Fiction logo

Love and Sacrifice

A Story of Friendship, Heartbreak, and Putting Others' Happiness First

By Naureen IkramPublished about a year ago 12 min read
1
Love and Sacrifice
Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

Kaveri and Vidya had been the best of friends since their first day of high school. They had been through thick and thin together, and now it was time for them to say goodbye as they were graduating.

The farewell party was in full swing, with students dancing, laughing, and taking pictures with each other. Kaveri and Vidya found a quiet corner to sit in and catch up.

Kaveri sighed, "I can't believe it's all over. It feels like just yesterday we were starting high school, and now it's time for us to move on."

Vidya nodded in agreement, "I know. It's crazy how fast time flies. But I'm excited about the future, you know? We have so many opportunities ahead of us."

Kaveri smiled, "Yeah, I'm excited too. I'm thinking of studying engineering in college. What about you?"

Vidya replied, "I'm still not sure. But I'm leaning towards studying business. I think it would be a good fit for me."

Kaveri grinned, "That's awesome! I know you'll do great. We'll both do great, actually. We've got each other's backs, right?"

Vidya nodded, "Always. No matter where we go or what we do, we'll always be there for each other."

Years had passed since Kaveri and Vidya had their farewell party at school. They both pursued their dreams in different cities, and unfortunately, lost touch with each other.

Kaveri completed her engineering degree and started working at a multinational corporation. She loved the fast-paced work environment and the challenge of solving complex problems. As she climbed the corporate ladder, she moved from city to city, sometimes even country to country.

On the other hand, Vidya earned a degree in business and started working for a startup company. She enjoyed the creativity and innovation involved in building a business from scratch. As the company grew, she became an integral part of the team and worked her way up to a management position.

Years went by, and both Kaveri and Vidya became successful in their careers. They worked hard and achieved their goals, but they never forgot about each other.

One day, Kaveri was scrolling through her social media feed and came across Vidya's profile. She saw that Vidya was also doing well in her career and had started her own business. Kaveri felt a rush of excitement and reached out to her old friend.

To her surprise, Vidya responded immediately, and they set up a video call to catch up. It was like no time had passed at all. They talked about their lives, their careers, and their families. They laughed and reminisced about their high school days and the dreams they had for the future.

After the call, Kaveri realized how much she had missed Vidya and how important it was to stay connected. They promised to keep in touch and make an effort to see each other whenever possible.

A few months later, Kaveri and Vidya finally got the chance to meet in person. Kaveri flew to Vidya's city, and they spent a whole weekend catching up and exploring the city together.

As they walked around the city, Vidya pointed out all of the new businesses that had opened up since she had moved there. Kaveri was impressed with how much Vidya had achieved since they last spoke.

"So, tell me more about your business," Kaveri asked.

Vidya beamed with pride, "It's a social media marketing agency. We help small businesses grow their online presence and attract more customers."

"That's amazing! I'm so proud of you," Kaveri said, smiling.

Vidya looked at Kaveri, "What about you? How's your job going?"

Kaveri shrugged, "It's good. I've been working on some really exciting projects lately. But, to be honest, I've been feeling a bit burnt out lately."

Vidya nodded sympathetically, "Yeah, I know what you mean. Running a business can be exhausting at times."

They spent the rest of the day exploring the city and reminiscing about their high school days. As they sat at a cozy café, sipping their coffee, they talked about how much they had both grown since they last saw each other.

Kaveri leaned in, "Do you ever think about what our lives would be like if we hadn't gone our separate ways after high school?"

Vidya smiled, "All the time. But, I think everything happens for a reason. Our paths led us to where we are today, and I'm happy with where we've ended up."

Kaveri smiled back, "Me too. And I'm grateful that we still have each other after all these years."

As they said their goodbyes at the airport, Kaveri and Vidya promised to keep in touch and make plans to see each other again soon. They hugged each other tightly, knowing that their friendship had stood the test of time.

A few months later, Vidya's parents approached her with the news that they had chosen a man named Rakesh as her future husband. Vidya was shocked and upset. She had always believed in love and wanted to choose her own partner.

