Fiction logo

LOVE AND TIME

Feelings

By Motunrayo SabaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2

There was an island where all feelings lived. Happiness, Sadness, Knowledge and all other feelings including love. One day, it was announced to the feelings that the island would sink. All other feelings constructed their boats and left except for love.

Love was the only one who stayed behind. Love wanted to hold out until the last possible moment but when the island has almost sunk, love decided to ask for help.

Richness was passing by in a grand boat and Love asked Richness, “can you take me with you?”. Richness answered “no, there is a lot of gold and silver in my boat, there is no place for you here”.

Love decided to ask vanity, who was also passing by in a beautiful vessel, “Vanity, please help me” “I can’t help you said vanity, you are all wet and might damage my boat”.

Sadness was close by so Love decided to ask Sadness for help. “Sadness please let me go with you” “Oh…. Love, I am so sad that I need to be by myself!” Sadness replied. Happiness also passed by but was too happy to hear Love call for help.

Suddenly, there was a voice. “Come Lovei will take you with me”. It was an elder. Love was so blessed and overjoyed that she forgot to ask the elder where they were going. When they arrived at dry land the elder went her way, realized how much she owed the elder, Love asked another elder( Knowledge), “Who helped me?”. “It was time” Knowledge replied. “Time?”asked Love. “But why did time helped me”. Knowledge smiled with deep wisdom and answered, “Because only Time understands how valuable Love is”.

WISH UPON A STAR

OFF IN THE DISTANCE OF THE TWILIGHT SKY SHINES THE TWINKLING LIGHTS OF AIRPLANES IN THE NIGHT. IN THE CITY THE SKY IS SO BRIGHT AT DUSK THAT THE STARS ARE PALE TO ITS RADIANCE.

THE GIRL FROM THE CITY'S NEVER SEEN A DARK SKY, EVEN THE MOON GLOWS DIMLY FROM THE STREET'S LIGHTS. FROM HER TOO-CLEAN BEDROOM SHE MAKES A WISH ON EVERY AIRPLANE THAT PASSES BY. HOPING ONE IS A STAR AS THERE THE BRIGHTEST THINGS IN THE SKY. EACH NIGHT SHE MAKES WISHES, FACE PRESSED TO THE GLASS: TO PLANES WHO CANT HEAR HER OR GRANT HER REQUESTS.

ON THE NIGHT THAT THE DOCTORS SAID SHOULD BE HER LAST. THE WHOLE CITYS POWER HAPPENED TO GO OUT. SHE LOOKED TO THE SKY AND SAW EVERY STAR: IT LOOKED LIKE HEAVENS WOULD HEAR IF SHE CALLED. SO SHE WISHED AND SHE WISHED UPON EVERY NIGHT STAR AND WITH HER LAST BREATH A KIND FAIRY DID FALL IT WHISKED HER AWAY INTO THE DARK BRISK SPRING NIGHT. AND HER WISH TO BE HEALTHY WAS FINALLY OBLIGED. FOR THE FIRST TIME IN A LONG TIME SHE FELT NO PAIN.

To Dust Return

The night was chilly. I remained still, refusing to shiver. Any movement would be heard by the preternatural prey I stalked. Even my breathing was slow and regulated, so as not to mist in the unnaturally cold air-~-though my heart wanted to hammer its way out of my chest.

My body wanted to fidget, every instinct telling me to move, to do something, preferably to run away, but I waited. Listening,Watching. The chattering noise echoed through the trees, and I knew I had struck proverbial gold. "Excitement threatened to force my breathing into irregular gasps, but I remained controlled. The wind carried their shrill voices, the strange, animalistic language resonating through the interwoven branches overhead and I knew they were coming closer.

Sarah reflected on her brief and unfulfilling childhood as she waited for a taxi.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Hi there Motunrayo! Thank you for Subscribing to me! This is such an intriguing read. Beginning your plot with the personification of ‘emotions.’ I was deeply touched by Love’s attempts at finding shelter. Finally embraced by an elder and welcoming her to Knowledge. My insights are glitching sorry. But have harted and Subscribed to you. Now back to Honey! With Kindness. Pauline 🌸

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.