Fiction logo

Love at First Chocolatey Piece

An Old Man's Retelling of How He Met the Love of his Life

By Juniper WoodstonePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Love at First Chocolatey Piece
Photo by Pushpak Dsilva on Unsplash

I remember the day like it was yesterday. I was sitting in a diner off of Route 93, in some rinky dink little college town, my head pounding with a hangover as I sipped the hot black coffee from a mug. I had been looking out the window when I saw her pass by, my heart racing as my palms broke out into a sweat. Her coppery curls bounced as she walked and for a split second, I swear we had seen into each other's souls. Her bright green eyes held such promise and I swore my heart was going to beat itself out of my throat.

Her eyes turned away from mine, clutching some books tightly to her chest. I tore my eyes from her retreating back and I stared back into the abyss of my coffee. The mug was warm against my palms and I brought it to my lips again, taking another sip. I cursed myself as I rubbed my tired eyes. I had drank entirely more scotch than what I had originally intended when I went by Tim's place the night before.

A heavy sigh escaped my lips and I looked out the window again, taking in the autumn scenery. The houses down the street were littered with piles of multi-colored leaves and carved pumpkins stood guard on their doorsteps. Halloween was just last night and I spotted a few young people walking home in the early morning dawn, cradling their own heads.

I smirked, glad to know that I wasn't the only person who was reaping the consequences after a fun night out. Suddenly the bell above the diner door rang through the air, and I winced. The noise was splitting my skull and I grimaced. Soft voices picked up by the register and when I opened my eyes, my heart was racing again.

Standing there, by the door, was the young woman I had locked eyes with just a few minutes ago. She spoke with the waitress and turned her eyes towards me. A sheepish smile spread across her rosy cheeks and she approached my table slowly. She bit her ruby red lip and I watched as her body did a short lived wiggle as she came to stand before me.

She gestured towards the other empty half of the booth. "This seat isn't taken, is it?" she asked. Her voice was like music to my ears and words escaped me as I nodded my head, gesturing towards the empty seat. She set her books on the table and slid in across from me. Her silver horn-rimmed glasses framed her eyes more beautifully than I thought upon first seeing her. "I saw you. I-in the window I mean."

I chuckled awkwardly and nodded back, forcing myself to glance down at my coffee. "I wasn't so sure," I responded, forcing my voice to not shake. I scratched at the stubble beneath my chin. "I'm Michael."

The young lady before me giggled and extended her hand out to me. "It's a pleasure to meet you, Michael. I'm Susan." When I took her hand, it was as if electricity had danced its way through the course of my body. I suddenly became aware that my hands were still slick with sweat and gingerly pulled my hand back, wiping them on my wrinkled jeans.

"Sorry about that. Pretty women make me nervous."

Susan's cheeks broke into a red blush and she emitted a soft giggle. "I bet you say that to all the girls." The waitress came by, placing a glass of white milk and a slice of chocolate cake in front of Susan.

"There you are, dear. Anything else?" The older woman asked, her southern accent heavy.

Susan shook her head as she picked up the fork, taking a small bite. "No, thank you." I glanced down at her cake. It was a darker chocolate, probably Devil's food, as I would later find out was her favorite type of cake, coated with a creamy chocolate frosting. My eyes shifted to her stacks of books. She had three, two appeared to be textbooks, and one smaller at the top.

"You a big reader?" I asked, my eyes meeting hers. She took a sip from her milk and turned the books so I could see the titles. Sure enough, I was right. There were two nursing textbooks and a book titled, Matilda.

"I'm going to school to be a nurse," Susan explained and I nodded my head, thoroughly impressed.

"That's amazing. Nursing is a wonderful profession, in my opinion. You like to read?" She blushed again and I still swear that that was the moment I knew she had my heart.

"I dabble here and there," she responded before taking another nibble of her cake. "I tend to study more though. Reading seems to be the only thing I have a lot of time for."

"Other than approaching strangers in a diner?" I teased, a toothy grin plastered across my face.

