Fiction logo

Lost Dog

The snow… it just swallowed him whole…

By Jen PhillipsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Lost Dog
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

8 am and I’m having a hard time opening the back door to let the dog out. After a minute I got the door open and saw the 5ft of snow that fell in the overnight blizzard.

“Holy shit, that's a lot of snow.” The dog walked past the clean area I made with the door and disappeared into the snow. I waited a moment to see if Milo would pop up again. But he didn't- I'm panicking.

“Milo?!” I call out for him but nothing.

I called for help. My roommate came running up the stairs and I explained what had happened. We spent 2 hours digging in the yard- we made a giant maze in the yard. We found a path that looks like it was recently used- we followed the path to this dugout that turns into a tunnel. My roommate and I look at each other and we follow this snowy tunnel. It didn't take us long when we came out the other end. Standing up and looking around- it looks like a scene from Narnia- it didn't take long before we heard barking. We ran towards the barking when we found Milo playing in the snow.

Behind him was a frozen lake, with a cabin. We spent hours playing in this look-like Narnia and went ice skating. We came back to our backyard, with Milo of course, what felt like hours was actually a few minutes. But Milo wasn't the only thing that came back.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Excellent job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.