in a few minutes. We can get something then." Larissa replies

Once they get settled in West states

"It's only noon, so we should have time to get something to eat but you have to rest before dinner tonight"

"West!" she replies

"How are you really feeling?" he adds quickly

"I'm pregnant!" she states as she lays across the bed

"I'm really not hungry, but my back is aching." she adds softly

"You should eat a little something. You didn't eat much of your breakfast." he says

"Ugh, stop! Your stressing me out! This is supposed to be a big weekend full of fun and celebration. Please don't suck all the fun out of it for me!" she pouts

Just as West walks over to the bed her phone rings. He gently swats her on the butt and says

"Go ahead!"

Seeing that it's Megan calling she answers

"Hello!" she says putting the phone on speaker

"Hey Larissa, have you guys checked in yet?" Megan asks

"Yes! We're waiting for you to get checked in, so we can grab lunch." Larissa replies glaring at West

"Ok, I'm in my room now" she replies

They agree to meet in the lobby in ten minutes and they choose to eat at the hotel restaurant. Excited to see each other, the ladies pretty much pretend West isn't there and get caught up. Megan tells Larissa how excited she is for them to be having a boy. Megan also tells her that she is super excited to finally be getting her office space next month and that she and Brian have a lot of catching up to do over the next few months. This season had been crazy, Brian has been all football for the last three months since he began starting and she's hardly seen him. They talk a little about Nina and how she showed up at one of Brian's practices.

Larissa is nauseous when they arrive back in the room. Leaning over the toilet she becomes really dizzy as she vomits

Watching her West asks

"Do you feel like it was something you ate?"

"I'm ok" she replies softly after a minute

"Ok, I'd really rather we didn't go out tonight." he states a little concerned

"I'll just take a nap! I have a headache, but I really don't want to miss dinner."

"Get some rest and we'll see." he replies helping her into bed

Walking around the bed West gets in with her.

"I love you!" he whispers softly as he wraps his arm around her placing his hand gently on her belly

"I love you more!" she replies placing her hand on top of his

They both drift to sleep quickly. A few hours later West wakes up to his phone ringing. Gently sliding out of bed he sees that it's his dad.

"This is West!" he states

"West, are you all still wanting to join us for dinner this evening?" Joe asks

"Well..." he says quietly

"I'm only asking because it's after seven and we hadn't heard from you" he states by way of explanation

"Is it really that late" West says a little shocked

Turning around he sees Larissa leaning out of bed and vomiting on the floor.

"Dad, I'll call you right back!" he states quickly then hangs up

Helping her sit up on the edge of the bed he says

"I'm seriously starting to worry, Larissa! It's been days since you could hold anything down and now you're having headaches too. And that's just what your telling me about!"

Larissa just looks at him for a minute then asks

"What time is it?"

"Time for me to take you to the hospital!" he snaps

She sits there for a second, then she gets up to get her phone. Strolling through she calls someone

"That better be 911!" West states

Larissa sits watching him closely, as the phone rings

"Hey, Megan! I'm not going to make it to dinner tonight. I'm sorry!"

"No, I'm just not feeling good"

She listens to Megan on the other end for a second then hangs up. Standing up she heads to the bathroom and becomes very dizzy and starts seeing spots. Not saying anything to West she walks into the bathroom very slow and gets into the shower. West sits at the edge of the bed. Picking up the phone he calls his dad back and lets him know they're not going to make it for dinner.

"Is everything ok?" Joe asks

"Not really... I don't know Dad!"

"What's wrong West?" he asks a little confused

"Larissa, isn't feeling well."

"Is she okay?" he asks

"She has been really nauseous, and she just threw up again."

"West, just be there for her, that's all you can do. If you need anything just let us know. We'll see you kids tomorrow!"

"Good night dad"

West hangs up the phone and heads into the bathroom to join Larissa in the shower. Walking in he stares at her pregnant figure behind the shower door, after a minute he finally gets in. Wrapping his arms around her he gives her a brief kiss and whispers

"I love you!"

Larissa remains quiet and pulls out of his arms and exits the shower. West at a total disadvantage, quickly showers and slips on his pajama pants. Walking back into the room he sees her lying in bed scrolling through her phone.

"Can I get you something?" West asks sweetly

"Some water please" she replies after a beat

Giving her a bottle of water, he asks

"You don't want anything to eat?"

"No, I'm not hungry" she replies almost too quickly

"You haven't been able to hold anything down. Please eat some soup or crackers." he asks

"I'll eat some crackers, to make you happy!" she replies

"Thank you!" he says picking up the phone to call room service

West fires up his laptop and checks his emails then looks in on the hotel security cameras. After about ten minutes there is a knock on the door.