"Why can't I choose who I want to marry? Why does it have to be someone you choose for me?" Vidya pleaded with her parents.

Her parents insisted that they knew what was best for her and that Rakesh was a good match for her. They explained that he came from a wealthy family and had a stable job as a doctor.

Reluctantly, Vidya agreed to meet Rakesh. She hoped that maybe he would be someone she could connect with and could see a future with.

They arranged to meet at a fancy restaurant in the city. As Vidya walked in, she saw Rakesh waiting for her at a table by the window. He stood up as she approached.

"Hi, I'm Rakesh. It's nice to finally meet you," he said, smiling.

Vidya couldn't help but notice how well-dressed he was and how confident he seemed.

"Hi, I'm Vidya," she replied, trying to sound cheerful.

They sat down and ordered their food. The conversation was polite, but Vidya felt that something was missing. Rakesh talked about his job and his family, but there was no real connection between them.

Vidya couldn't help but feel disappointed. She had hoped that maybe she would feel a spark with Rakesh, but she didn't. She felt trapped, knowing that her parents expected her to marry him.

As they finished their meal, Rakesh looked at Vidya, "I hope we can do this again. I think we have a lot in common."

Vidya forced a smile, "Yeah, sure."

As she walked back to her car, Vidya couldn't help but feel conflicted. She didn't want to hurt her parents' feelings, but she also didn't want to marry someone she didn't love.

She decided to call Kaveri and talk to her about it. Kaveri listened attentively and offered her support.

"Don't let anyone else make decisions for you, Vidya. You have the right to choose who you want to marry and who you want to spend the rest of your life with," Kaveri said, encouragingly.

Vidya felt reassured by Kaveri's words. She knew that she had to follow her heart, even if it meant going against her parents' wishes.

A few weeks later, it was Vidya's engagement ceremony. Kaveri attended the party, feeling excited to see her friend getting engaged. She arrived at the venue and was greeted warmly by Vidya's family.

As she walked in, she saw Rakesh talking to some of Vidya's relatives. Kaveri was shocked to see him as he was her ex-lover. She couldn't believe that he was the same person her friend was getting engaged to.

Kaveri's mind was racing with thoughts. She couldn't understand why Rakesh had never mentioned Vidya or their past relationship. She felt betrayed and angry.

As the ceremony started, Kaveri tried to keep her emotions in check. She watched as Vidya and Rakesh exchanged rings, feeling a sense of sadness and regret.

After the ceremony, Kaveri went to congratulate Vidya. Vidya looked radiant, her face glowing with happiness.

"Congratulations, Vidya. You look so beautiful," Kaveri said, hugging her friend.

Vidya smiled, "Thank you, Kaveri. I'm so glad you could make it."

Kaveri hesitated for a moment before finally blurting out, "Vidya, I have to tell you something. Rakesh and I used to be in a relationship."

Vidya's smile faded as she looked at Kaveri in shock. "What? I had no idea," she said, her voice trembling.

Kaveri explained everything to Vidya, how they had met at one of her cousin’s weddings and had dated for a few months before things ended between them.

"I don't know what to say, Kaveri. I feel so betrayed by Rakesh," Vidya said, tears welling up in her eyes.

Kaveri hugged her friend, "I'm so sorry, Vidya. I had no idea this would happen. You deserve to be with someone who is honest and sincere."

Vidya nodded, "I know. I need to talk to Rakesh and find out why he never told me about this."

The engagement ceremony ended on a bitter note, with Vidya feeling hurt and betrayed by Rakesh's dishonesty. Kaveri stood by her friend's side, offering her support and understanding. They both knew that their friendship would never be the same again.

The next day, Vidya met Rakesh at a nearby café. She was still reeling from the shock of finding out about his past with Kaveri.

As they sat down, Vidya took a deep breath and said, "Rakesh, I need to know the truth. Why didn't you tell me about your past with Kaveri?"

Rakesh looked down, his face filled with guilt. "I'm sorry, Vidya. I didn't know how to tell you. I was afraid you might think less of me," he said, his voice barely above a whisper.

Vidya sighed, "That's not the point, Rakesh. You should have been honest with me from the beginning. How can I trust you now?"