Susan giggled, taking a drink from her glass. "You betcha! I do this about twice a week," she joked back. She gave me a quick glance before pushing the cake towards the middle of the table. "Would you like a piece? Feels rude to eat in front of someone...and judging from your pallor I'd say you need to eat."

I chuckled, picking up the unused fork next to me. "Is that your professional opinion, Nurse?" She chuckled again, covering her mouth with her hand. I noted the dusting of freckles on her fingers and I blinked, my eyes meeting hers again.

"Yes," she said, a bite of cake in her mouth. "You need to ingest some of this cake, stat!" We broke into fits of laughter, attempting to keep it down so as not to bother what few patrons were left around us.

We were sneaking glances at each other as we sat silently eating. We exchanged small nervous smiles. I couldn't get over how beautiful she was and smart to boot. We sat together for what felt like seconds, the cake reduced to crumbs between the two of us. She took a final swig of her milk and glanced at her watch.

Her eyes widened and she jumped to her feet. "Shit! I'm late! I'm so sorry, but I have to go!" She reached into her purse and I held my hand up.

"I'll get it. You go," I said, my eyes locking with hers again.

"I couldn't possibly-" I waved off her words, a smile stretched across my cheeks.

"I insist. You'll be later than you already are if you don't head out now." She glanced down at her watch again and whispered another obscenity under her breath. She quickly gathered her things, hurrying towards the door.

"Thank you!" she shouted over her shoulder. Her exit was announced by the ringing of the bell. I smiled and rose to my own feet. It was getting to be about that time. I fished some money from my wallet and dropped it onto the table before preparing to head out myself. I tugged my coat on and stopped in my tracks. Sitting there atop the table, was Susan's copy of Matilda.

I glanced through the windows, spotting her retreating back turning the corner. I quickly snatched up the book and broke into run out the door. I sprinted after her, a light drizzle coming down. I crossed the street not bothering to look up. A driver honked his horn in protest, but I was on a mission. I saw her through the trickle of people making their way to and from the college, and sped up to reach her.

"Susan! Susan, wait!" I watched as she jumped and spun on her heel. Her eyes widened in surprise and I approached her, gasping as my lungs continued to ache. "You...forgot...your...book." She gave me a small sweet smile as she took the book from me.

I bent over, resting my hands against my knees. "You didn't have to run all this way," she said kindly. "but thank you so much for doing so." I looked up at her and smile.

"Now ya tell me!" I joked and she chuckled. I rose to my full height, barely a foot taller than her.

"I feel I should reward you," Susan said sweetly. She opened the cover of her book and slipped a pen from her hair. She scribbled something into it and closed the book, handing it back to me. "Thank you again, Michael. I hope to see you again." She turned on her heel, continuing her hustle to her class.

I stood there watching her go and glanced down. I opened the book and my heart jumped to my throat.

Inside she had written: 'Let's have another piece of cake. 555-0179 Susan Pomeroy'

I looked up and Susan gave me a wave before going inside. I closed the book and tucked it into my jacket as I made my way home.

That, kids, is how I met the love of my life, who later became my wife. As I lay in this hospice bed, writing about it, I want only to remind you all of one thing. True love only happens once. I was just lucky enough to meet the woman of my dreams. Had she not walked into that diner that day, I may not have gone on to have the life I did. Three wonderful daughters and seven incredible grandchildren later and still I love Susan just as much as the day I met her. Sure we had our fights, disagreements, and what have you, but that never stifled the love we held for each other deep within out hearts.

Let this be a lesson. Soulmates do exist and they're a wonderful gift from God. Sometimes you have to open your eyes to find love...and other times love knocks on your front door wondering where you've been all their life. I will never forget the day I met Susan...and now the story can live on forever in your hearts.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Juniper Woodstone

An aspiring writer sharing her short-written pieces in both series and stand alone. I am hoping to one day publish my own book. I hope you enjoy reading my stories as much as I have enjoyed writing them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.