West gives her the crackers and goes back over to the desk to shut down his laptop then climbs into bed. Pretending to be reading on his phone he watches Larissa as she nibbles on the crackers, not saying a word. Turning to West she says

"Please stop pretending like you're not watching me!" closing her eyes as if she's in pain she takes a deep breath

"Larissa!" he says softly

"West, just stop! Please!" she whispers putting the crackers on the table and rolling onto her side she turns her back to him

West moves closer to her in the bed and wraps his arm around her then says

"I don't want to lose you, either of you!" he says softly, rubbing her belly

"We are not going anywhere!" she says

Turning around she kisses him gently. West sits up and pulls her onto his lap. Sitting astride him, she starts kissing him on his cheek, then his neck and just as she leans in further he begins pulling her silk pink nighty up over her head.

Larissa wakes up around nine and heading into the bathroom she hears West say

"Larissa!"

Walking into the bathroom behind her he says

"Babe, your bleeding!"

"I know!" she says looking down

West goes and turns on the shower

"How are you feeling?" he asks nervous to see that amount of blood

"I'm ok West, remember Dr. Smith said that some bleeding was normal after intercourse." continuing she says

"And we did have...."

"I know! But Riss, this is more than spotting! We're going to the hospital!"

"West please! I've spotted before, for weeks now. I have pads and if It doesn't stop by the end of the day, I'll go."

"Larissa!?" he states

"I Promise!" she answers and stands up to get into the shower

West is pulling their clothes out when his phone rings

"This is West!" he says glancing in the bathroom at Larissa

"Good morning, West"

"Morning Dad, what's up?"

"Nothing. How is Larissa?" Joe asks

"She insist that she's ok"

"We were a little worried after I talked to you last night"

"Where's mom?" West asks to change the subject

"She's getting dressed. We were headed down to get some pastries and coffee. If you all are up for company, we'll bring some by"

As Larissa gets out of the shower he whispers

"Are you up for company?"

"Sure, I was just about to call Megan"

"Ok, my parents are bringing pastries and coffee." he replies

"Sure dad, bring enough for Megan too please. Can you bring Larissa orange juice instead of coffee. I'll pay you back when you get here"

"We'll be up in a bit" Joe states then hangs up

After getting dressed they begin discussing the plans for the day, then there is a knock at the door. West opens the door and Megan, Joe and Rita enter the room. Megan says

"Oh my gosh! This makes my room look tiny, this is gorgeous!" she says amazed to see the size of their Luxury Suite

"Good morning honey, how are you feeling?" Rita says as she gives Larissa a quick hug

"I'm ok" she replies softly

They all sit around eating the pastries and coffee Joe and Rita brought.

"Dinner tonight after the game is going to be here at the hotel. I'm having it catered, because it will be late. I doubt Brian will make it, but I hope we're able to see him before we leave Tuesday." West states

"What time is your flight Tuesday?" Megan asks

"It's at ten something" he replies

Rita and Larissa discuss their plans to go shopping and get the nursery set up over the next few weeks when they arrive back home. Megan says her, and Brian will definitely have to plan a trip to visit soon. Joe and Rita decide to go out and do a little sight-seeing. So, Larissa gets Megan to stay and keep her company, after promising West she would take it easy until the game tonight. West walks his parents out as Larissa heads to the room and gets in the bed. Megan lays across the bed for a few hours and they talk about any and everything from the resort to the letter from Josh. Soon Larissa falls asleep and Megan finds West at the desk on his laptop.

"West, Larissa fell asleep. I'll see you guys at the game in a little while." she says heading towards the door

"Ok, thank you for keeping her company!"

"No problem, my pleasure." she replies as she leaves

West glances at the clock and sees that it's a little after five and decides to lay with Larissa for a little while until it's time to head to the stadium

Everyone meets in the hotel lobby. Larissa aching all over and struggling to keep up, not wanting West to know how uncomfortable she's become. Although she can't hide her slightly swollen hands her feet are covered.

"Riss, your hands and face are a little swollen! Are you sure you're ok?" Megan whispers as they head to the car

"I'm ok, I'm going to go to the hospital after the game, cause I'm still bleeding!" she replies quietly as West glances back at her

As they reach the car West pulls her to the side and asks

"Are you sure you're ok? Did you stop bleeding yet?"

"Not completely, but I'm okay!" she states then gets in the car

He stands there briefly then follows her

At the stadium she's slowed down quite a bit. Megan walks slow with her allowing the others to walk ahead.

"Larissa, are you sure your up for this? You look like shit!" Megan states as sweetly as possible

"Yeah, that's exactly how I feel to, but it's just a few hours"

Joe and Rita stop to take pictures giving them time to catch up. After taking several more pictures they head to their seats, the stadium begins to fill quickly. Everyone is thrilled, and the stadium gets loud as kick off begins.

Half way into the second quarter West turns to Larissa and sees that she has her eyes closed and watches her take a deep breath. Wrapping his arm around her, he leans over and asks

"Babe, are you okay?"

As he does she lays her head on his shoulder and faints.

familySeriesLove
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Pollard

Loving house wife and mother with a passion for writing. With hopes of one day becoming a published author and script writer. This is the place to find a drama filled love story you'll love! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.