Rakesh took Vidya's hand, "I understand how you feel, Vidya. But please believe me when I say that Kaveri and I are just friends now. She's in the past and you are my future."

Vidya looked into Rakesh's eyes, trying to gauge his sincerity. After a moment, she sighed and said, "Okay, Rakesh. I'll try to forgive you. But you have to promise me that you'll always be honest with me."

Rakesh nodded, "I promise, Vidya. I'll do anything to make this right."

As they left the café, Vidya felt a sense of relief that Rakesh had finally told her the truth. She hoped that their relationship would survive this bump in the road.

Little did she know, more challenges were waiting for her in the future.

After the confrontation, Rakesh, Vidya, and Kaveri started hanging out together. It took some time for Vidya to fully trust Rakesh again, but with Kaveri's help, she was able to overcome her doubts.

The three of them would often go out for coffee, watch movies, and catch up on each other's lives. Even though Rakesh and Kaveri had a history together, they made sure that Vidya never felt left out or uncomfortable.

Over time, their friendship grew stronger, and Vidya realized that she had made the right decision in forgiving Rakesh. He had proven to her that he was sincere in his apology and was committed to their relationship.

As they walked down the street one day, Vidya looked at Rakesh and Kaveri and smiled. She was happy to have them in her life, and she knew that no matter what challenges lay ahead, they would always be there for each other.

One day, Vidya was scrolling through her phone and saw a message from Kaveri that caught her attention. It read, "I miss him so much. I wish things were different."

Vidya felt disappointed, as she realized that Kaveri was talking about Rakesh. She knew that he had been honest about his past with Kaveri, but she had thought that their feelings for each other were in the past.

Feeling confused and hurt, Vidya decided to confront Rakesh about it. When she asked him if he still had feelings for Kaveri, he hesitated before finally admitting the truth.

"I'm sorry, Vidya. I still love Kaveri. But I also love you as a friend. I didn't want to hurt you, so I kept it a secret," Rakesh said, his voice filled with regret.

Vidya felt tears welling up in her eyes as she realized that her relationship with Rakesh was not as perfect as she had thought. She couldn't imagine sharing Rakesh's love with anyone else.

But then Kaveri walked in, and Vidya saw the sadness in her eyes. She realized that Kaveri had been hiding her own feelings for Rakesh, all for the sake of Vidya's happiness.

"I'm sorry, Vidya. I didn't want to come between you and Rakesh. I've been hiding my feelings because I didn't want to hurt you," Kaveri said, tears streaming down her face.

Vidya looked at Rakesh and Kaveri, feeling overwhelmed with emotions. She knew that she had a difficult decision to make.

After a moment of silence, Vidya took a deep breath and said, "I need some time to think. I don't know what to do."

As she walked out of the room, she knew that her life was about to change. She just wasn't sure if it was for the better or for the worse.

After much thought and contemplation, Vidya decided that she wanted Rakesh and Kaveri to be happy together. She realized that true love was about putting the happiness of others before oneself

It is the wedding day of Kaveri and Rakesh and Vidya attended their wedding with a smile on their face, happy to see her friends tie the knot and start a new life together.

The wedding was a beautiful affair, with Kaveri looking radiant in her wedding dress and Rakesh beaming with joy as he gazed into her eyes.

As they exchanged their vows and promised to love and cherish each other for the rest of their lives, Vidya felt a sense of peace run over her. She knew that she had made the right decision in stepping aside and allowing Kaveri and Rakesh to be together.

After the ceremony, Vidya hugged her friends and congratulated them, genuinely happy for their newfound love and happiness. She realized that even though life can be unpredictable and challenging, it is also full of surprises and unexpected blessings.

As she watched Kaveri and Rakesh dance together, Vidya felt grateful for the memories they had shared over the years and for the fact that they would always remain friends, no matter what life threw their way.

Young AdultLove
1

About the Creator

Naureen Ikram

I write fiction. my stories are filled with vivid characters and creative plotlines. My goal as a writer is to captivate and engage my readers, I want my readers to explore new worlds and new perspectives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.